We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Two days of beauty and relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
1 review
“Two days of beauty and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My Mom had been expressing a desire to visit Pismo Beach. She and my dad always looked forward to vacationing there and since his death in 2001 she didn't have the ability to return. I checked into accommodations and loved the close proximity to the beach, contacted the very kind and thoughtful staff and made our plans. The minute we arrived my Mom noticed the sign in the lobby welcoming her and congratulating her on her 92nd birthday and boy did that make her feel good! We no sooner got in the room and she just had to get out on the beach. What a great smile on her face the whole time. Me too.
The service, location, staff and amenities will have us returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    278
    104
    25
    18
See reviews for
359
464
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wonderful property, right on the board walk, steps away from the pier and downtown (the resturant row section) the room was large and quite nice, warm cookies upon arrival - couldnt ask for more in this excellent property!

Room Tip: Any floor was nice, room 205 has a great view of it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Best hotel stay in Pismo Beach! Rooms comfortable, great ocean view from balcony. Love the jacuzzi over looking the ocean. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CANLBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We reserved a dog-friendly room for 3 nights beginning on Easter Sunday. Room was reserved directly with the hotel to ensure a pet-friendly room was available. The only oceanfront room available that was pet-friendly was a 1st floor room with a king size bed. They offered a rollaway or aerobed at a small additional cost for my son since there weren't double queens available, but we just brought a camp cot and mattress for him. It was a tight squeeze with the cot in there, and I think they'd have had trouble with an aerobed in that room unless it was a twin size. The room was quite narrow, and not a lot of open space except for right in front of the door connecting with the room next door.

The room itself was nothing special, and I think it's important to remember that the location of this place is what you're paying for, whatever price you negotiate with the hotel, not for an elegantly decorated room with plush furnishings. I found all the furniture to be rather uncomfortable, especially the chairs on the patio facing the beach. In addition to being lumpy, the bed was kind of weird. It was on wheels, and if more than one person sat on the foot of the bed in front of the television, the head of the bed would flip up and we'd go down like it was a see-saw. On the plus side, the television was a large, flat screen and there was a little fridge inside the TV armoire that we used daily for waters, sodas, snacks and leftovers. The walls seemed very thin though, and we could hear plumbing from the adjacent rooms, entire conversations, and what I initially had assumed was a troupe of practicing gymnasts above us. After three days I realized that no matter who was up there, that every footfall was audible day and night. A top floor room would eliminate that issue at least. I wasn't about to complain though, since our dog seemed to bark at every sound he heard outside our room and every person passing the back patio. This is not a quiet getaway location. Since it's located right on the beach, there is a lot of foot traffic going past the hotel and if you are on the ground floor, people can look into your room, and do. For a pet room, it seemed quite clean. I wasn't sure what to expect, but it seems like they do try to keep a tidy inn.

I heard about the cookies and the continental breakfast, but I tried a cookie on our first day and decided we didn't need to make a special trip into the lobby for them again. We never tried the breakfast because we're late risers and just weren't interested in it. All in all, it's a great location within walking distance of plenty of restaurants, shops, and of course, the beach. If you keep your expectations realistic, you'll have a good time. If you want fancy accommodations, this is not the place for you. If you want a great location, and adequate accommodations, this might be right for you.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper, and/or request a top floor room. Oceanfront rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hate2FlyButDoAnyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great location, though the surrounding residential / commercial properties are a little beaten up. Hotel has no real lobby, but the service was efficient and warm. Clean rooms, comfy beds, suite was a good size for a family of four plus a baby. Complimentary breakfast was good. Overall, this place is good value, saved by a terrific location. Don't expect luxury and you'll have a good time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
2.4 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
1.5 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
5.1 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,775 - ₹ 22,673
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing