We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest to goodness apple juice!”
Review of Philo Apple Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Philo Apple Farm
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Honest to goodness apple juice!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Returning to the Bay Area from Mendocino, we decided to visit Hendy Woods Park. As we get off Hwy 128, I saw a sign that says Apple Farm. And since I love anything local, I told my boyfriend that we should drop by on the way back. I'm so glad we did. The best Apple Juice ever. We're so sorry we only bought 2 bottles. I should have bought a case. And it's amazing how the transaction is based on honesty. It's basically a stall with all their products & there's a drop box to drop your payment. Nice. I have to check how much it's going to cost to have those yummy apple juice shipped!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juju811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The pictures and descriptions do not do this place any justice! It is a gem that we luckily were able to take part in. The tin roofed cabins located in the middle of an apple orchard were rustic, cozy and had amazing art work on display within. The owners, Karen and Tim, were charming and accommodating. The farmhouse kitchen where they hold the classes is wonderful with an attached dining room with a roaring fire. The wine was free flowing and the whole weekend was just amazing.

I am an accomplished cook and I learned lots of tips and tricks from Karen. The recipes and menu were available for us to take home with us. It was just a lovely experience with family and friends. We arrived on Friday, prepared and ate a mind boggling delicious dinner and dessert. Saturday morning there were warm biscuits, coffee and yogurt. After a farm tour we prepared lunch and the evening meal's dessert. In the afternoon we had a three hour break and went wine tasting locally. Came back to prepare the evening meal and it was very leisurely and relaxing. In the morning, another light breakfast and then we prepared an amazing brunch! We would have liked one more day to enjoy the area but duty calls.

Another reviewer compares this place to French Laundry, enough already! Karen's parents were the original owners of French Laundry before it was sold to Thomas Keller. Apples and oranges.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

A two hour drive from the Bay Area lands you in the most beautiful, virtually unpopulated Andersen Valley in Mendocino County. The Philo Apple Farm is an organic Farm with four adorable cottages sprinkled in the orchard.Each one is unique, with pine floors, beds with nice duvets, charming farm style bathrooms. The sheets and towels are organic too!
You are on a private property, and soon you will feel as if it is YOUR private property. It always takes the city out of us and returns us to our country roots where we always feel most comfortable. Close to the Navarro River, and the Boonville Hotel for meals.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2008

I have been to cook ing schools in the past, unfortunately, this one is for people who have never cooked before. What brought us here was the fact that the people who ran this cooking school use to run the French Laundry, however, the food here bears no resembelence to what is served at the French Laundry. It was very basic, the food that was prepared was considered "rustic", but, was actually just OK. The simple cabins were cute, do not expect TV, radio, towel or linen service, being shown to your cottage, garbage emptied and a few other things many expect at most lodging facilities.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandviewohio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

We spent an amazing weekend at The Apple Farm and enjoyed every minute of our cooking class weekend. The cottages were so inviting and comfortable-- very clean and even had bedside flowers fresh from their garden to greet us. The beds, pillows and linens were perfect and the shower wonderful. (Our shower was inside but we heard there was a cottage with a great outdoor one too!) This is where you go to relax without phones, computers, televisions and noise-- except for the birds and chickens in the distance! We were there in the fall and enjoyed the potbelly stove heater. The Schmitt and Bates families own and operate the organic apple farm and cooking school. They are some of the nicest and friendliest people you could ever hope to meet. If you have time, the school was amazing! The Schmitts were the original founders of Napa's French Laundry Restaurant!! You're in for a real treat if you can attend. As soon as we pulled into their driveway we knew the place was special. They actually have an "honors system" farm stand with their homemade jams, chutneys and apple juice! We loved it here and would absolutely stay again!!

  • Liked — Inviting, clean and comfortable. The owners were great!
  • Disliked — I loved it all!!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oh2la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philo
25.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
5.0 km away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
23 reviews
4.7 km away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
30.6 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
631 reviews
35.2 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philo Apple Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philo Apple Farm

Property: Philo Apple Farm
Address: 18501 Greenwood Rd, Philo, CA 95466-9416
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Philo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Philo
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,845
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Philo Apple Farm Hotel Philo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing