We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing...you will not find anything like this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Amazing...you will not find anything like this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have traveled world wide and all over in Cali and I have never found a property like this one. The views from the ocean front 2 bedroom are amazing,the sounds of the waves outside your patio doors are second to none. The pool is close and the wait staff was pleasant. The property is just the right size to receive type of service most properties strive for. These rooms are fully furnished with full kitchens and it was hard to leave. I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Try to book a higher floor with an Ocean Front View
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ToddM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Greetings ToddM2012,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the unique essence our property has to offer. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of your suite and found the staff to be so accomodating. The next time you visit the Central Coast we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    53
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
196
110
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We found this place by doing a search for beach front hotels near San Luis Obispo, which is half-way between San Francisco and LA. We took the treacherous drive down the Pacific Coast Highway with our four teenagers in an SUV. We've never seen a more welcome site in our lives than this resort after that drive! Our 2 bedroom penthouse suite was over 2200 square feet with a sub zero fridge and a fully equipped kitchen and an incredible glass balcony overlooking the pool and bluffs over the ocean. Every corner of this resort was immaculate. The landscaping was spectacular. My only wish is that we had more time to spend there. We had to leave to head to LA after two days. I literally had to drag the kids out of there! They were all acting like kids again... Searching for sea glass on the beach, swimming, playing. We especially enjoyed the firepit which was right beside three gas grills which we used to cook steaks we bought at a market nearby. This place is paradise on the west coast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Greetings LynnGibb,
We want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your time with us here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. I am pleased that you and your family could enjoy your accommodations as well as all the resort has to offer; including the BBQ's, pool, and firepit. We loo forward to welcoming you back in the near future, where hopefully you can stay for a longer visit.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My family and I had a fantastic weekend at the Dolphin Bay Resort. The staff was very accommodating to the needs of our three found kids and even welcomed us with sand toys and art supplies (crayons, constructions paper, scissors, play dough and glue) that were put to good use throughout the trip. The pool was enjoyable for kids and adults with an impressive Ocean view and poolside service.I liked the location because Pismo Beach can get really crowded but this is on the Shell Beach side and removed from that. The hotel sits right on the water with great views of the Ocean. You have to walk down some stairs to get to the beach but its a nice cove, with great tide pools and even on a holiday weekend, wasn't especially crowded. I'm a huge fan of the central coast and I loved being able to enjoy what it has to offer from this wonderful gem of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOTK2G1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Greetings MOTK2G1B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. I am pleased to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay with us and could enjoy the extra amenities such as the kids buckets and pool experience. We are also pleased that you could enjoy the beach access, tide pools, and great views of the ocean without feeling crowded. We look forward to the next time you and your family visit the Central Coast and hopefully have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We spent 1 night here with two of our dogs (8 month Boston terrier pups), and we really liked the ocean-view garden patio we had. The room amenities, both for us and for the pups were really nice. The rooms had 2 doggie food/water bowls, there was a nice walking trail on the property that linked with other properties, and several doggie-bag stations. Which was great. I loved that most of the staff, was very friendly with our dogs, and you really didn't feel like, you were shoved back in a corner of the property, out of sight. So, kudos to the Dolphin bay, for really being pet-friendly.

All their rooms are suites, so, it was nice to fix a special breakfast the next morning. The Lido was quite nice...the food was nice. The only comment we had about the food, was that the desserts were a bit too sweet, nonetheless quite attractively presented.

The only thing that we wished they were better at, was our check-in was a bit delayed, as they were still cleaning the room. That was a bit tough, after a 4-5 hour drive, and two tired dogs. But, would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Greetings Suj25,

We want to thank you for taking the time for provide us with your feedback in regards to your stay on Trip Advisor. We are happy we could provide you with the amenities needed to make the stay comfortable for you and your two pups. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our California Coastal Cuisine in our Lido Restaurant. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to your check-in being delayed. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future so that we can provide you with the check-in experience and stay you had anticipated.
Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in an ocean front room with a great view. Also had a balcony for relaxing and enjoying afternoon sun with a glass of wine. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Especially enjoyed the fireplace. The location is great! Easy access to Pismo Beach, Avilla Beach or SLO. Also convenient to Morro Bay and Montana De Oro. Many great places to walk, eat and site see.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinBayResort, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Greetings JonM2012,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback in regards to your stay. I am so pleased to hear that we could provide you with a spacious, clean and comfortable accomodation for your stay with us here at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa. I am also pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful surrounding towns of Avila, Pismo, and San Luis Obispo. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back in the near future.
Warm Ragards,
The Dolphin Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3.0 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
4.1 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
3.9 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
5.3 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,837 - ₹ 51,524
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at the resorts' spa, La Bonne Vie. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will savor every moment at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing