We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Pismo and stayed at the Kon Tiki Inn. It was an amazing stay and we are already planning our next trip. The first thing we saw was the incredible views that this hotel has. Our room was clean and the views were breathtaking. This hotel was the most reasonable we came across for what it offered. All rooms are ocean front and it is just a short walk down stairs to get to the very large sandy beach. We found the room to be large and comfortable. It has a nice size TV and a king size bed. Also, a nice size balcony. Just book early because they tend to be sold out. Most people we talked to had been coming here for 10 plus years and we are going to be doing the same as well.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children make sure to request a room on the bottom floor so the kids can r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 467 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is all about the location and spectacular views. Every room has a full ocean view. It is absolutely amazing. For the price, you cannot find better (true) beachfront accommodations. While the hotel is older, it is well maintained and extremely clean. Rooms were quiet and have everything one needs for a great stay. Staff at the hotel were all about service and did a great job. We just returned from a six day stay and upon departure checked on availability in July and reserved another week! This is about a 9.5 hour drive for us from Arizona, but believe we have found our new respite well worth the drive (and 40 degree cooler weather during the summer months).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Three things attracted me to this place; location, location and price. I had never been to Pismo Beach but wanted to stay a couple nights mid-week with my wife on a drive back from wine country. I wanted to see ocean and not pay an arm and a leg to do it. This hotel seemed to fit the bill with the added benefit of a continental breakfast and a seafood restaurant (Steamers) next door.

I had reviewed all the candidates on TripAdvisor. Then I had looked at the sites using Google Maps and Google Satellite. There were fancier places (The Cliffs, Blue Dolphin) there were more heavily advertised places (Pismo Lighthouse Suites). Some were closer to the pier, Some were more secluded from town. For my money, this just seemed to be the right place.

My first surprise when we arrived at our second story room was seeing two beds. We immediately went back downstairs to say we had reserved a king sized bed. The gal at the desk pointed out that we did get a room with a king sized bed...and a queen sized bed to boot. With apologies to the romantics out there, that was perfect. Then when my wife wanted to read her Nook in the middle of the night, I could just roll into the other bed and get a good nights sleep.

The next thing I noticed was that this was a hotel's hotel. Every item had been ordered from the IKEA of hotel stores. The standard issue bed spreads, the standard issues bath towels, the standard issue bureau with the standard issue (but appreciated) flat screen TV. The bathroom had standard issue shower curtain with standard issue towels with a standard issue water-saver shower head and a standard issue flow flush toilet.

There was separate sink outside the bathroom where a single serve coffee maker stood. The counter tops were standard issue Formica while the carpets were standard issue industrial grade wool. And while you might think I am making fun of the "standard issue" items, in truth I appreciate all of that standard issue stuff because it means this hotel, which I suspect has full occupancy from Memorial Day to Labor Day, can quickly replace any surface, any equipment, any fabric in a moments notice when it gets worn. Case in point, nothing in the room appeared to be worn. Not the counter tops, not the curtains on the window, not the shower curtain in the bathroom. It was all just so clean!

From what I could tell, the entire hotel was kept meticulously clean. I noticed in our two days there, mid-week mind you, that the pool and the surrounding area was cleaned each day. The pathways and hallways were swept of sand each morning. Even the trash cans were being emptied when the house cleaning crew was going about their duties. Unbelievable.

Yeah, the continental breakfast is the equivalent of a Holiday Inn. But the Holiday Inn in this location would cost more. It would appear that this privately owned hotel got it right. Charge a reasonable price for a clean room and expect the people to come back every year. With that you get beachy perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is a lovely hotel in Pismo Beach located directly on the water, with all rooms having a balcony or patio with an full ocean view. The hotel is older, but is kept up very well, and extremely clean. Rooms were very quiet.
Rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, safe and a large flat screen TV. We had a king room which also had a very comfortable dual recliner. Parking and wireless internet service are free. Lovely outdoor pool and jacuzzi on the ocean side. Across the parking lot is an indoor pool and fitness center available to the guests at no charge. We were also surprised to find that a continental breakfast was also included. The beach itself is beautiful once you navigate the 109 stairs down to it... I would recommend this for anyone traveling through or staying for a while in Pismo Beach. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors afford a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moonstone07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great price for rooms! They have big rooms and come with clean comfy beds. Didn't realize until the morning but they have a great pool and Jacuzzi which overlooks the beach. Rooms have a great ocean view which is great to wake up too! Wish there were more of these places

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,060 reviews
1.5 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
0.5 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,164 reviews
4.3 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
0.6 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing