We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to come and stay with your dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to come and stay with your dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is the best hotel I have found that allows pets. Friendly helpful staff, great customer service! They place is clean, comfortable, affordable and well designed. I hope to be staying here in the future for family trips with our dogs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    390
    165
    34
    36
See reviews for
561
431
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cathey's Valley, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

So-so only. Good things and bad things, but I most likely would not stay here again. I doubt I'd stay at any Oxford Suites property, this is the 2nd one I tried and I just don't like a lot of their policies. They just seem to be so budget conscious on saving pennies everywhere in consideration for being customer friendly that I am turned off. Check-in was not good, I asked for a QUIET room away from the highway. They gave me a room away from the highway but right above the swimming pool with screaming kids in it. So they moved me to another room, why not put me in that quiet room first??? Room itself was laid out nicely with 2 TVs, comfy bed. 2 rooms separated by a sliding pocket door. Front room had a semi-comfy couch, a wooden floor, TV, microwave, fridge, small kitchen sink. The wooden floor was bad because every time anyone walked down the walkway outside, the entire room vibrated, seriously it did! It also vibrated badly when the kids next door were romping around uncontrolled. The bedroom area was carpeted and much nicer and quieter. Bed was very soft because of a pad under the sheets, but that pad was seriously short of the bed edges. Bathroom sink was also in the bedroom, but it was way too high off the floor, so leaning in to use the sink was VERY uncomfortable. Oxford seems to do anything they can to save a penny here, a nickel here, or a dime there. They give you no soap or shampoo but you must use unsanitary dispenser bottles. The soap at the sink smelled nice, but was almost total water and didn't lather at all. Watered down to save money? I've never seen liquid soap so thin and watery. The bathroom had a toilet and shower. The shower fluctatuated badly with temperature. They had bottles fastened to the wall with shampoo, conditioner, and soap. This soap was thick like liquid soap is supposed to be. But the bottles had such short spouts on them that you couldn't even get most of your hand under where the liquid dropped out of. Very unsanitary also. 2 TVs, but both were sad. The one had the picture so misadjusted that you couldn't watch any channel like ESPN or CNN because the running ticker at the bottom was virtually all cut off and unreadable. The TV in the other room was snowy on half the channels. So pick a channel and see if either TV gets it properly for you to watch. Breakfast was just a tad better than the other Oxford. Portion control is their policy, it really isn't a "buffet" breakfast per se. And WHY give you little paper coupons to get the breakfast? Food is terrible, one day the eggs made me sick for the entire day. The second day you were given semi-cold pancakes with ice cold butter. Ever try to spread rock hard ice cold butter on semi-cold pancakes? Just doesn't work. Plus the breakfast room is way too small if they are crowded and it was too cold to sit outside. Oxford must turn down the temperature on the warming trays so this stuff either goes bad or is cold. And the walls are tissue-paper thin in the front room wooded floor area, the bedrooms seem to be maybe 2 or 3 sheets of tissue paper thick, a little quieter, but not much. Constant noise from adjoining rooms, especially if kids and/or dogs are in there. Sorry to be so long-winded, but Oxford just doesn't fit my needs as a hotel chain. I'd rank them worst of any other hotel chains I've ever stayed in of the mid-range properties. I guess they're better than Motel 6, but I don't know. Doubtful if I will ever stay at Oxford again. I'll stay where the chain might be budget conscious, but doesn't make it so obvious.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Oxford, stay at a chain that cares about satisfying their customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynp-CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Pismo Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thanks for your feedback. With your preferred gift certificate, we were happy to provide you with the complimentary upgraded room that you had requested at the time of yo ur reservation. Due to the large number of families vacationing with us over the holidays, the room location wasn't as quiet as normal, and we were happy to re-assigned you to a more quiet section of the hotel, as you requested. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience.

The Oxford Suites chain is very popular with families, business travelers, and anyone who likes 3 diamond properties with many value added amenities such as our complimentary hot breakfast buffet or evening reception. We have instituted our amenities program with the intent of significantly reducing the number of plastic bottles sent to landfills - we estimate it will eliminate over 50,000 annually. We do not dilute our products but will follow up with the manufacturer regarding your observations.

Again, thank you for your comments and for staying with Oxford Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Not sure what I was expecting, but I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby looks and feels like a high end old style Spanish hotel with lovely tile floors, great seating arrangements, beautiful palms, high ceilings and a fire place. The bar is right off the lobby and also has a good vibe at night with free wine, beer and appetizers. It gets a bit crowded at night with people talking or watching whatever game is on. But if you don't want to sit in your room, it is a fun place to go. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is off of the pool area and is nicely appointed. The food is very standard (but free) and the room well appointed & clean.

The grounds, except for the pool area, are nothing to write home about but are well maintained. They allow dogs, which is great. And the gardners and visitors do a great job in cleaning up after their pets. There even is a fenced in doggy area so you can let your dogs off leash to run around.

The rooms are designed to be pet friendly with wood floors in part of the suite and carpet only in the bedroom. This I really liked as it helped the rooms stay clean and fresh after each visitor. And the bedrooms are very nice with a TV in both the bedroom and the living room.

Overall, I would definitely suggest this place for either short term or long term stays. Plus it is right off the freeway, so access is perfect. No beach view. But a great price to make up for it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobiaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have been staying here for four months on a work assignment. The staff is great, the decor of the bar and library make you feel like you are home. Bob the bartender makes everyone feel comfortable and Brian at the desk goes out of his way to make you feel at home, saving cookies, giving advise on trips to Sanfrancisco and other attractions in the area.
The bereakfast room provides an excellent start for your day...not the typical grab abd go at other hotels. Danielle has made the breakfast experience much improved with new entres and eggs made to order...and it is included in the proce!! plus two complimentary drinks and munchies at the evening reception., Suite has two rooms, bedroom and dining/living room. Tub has seen a lot of days but overall very comfortable place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJoe155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed one night during the week between Christmas and New Year's Day. The hotel looks OK because of fresh paint but its age still shows through. Room #216 needed some maintenance. There was one light above the couch that was not working. The couch had tears. The bathroom sink is part of the bedroom that had one lamp that was not working. The bathtub spout had a 1/2 inch gap between the tub wall and the spout. (See attached photos. These items were noted during check out and hopefully are fixed for the next guest.) It might be time for the matresses to be replace because we found ourselves rolling towards each other when we were both in bed. We were impressed with a previous stay at an Oxford Suites in Chico, CA but in comparison, the Oxford Suites in Pismo Beach needed some maintenance and renovations. No special comments about the breakfast bar and nothing else special to note about this hotel. It is just an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3.1 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
4.2 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
3.2 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.3 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-4099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,635 - ₹ 14,757
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing