We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never forgetful!”
Review of Sea Garden Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Garden Motel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never forgetful!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

January 1st me and my friends were lookin for a close place by the dunes to stay. Found this hotel, price was $70 so figured it would be a nice place....so we got our 2 bed room, walked in and me and my friends started laughing, very very small room, mold on the walls fridge and microwave in the bathroom next to the toilet...had a horrid smell! My cousin actually had to get a car freshener to put in the room, 5 min in, we decided we couldn't sleep in that room, no locks on windows, covers on beds were filthy....went back, complained, he gave us a new room upstairs....walked in and it was worst then the last one, had a gated up kitchen, couldn't go in, shower was disgusting and water damage thru out the room, it got cold so we turned on the heater....heater didn't work. Once again went downstairs and told him the heater wasn't working so he said he would fix it! About 3 minutes later, he comes up with a space heater, plugs it in and says "there you go" after he left, we packed our stuff, all went downstairs and said we would like our money back, it wasn't even close to being good for what we paid for, argued back and forth and he started to yell saying he's never had complaints, his son walked in, using foul language and after 10 minutes of arguing, we got half our money back, I'm surprised the health department hasn't shut them down!!! Worst place, two thumbs wayy down, if u want to keep Ur health! Don't go there

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MedalMulishaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    8
    11
    41
See reviews for
18
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I spent a night at this motel beginning of June and it was in good condition. Motel is under new management and I would definitely stay here again. Location is great, only foot steps to the beach.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovemore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I would not wish a night in this place upon my worst enemy. Needless to say based on other reviews, this place is a cheap dirty dump I would have never stayed at if it wasn't 11 at night and every other place was full.

Pros:
It was a place to sleep and take a crap.

Cons:
I have a feeling they don't properly clean this place. When I was leaving, I saw the maid going into rooms with just a spray bottle and a roll of paper towels, then leaving less than a minute later. I think she just made the beds without even changing the sheets.
The TV in our room was missing most of its buttons and held together with a good amount of duct tape.
It was way overpriced, even after we haggled the owner down.
We were given these little round pieces of soap that combined only accounted for like a quarter of those thin bars hotels normally give you, and I am still suspicious of what exactly they were made out of...
There use to be a door next to the toilet that led out to a balcony, but the balcony was so rotted it was just about ready to collapse and the door was boarded up.

I could go on and on, but I think you get the picture. Honestly, just avoid the whole Pismo Beach area. It's really just a crummy place to be, unless you get into a nice hotel or like trailer parks.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank w3e4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pismo Beach hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2005

I stayed here with my husband 5 years ago as part of our honeymoon road trip from Vancouver to Mexico and let me tell you, I never ever want to go back to Pismo Beach again just because of our horrible experience there. First off, we checked in late at night and just needed a place to sleep and this was the only place with any rooms left (we should've taken that as a sign). The owners were super-friendly at first trying to sell us their "jacuzzi room" for almost $200 (!) We opted for a standard room and found that it was located right behind this huge dumpster. Room was very prison-like - small, sad with creepy bathroom. Since we were exhausted, we just showered and went directly to bed. An hour later, we were woken up by kids watching tv and drinking in the room next to us. They weren't particularly loud, it was just that the walls were paper thin! I could even "smell" what the kids were smoking! When we complained to the owner, he got all defensive and pissed off that we woke him up. He wouldn't attend to us and told us good luck in getting Visa to refund my money, all this while swearing at us in his native language. What a jerk. Needless to say, we left at 5am feeling very pissed off and cheated. I hope that motel/hotel closes down for good. Please tell everyone to stay away from that place!

  • Stayed May 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 August 2004

BF and I stayed at this place for 2 weeks... We never recived room service the whole time. We asked for towels and such and the mangers of the place could barely speak english. The microwave and frig in the rooms smelled of smoke in a non smoking room. The place was small and I could hear the neighboring room. We payed a deposit on the use of the phone, one night we were asked to get off the phone by manager they needed the phone in office. Not sure what that was about but I have never dealt with so many problems in a hotel before. All in all I would say if you can check this place out before getting the room, unlike we did we reserved without knowing the condition of the place.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#14 of 29 in Pismo Beach
320 reviews
0.0 km away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Pismo Beach
150 reviews
0.4 km away
Beach House Inn and Suites
Beach House Inn and Suites
#20 of 29 in Pismo Beach
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pismo Beach Hotel
Pismo Beach Hotel
#21 of 29 in Pismo Beach
180 reviews
0.3 km away
Ocean Breeze Inn
Ocean Breeze Inn
#24 of 29 in Pismo Beach
181 reviews
0.4 km away
Dolphin Cove Motel
Dolphin Cove Motel
#15 of 29 in Pismo Beach
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Motel

Property: Sea Garden Motel
Address: 340 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2538
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,784 - ₹ 17,260
Hotel Class:1 star — Sea Garden Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Garden Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing