We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't go during spring break if the kids aren't with you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go during spring break if the kids aren't with you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The employees were at your beck and call with a smile each and every time, no matter the request. I think we had the best servers by the pool. Caitlynn, Kaley and Daniel. Thank you all so much. The rooms were nice and comfortable. When you needed to be in them. Great food!
Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Depends on if you want to be at the kids area or adult side. Also if you want a pool view or golf,la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    812
    371
    179
    126
See reviews for
1,486
483
40
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I can't give this resort 5 stars because there were a number of inconveniences during our stay. Overall, though, the rooms were large and well-decorated . The grounds were nice and well-kept. The pool area was well-designed for families. Golfing was pleasant. The course was in good shape. Our kids "rode along" with us.
The difficulties:
- The hours of the slides/lazy river were not long enough. If you are staying for many days, and you only plan to hang out at the resort, this might be fine. But, for a short trip with other activities, this is highly inconvenient. They did not open until 11, and were closed by 6. No way to really take advantage of these areas unless you just plan to be there and nowhere else during the day. They did have life guards present, and inner tubes available. These were positive things, if the hours were longer. There were certainly enough people around to justify extending the time.
- Similarly, the hours of the Food Service by the pool ended too early. This was disappointing to us. Nowhere are the hours posted: of the Splash Area, or of the Pool Grill. No signs. Nothing in the room. Nothing on the website. With more information available, perhaps we could have figured out how to adjust our time. Instead, we were just disappointed every time we turned around.
- Once the "splash area" with the slides is closed, the other pool is neglected entirely. Everybody's trash, leftover food, and hundreds of towels are abandoned. We had to move this garbage in order to have a place to sit. Yuck! That shouldn't be my job. Then, I had to look at this mess for the next 1 1/2 hours while our kids played in the pool. To me, this was unacceptable. The hotel/resort was nice enough to not demote it to 3 stars. But, really, this needs to be fixed. Those things should have been immediately cleaned up. It felt like we didn't matter and were unimportant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRLMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego,ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

we were one of many families on spring break which truly tests a facility's operation. we stayed in connecting rooms, one w/ a King & other with 2 Q's. Rooms were good sized (bigger than similar rooms at Disney's Grand Californian) and very well kept. Bathrms only had one sink and lighting was a little dark but water pressure, size of bath very good. The pools are really nice and so well maintained. Splashtopia was a blast for kids 7 and up. there is a good current and since it was very crowded one of our Tweeners was ducking out from an inner tube and couldn't come up for air because of the "flow" of inner tubes going over her. the resort had plenty of lifeguards but it was so crowded it was easy to miss this kind of thing. So, watch your little kids! we loved the tennis courts, had a peaceful, soothing couples massage, Top of the line manicures, enjoyed wonderful food at the BlueEmbers (expensive-$230 4 adults with one child's menu item and the Tweener with two appetizers and NO booze...bring your wallet). There is no Gluten Free here but less than 5 min away is an Old Spaghetti Factory and Sam's Sushi for some GF. The casual restaurant at the resort makes great thin crust pizza and kid burgers at the Splash Cafe were filling enough for a light lunch for us adults. Everyone who works here is very polite, smiles and makes a pt of knowing your name and using it when they talk to you. It's costly here but we planned $1 k per day (incl tax) for 4 adults and 2 kids, with not all meals at the resort-so,if you plan for the expense just go with it and enjoy this very beautiful family resort/spa. The grounds make for many beautiful photos.

Room Tip: while staying close to Splashtopia is good if you have kids and go back and forth from rm to pool it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharineE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

My review is from the point of view of a 15 year old girl so if you're planning on travelling with teenagers & wonder what they'll think hopefully this might help.

To begin with, Rancho Las Palmas clearly has an extremely specific target market. If you're an afluent family into golf & spas with young children this could literally be paradise for you. However my family didn't fit this target market so in some ways to us it was a letdown - however that doesn't mean it wasn't a great hotel.

The first thing I must compliment is the resort itself, it was faultless. The grounds are just bliss and the buildings are lovely as well, I was so glad when we turned into the driveway because it really was just perfect. Our room was also wonderful, especially the bathroom (I'm very fussy about bathrooms) and the balcony we had overlooking the golfing green was splendid! The cleaning as well was spotless throughout and all though I slept on a sofa bed I still slept well.

Palm Springs however it quite a boring town, as in there is little to do there (although I recommend the cable car to the top of the mountain) and so you're sort of expected to spend all your time around the hotel. Being 15 years old there was literally nothing for me to do. Splashtopia would be great for anyone under 10 but for anyone above it's just horrendous, it's a bit of a letdown. The pool is swarming with little children and I hate to think what was in the water. Equally I wasn't old enough for the spa treatments and adult pool (minimum age 18) so I was left with nothing to do.

I would also have to comment on the prices of items here. They are high, sky high. Which would be fine if you don't mind spending $100 per person for a meal but we didn't think it was value for money. If you want somewhere close to eat then I highly recommend the California Bistro and the Chinese Restaurant that Both serve very good food and are just across the road.

My last thing would also be that we went in spring break and so there was bound to be noise, but the walls are almost pointless. I could listen to every word my neighbours said, even at 2am... 

To conclude it's a perfect place for the right people, but there are better places for families like my own.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank thesugarpeachfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was a nice and place to stay. The rooms were nice and spacious and it was very easy to get around ther resort by walking. There is an adult pool and a aquatic park for the kid in you, relaxing in the lazy river is a must and it is nice that the park is included.

The golf course plays quite nice, although it ambles through the resort i found the buildings and residences were not a factor in play. This course offers unlimited play which is an added bonus. I found the location sheilded you from the wind, if you've been to palm springs before you know how the wind kicks up especially in the afternoon.

The surrounding area has enough to offer within walking distance, The River complex (across the street) is a nice way to spend the afternoon. On the resort, The Blue Ember is a wonderful restaurant with fantasic menu, all the ambiance you want.

Room Tip: Room away from the aquatic park quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itscurtisbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
4.3 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
6.8 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
7.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
6.9 km away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.6 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,453 - ₹ 41,048
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing