We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good place but a bit expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages
Sunnyvale CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed for two nights with young children, quite spacious and comfortable for a family, kitchen is well stocked.
They have a hot tub outside the cottage.
Most of the sight seeing/trails are close by.
Rentals are part of the owners gated compound, only two rentals, a bungalow and a cottage.

The price is on higher side, so I am not sure if it is worth the money but I am okay to recommend the place, as our overall experience was good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arun0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I love to vacation at Ferrando's Hideaway. The Alberti Bungalow is so cozy, private and very clean. Doris makes a wonderful breakfast basket full of baked goods and orange juice that is dropped off by 8:30am. During our stay my husband and I enjoy a beautiful drive to the lighthouse and walking to the village of Point Reyes. We usually end our day with some relaxing time in the hot tub. Doris and Greg have created a peaceful and relaxing enviroment for us to visit from our otherwise busy lives.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jillannscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Went to Ferrandos on the advice of friends who have stayed there. The whole experience exceeded our idea of coastal lodgings. As soon as you enter the property things fall into place. The hot tub and outdoor dining area was very clean and comfortable -a bonus. Spic and span cottages that were private and quiet - airy, and full of light. The refrigerator was stocked full of breakfast goods and real home made baked goods arrived by 8:30 a m. It is a close walk to town on country lanes and not on the narrow highway. The Ferrandos are hands on and oversee the details of the cottages personally. The garden and chickens ect. are labors of love and this is truly the character of the whole place.

Room Tip: Go to the website and see the cottages.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank toreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at Alberti Cottage. Everything other reviewers mention is true and I won't repeat it all... But we especially enjoyed meeting and talking with Doris and Greg who have created an amazing property. Such gracious hosts--the home baked goods for breakfast were fabulous from the delicious warm blueberry muffins to the incredible hot apple crisp--all delivered right to the door in the morning. We loved relaxing in the hot tub after our day of adventures and grilling in the evening--there is so much wonderful fresh food in Point Reyes: we made grilled oysters, grass-fed organic NY strip steaks, fresh summer squash from Doris' garden! Dessert from Bovine Bakery in town along with fresh raspberries from Doris. It was just great!

The cottage itself was quite comfortable and we slept really well--also appreciated the full kitchen..
We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suebhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

My partner and I stayed for two nights here and we loved this place. We were surprised that we had the whole cottage to ourselves. We stayed in the Alberti Cottage and it was so peaceful! We loved the hospitality we received from Doris and Greg! We had so many great amenities, from the fresh eggs and baked goods and fresh veggies from Doris's garden, to every other thing that we experienced, nothing was forgotten. Kitchen utensils were provided, ziploc bags in case we wanted to pack some food for our day trips, backpack and umbrella was on the hook next to the front door, I could go on and on! We were welcomed with shortbread cookies which were amazing, a handwritten welcome note and a map of Point Reyes and breakfast was delivered to our door every morning (blueberry muffins and warm bread one morning, apple crisp and banana bundt cake the next). The cottage has a full kitchen, a living room with a wood-burning fireplace, a big bedroom, a bathroom with double sinks/shower, and a small closet area. There was a rear patio with table and chairs, another area with a table and chairs next to the grill and a hot tub in the back. We had grilled oysters one night from Drake's Bay Oyster Farm and that was amazing. My partner said the grill was a great one - there was a lever where you could raise the coals up and down while you are cooking your food. We went to the Point Reyes lighthouse and even saw a couple of minke whales too! The only thing I didn't like about the cottage were the pillows in the bedroom. They were extremely flimsy and I felt like I was sleeping without one (no neck support!) I would definitely return next time, but would probably bring my own pillow and that is why I put a 4 next to Sleep Quality. Other than that, I highly, highly recommend this place if you would like some peace and quiet with your loved one and some wonderful hospitality from your hosts. You will not regret it!
P.S. There is no daily maid service but we did not mind since we were there for only two nights. They will provide you with fresh towels if you request them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy22579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
4.7 km away
Point Reyes Seashore Lodge
20.3 km away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
32.8 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
28.4 km away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.6 km away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages

Property: Ferrando's Hideaway Cottages
Address: 31 Cypress Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,021 - ₹ 23,829
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming cottages with private hot tubs, wood stoves, kitchen, BBQ, TV, internet connection, surrounded by organic vegetable and flower gardens. Perfect for your special moments, honeymoons, anniversaries, etc. European hospitality and ambiance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing