We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“close to pier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pismo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pismo Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“close to pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location for this hotel is great. It's right in the middle of Pismo Beach and the pier is at the end of the block. There is also a great sports bar right next door. The hotel staff was very accommodating to our group as well. I tried to call multiple hotels out there and very few returned my calls - this was one that did AND they were very helpful. It's an older hotel but it was recently remodeled so it has the cool exterior and nice interior. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    53
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
29
90
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Worth, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stopped at Pismo Beach Hotel on our trip to San Francisco, as my husband had experienced summer vacations here as a boy (we are now retired). What a find! The hotel is very near the ocean, and though we didn’t have ocean views from our room on the fourth floor, some rooms do. From the moment we entered into the beautiful courtyard, we knew we were in for a treat. We rode up the old-fashioned elevator in style (the kind with the metal accordion closure, followed by the door that closes – I think they used to be run by an elevator operator).

As we were staying for one night only, we did not opt for a suite. Our room was clean, comfortable, and full of charm, with its gas-burning stove (not needed!) and so many original or restored furnishings and fixtures. We wondered if some of Clark Gable’s or Bette Davis’s entourage might have stayed there. (We figured that the stars would have been in the suites!) The bathroom did not have a plethora of electric outlets, but you know, that was life in the 1930s. We were willing to sacrifice just to enjoy the history.

We were absolutely blown away by the magnificent first floor, replete with Spanish-style arches, original wooden bar (now serving as the breakfast area), and comfortable seating everywhere. Maybe the best part of the whole experience was our chat with Robin and Ellie, though. (So yes, the service exceeds the historical charm, as difficult as that may be to believe!) They really enjoy what they do and made the whole stay that much more special. Robin filled us in on how Pismo Beach has changed over the years, where to go for the “really best” clam chowder, and how to enjoy the ambiance of the place (as if we hadn’t already!). Ellie wanted to make sure that we were well-fed and comfortable. Together, they acted as long-lost nieces; we thoroughly enjoyed sharing stories and chuckling over each of them!

From the hotel, we walked to the beach and the pier and wished we could have stayed longer. I now understand why my husband’s family vacationed here; the whole experience was grand.

Room Tip: We did not notice any renovation noise where we were, although we noticed lots of workmen the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We visited The Pismo Beach Hotel July 27-29th 2012. Arriving around 12:30pm the staff was very accomadating and so welcoming. The Hotel looks so old and vintage on the outside from the 1930's but the inside was remodeled and the rooms we're so clean and overlooked the main street of downtown. It was so nice to be able to have amazing parking so we could walk and enjoy the beautiful weather , shopping and yummy restuarants oh and course Harry's Bar. We recommend this hotel to anyone who would be visiting Pismo because they will have an awesome stay with amazing customer service and rooms. We can't wait to go back and visit soon!

Room Tip: "rooms to the southside and back of hotel probably would be quieter away from the main street&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks back. Arrived on a very quiet Monday afternoon seeking a queen sized Bed, but after shown a King (404) i Knew i had to have that room! Gabriel, i believe was his name, was so Kind And very helpful! Great place. Clean rooms. AND free parking!!!!!!! Thanks again to Gabriel And the staff for making my stay great!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfdude333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We live in Bakersfield California and travel to Pismo Beach for food, fun in the sand, and just to get away from the valley heat and breath some fresh air! The last several trips we have stayed at the Pismo Beach Hotel, and we love it. The Hotel looks a little dated from the outside; however, the interior is fabulous and totally refurbished. We love it that we can walk to the pier within minutes, and the Hotel is on the main street of Pismo! and we can walk to Splash Cafe, and Harry's bar and grill.
They don't have a pool or restaurant but they really don't need any.

Room Tip: If your going to Pismo and spend money on a room, you might as well stay at a great hotel located ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.1 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.2 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
5.0 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.1 km away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Beach Hotel

Property: Pismo Beach Hotel
Address: 230 Pomeroy Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2642
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,381 - ₹ 12,144
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing