We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
452
56
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
56
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony bar club bar wood burning wonderful boutique hotel small hotel wine tasting dark chocolate inner courtyard multiple fireplaces lovely courtyard within walking distance window seat coffee cake continental breakfast town square outdoor fire quiche
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We've stayed at this beautiful place before and it never fails to please. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and very well appointed. Except for one thing. The toilet seat.

I know, maybe not the most glamorous subject for a hotel review, but when you're staying at a place like the Cheval (and, believe me, you should stay there), you expect more than a $9.95 home depot special that's flimsy, moves all over the place and cuts into your thighs. It was really quite surprising.

The place is absolutely fantastic. Great rooms, great bar, great breakfast. It's by no means inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. With that one exception. Maybe a couple of extra dollars will get you a seat that doesn't slide off the edge when you sit on it.

Room Tip: If you can, get an upstairs room with a fireplace. They're quite beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Timothy H,

Thank you so much for your review, your title certainly got my attention! I have noted your concern and our maintenance department will remedy that problem.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and were very happy with our breakfast and the bedrooms.
Thank you again for your feedback, we will improve the toilet seat situation for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Hotel Cheval! From the moment we arrived, until the minute we left, the service was outstanding! We were treated and cared for like we were the only guests. Our room was lovely. Well appointed, cozy, clean, and spacious. It was far too hot to use the fire place, but we hope to return to use it in the future. Upon arrival we had a bottle of local wine, and some cookies in the room waiting for us. Each morning we received a newspaper and a paper, personalized with our names on it with recommendations of things to do that day. On Saturday morning we had a brief wine tasting with Ian, the local expert Sommelier. He was great! There was live music playing on Friday and Saturday evening, and homemade Smore's each evening. Such a treat to have a gourmet Smore made to order!
If you are looking for luxury, and want to be in walking distance to all the shops and restaurants, this is the only place to stay!
Thank you Cheval Staff for taking such good care of us! We will be back!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have no elevator, but there is help for your luggage.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyful93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear joyful93,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It was so wonderful to read that the staff provided such excellent service.
Our sommelier workshop on Saturday mornings has proved very popular with our guests.
Please do come back and see us again, maybe in the cooler months, so that you may use the cosy fire in your room!

Sincerely,

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed at this charming boutique hotel for the first night of our honeymoon (8/20) and it was picture perfect. Our room was upgraded to a gorgeous suite and loved the over sized tub. We enjoyed the Pony Club happy hour along with delicious S'mores later in the evening. Hotel Cheval is located in the heart of Paso Robles, and I would definitely recommend this beautiful Hotel. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine3263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Elaine3263,

Thank you so much for the review. It was wonderful to read that we started your honeymoon travels off on a very positive note!
Our happy hour is very popular, what a wonderful way to wind down after a hard day of wine tasting!
We look forward to seeing you on your first anniversary!

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Wow, what a great experience. Everything in the hotel is themed around horses. This is a boutique hotel with only 16 rooms. The rooms are exquisite and spacious, and make it feel like your in a French countryside villa. This place is super-attentive to guests. Free wine tastings, happy hour every evening, amazing staff and recommendations, a beautiful inner courtyard with 2 fireplaces, S'Mores every night at the 2 fireplaces, excellent breakfast every morning, a 100 yard walk to the town square which is surrounded by shops and numerous restaurants and wine tasting rooms, short drive to dozens of wineries, and our favorite spot, the patio on the street under the large, old, oak tree. You HAVE TO stay here when visiting Paso Robles. We would go back to Paso Robles just to stay at Hotel Cheval.

Room Tip: Happy hour and breakfast on the patio under the oak tree is a great experience!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derwood M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Derwood M,

Thank you so much for the extremely complimentary review. Our team works hard and with such pride that it is rewarding to read that we exceeded your expectations.
We are lucky to have such a wonderful location with many fabulous restaurants and wine tasting rooms within walking distance.
Please do come back to Paso Robles soon, a s'more awaits you!

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Loved everything! Every detail is well thought out. Rooms are quiet, unique, tasteful... great for couples. My husband and I stayed and it was perfect for us. I am thinking to return with the Girlfriends in the future as well. Within walking distance to tons of shops and restaurants. Hotel staff was top notch. Service impeccable! Highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodiegirl408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear foodiegirl408,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and the five-star rating. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I certainly appreciate your kind words with regard to the service you experienced at our hotel.
Please do come back and visit with your girlfriends!

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews