We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pismo Inn”
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Pismo Inn”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Every room has an ocean view and the hotel is located a short walk along the beach to the main area in Pismo (if you can get up/down the steps). We stayed in a 4th floor room that comes with a gas fireplace - nice romantic touch! Clean, inexpensive rooms (less than $200 per night on the weekends) include a full gym if you are so inclined to exercise on your vacation and a standard continental breakfast make this one of our favorites on the Central Coast. There are two hot tubs, one pool, and a grassy area to enjoy outside. The bathroom is pretty small, but there is a second sink outside the bathroom. The bathroom only has soap and shampoo, so bring your own lotion and conditioner and anything else you might expect to find complimentary. There is no "Do Not Disturb" sign for the doors so if you stay late in your room the maid will come knocking. There is nothing I enjoy more than sitting on the balcony, drinking a glass of wine, listening to the ocean - this is a great place to do it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    198
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
199
343
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The pictures do not lie! Every room has a terrific view. Room was clean and we both slept well. What more can you ask for? Pool was a bit cold, but hot tubs were nice. Wi fi was a little shakey on the 3rd floor. Steamers had a good happy hour, try the green beans tempura. Dinner was good, although service started slow, it did improve! Food was your basic fish house stuff. Take a walk on the beach, it is wonderful. Access was easy but if you can not climb lots of stairs, try walking down to the wharf, and taking the street back. It's easier!. Collect sand dollars and sea shells. Your kids would love the gentle ocean break. Stayed here when I was a kid, and my parents keep coming back. great value and the people working here are nice!

Room Tip: 4th floor has 4 rooms with fireplaces. The views are better the higher you go. First floor great i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEPRICN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I LOVED this place so much I stayed twice in one week - on my way to LA and then on my way back home to SF.

Here are some selling points:

-GORGEOUS view of the ocean - you can literally hear the waves crash as they lull you to sleep and watch them from your bed out the big glass door.

- VERY VERY clean - I was so impressed with what a spotless motel this is.

- Completely economic! I got an ocean view for $120, complete with a full gym, jacuzzi and breakfast?

- The staff is so courteous and friendly - absolutely terrific.

- The rooms are very private - I did not hear ANYONE from my room, and I am a light sleeper! Each room has its own patio overlooking the ocean and you can't see the other guests because there are dividers, so it's pretty special.

- I was also impressed with the guests - both times I stayed there, everyone was really friendly but quiet and courteous too...all really appreciative of the beautiful ocean view - a nice bunch of folks.

Other comments:

-This hotel is not a resort - it's a gorgeous, friendly little motel for hard-working people to get to relax on the ocean. I was so relieved to be among grateful blue-collar folks instead of all the surly hipsters from my area of SF.

- Some others have commented on the furniture - which is kind of a retro faux Hawaiian basic light wood kind of thing. Yeah, it's a bit dated, but for the price of an ocean view - who cares! You'll spend all your time looking at the ocean anyway, not the furniture.

- The only small negative might have been that on the first stay, my mattress was a little soft....but the second stay had a much better mattress....and even so, it was comfy, so no big deal.

-"Steamers" - the restaurant adjacent isn't all that great - but the little place down by the pier that serves clam chowder, onion rings, etc. is just fine and really reasonably priced too.



I would highly highly recommend this.

Room Tip: I think being on the second or third floor is the best 'cause you'll have the most privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Calif.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is my second time here and I was very pleased with the Kon Tiki once again.
The rooms were clean, the view was spectacular the staff helpful.
Will definitely be making another return trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annielinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesboro
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was very clean and fresh. The staff was also very pleasant and helpful. Price is attractive. Ocean views are excellent. Close to amenities. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,928 reviews
1.5 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,354 reviews
0.5 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,899 reviews
0.6 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,639 reviews
1.0 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Property: Kon Tiki Inn
Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing