We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place to stay for the overnight traveller”
Review of National 9 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
National 9 Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Novato, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Solid place to stay for the overnight traveller”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

If you take it for what it is, a clean, simple, low-cost place to stay, this place fits the bill nicely.

I stayed here last weekend while on an overnight motorcycle trip with a friend. I had made accommodations ahead of time through the Magnus Hotels booking site. Don't do this! They lost the reservation and by the time we arrived at the motel, there were no 2 bed rooms left. Well, I couldn't exactly turn around and go home and I wasn't keen on sharing a bed with my buddy, so I asked what they could do. The girl at the front desk (I think her name was Kim) gave me the last 2 king-sized bed rooms for the price I would have paid for just one room! At this point I began to understand why this place has such good reviews.

It was a busy weekend in Placerville and we wanted to go out for dinner. Since alcohol and motorcycles don't mix, we were going to take a cab. Unfortunately, the cab company said it would take an hour for them to pick us up! Our hostess promptly volunteered her husband to drive us, in his car, to our restaurant. Yet another example of superb service!

The room itself was clean and comfortable, but basic. It had a cable TV and a fridge, which was good enough for me. Don't expect a pool or a hot breakfast (though you do get a complimentary continental 'grab and go' breakfast included with your stay. Bring your own shampoo. The motel is located off the highway next to a 2nd-rate shopping plaza. There are a couple restaurants nearby.

So, when you consider that the options are limited in this neck of the woods and that the service was amazing, I feel that this is a good place for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Don't book through the Magnus hotels website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    45
    16
    1
    11
See reviews for
28
41
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This hotel was a real find. We happened upon it at the end of a very long day. We were immediately cheered by the very friendly and helpful staff when we checked in. She even went so far as to call the local pizza delivery for us to make sure that they would stay open long enough for us to order a late night dinner. The room was very clean and bright with the only drawback being a noisy A/C system. The shower surround looked brand new and had lots of shelves.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

If you need to be in or around Placerville don't think you could do better than this for the price. Room is clean and fresh, beds comfortable, and the owner is more than accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Picked this place after reading reviews of local hotels it had good reviews so we stayed here. The place is kinda falling apart but for 50 dollars for one night you can't complain to much. If ever in a pinch its fourth and nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

very clean room with micro, frig and coffee pot. bed was comfortable. freeway noise was not bad at all. a very good value, as well as the the host being friendly. would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
6.1 km away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
2.5 km away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
245 reviews
1.4 km away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#4 of 5 in Placerville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
83 reviews
31.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
15.4 km away
Best Western Stagecoach Inn
Best Western Stagecoach Inn
#1 of 2 in Pollock Pines
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn

Property: National 9 Inn
Address: 1500 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-5905
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,043 - ₹ 48,132
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Story Stucco Building. Located in the heart of Apple Hill. Rooms come equipped with Microwaves, REfrigerators,CoffeeMakers, Alarm Clocks,HairDryers, Irons/IroningBoards. Continental Breakfast Served in the office. Full Cable Tv with HBO. All rooms are air conditioned. Free Wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your National 9 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Placerville
National 9 Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing