We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bathrobes with barbed wire, bad smells in rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
kikineedsbeach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bathrobes with barbed wire, bad smells in rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

rooms are smelly like musty, with a bad strong perfume soap smell covering vomit smell. We asked to see 3 different rooms because of the smell in the first one. We didn’t get away from the smell no matter what we did.

There is that weird plaster cottage cheese on walls. Small bathtub with shower combined. Can't take a clean bath. There were dirty wine glasses out side our door that we passed at least 15 times on our way in and out of our room. Never were they cleaned up. I took a photo but can't find it right now. The rooms had dusty corners and dust in the creases of the sofa bed. We asked for a duvet cover for the sofa bed and were told "there's a blanket in the closet". Right, we saw the blanket, we want a clean sheeted duvet cover. Not a blanket that is used and then folded back without being washed.

Flat screen tv is not high definition my 8 year old says the picture is "pixilated". Food at Blu Ember is very chi chi weird like there is nothing to eat. Look at the menu online, you’ll see. Hot dog at pool was nasty. Turkey dog instead of beef, very mealy, not hot, lukewarm at best. When we asked it it was a turkey dog, yes, they said, but it didn't say that on the menu.

The bathrobes are the fancy velvet type, trimmed with a satin cord around the edges, and the robes are badly frayed. So as the rope trim wears away it leaves behind the plastic or nylon or polyester sewn onto the edges of the robe. The rope trim had become like barbed wire! The edges on your bathrobes are barbed. They scratch your skin. This is on both robes provided in the closet. Well I didn’t call housekeeping for more robes because at that point understood that if they are putting such an item into a guest room for the guests’ comfort, they actually have no clue whatsoever about what is happening in their hotel or how comfort and hospitality works.

Pool is fun for kids but gets old after a few hours. Would never see being there for more than a weekend. We lasted one night.

Need:
earplugs
Incense
To Go home

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kikineedsbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    799
    363
    174
    125
See reviews for
1,464
473
39
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This property is located approximately 15-20 minutes from Palm Springs airport. It is a nice hotel, the rooms are large, the beds are nice, bathroom is good. The personnel on the property are very nice and very helpful. Blu Ember is a good restaurant with good food that has a nice outdoor patio with firepits and live music at night. The indoor bar is not bad either. The property is located across the street from a mall area called The River which has a multitude of upscale chain restaurants, so there are also other food choices within walking distance of the hotel.

The only problem I have with this property is the golf courses. They have 3 nine hole courses (North, South, West) for which they charge $115 for morning tee times for 18 holes in the high season. The West 9 holes is supposed to be the best and a couple of the holes come up next to the patio of Blu Ember. We played the North/West combination for our 18 holes and the course is not worth $115. It is very short and not in great shape. With all the golf choices in the Palm Springs area, I would not recommend the courses at Rancho Las Palmas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon fly-drive. We were very pleased with our stay and although we didn’t get the weather (it was November), we enjoyed the use of the pool and Splashtopia (in reality just a lazy river run and a couple of slides – but very nice).

We stayed in a Vista room and it was really nice, very big and furnished very smartly, I’m not sure how long ago it was done but it all looked very modern. The balcony was lovely and we enjoyed the complimentary fizz and strawberries overlooking the golf course.

We had a really nice breakfast at BluEmber and whilst it wasn’t cheap, it was very good. There is also a cafe area in the courtyard behind the main reception which does good snacks. The staff were very good and there is obvious pride in the upkeep of the resort.

The only thing that really held it back from full marks was that we had a problem with the hot water in the morning, but to be fair this was fixed very promptly.

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaskerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I'm more in favor of cheap motels in the wilderness than the perfectly manicured sculpted environment. But we found it very relaxing. And there was a strong windstorm that broke trees, leaving one poor raccoon exposed to our cameras -- neat surprise! The hotel was expensive for food so we went across the street and ate at Applebys. There were lots of kids golfing with their dads -- no kidding - the moms were all in the spa. And the kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool too. It was, overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silbermanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at this property dec ,2011 front desk and bell service ,valet was wonderful very helpful rooms were nice and big and the balconys were very nice i would definately stay there again .property is beautiful

Room Tip: ask about the differnt sections and how close you are to main entrance '
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
4.3 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
6.8 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
7.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
5.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
4.6 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,941 - ₹ 36,848
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing