We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

What a great place. Loved the setting. Very convenient location. Room was excellent. Courtyard is beautiful. Staff and service was excellent. Really eager to please and for you to enjoy your time there. Happy hour was great. Breakfast was healthy and excellent. S'mores at night. We would definitely stay again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in highflyer. Awesome room right above the library. I am sure other rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaLiga16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear LaLiga16,

Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our courtyard and s'mores. It is always nice to have some healthy breakfast options and I was happy to read that you appreciated them.

Please do come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

We've stayed at this beautiful place before and it never fails to please. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and very well appointed. Except for one thing. The toilet seat.

I know, maybe not the most glamorous subject for a hotel review, but when you're staying at a place like the Cheval (and, believe me, you should stay there), you expect more than a $9.95 home depot special that's flimsy, moves all over the place and cuts into your thighs. It was really quite surprising.

The place is absolutely fantastic. Great rooms, great bar, great breakfast. It's by no means inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. With that one exception. Maybe a couple of extra dollars will get you a seat that doesn't slide off the edge when you sit on it.

Room Tip: If you can, get an upstairs room with a fireplace. They're quite beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Timothy H,

Thank you so much for your review, your title certainly got my attention! I have noted your concern and our maintenance department will remedy that problem.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and were very happy with our breakfast and the bedrooms.
Thank you again for your feedback, we will improve the toilet seat situation for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights at the Hotel Cheval! From the moment we arrived, until the minute we left, the service was outstanding! We were treated and cared for like we were the only guests. Our room was lovely. Well appointed, cozy, clean, and spacious. It was far too hot to use the fire place, but we hope to return to use it in the future. Upon arrival we had a bottle of local wine, and some cookies in the room waiting for us. Each morning we received a newspaper and a paper, personalized with our names on it with recommendations of things to do that day. On Saturday morning we had a brief wine tasting with Ian, the local expert Sommelier. He was great! There was live music playing on Friday and Saturday evening, and homemade Smore's each evening. Such a treat to have a gourmet Smore made to order!
If you are looking for luxury, and want to be in walking distance to all the shops and restaurants, this is the only place to stay!
Thank you Cheval Staff for taking such good care of us! We will be back!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have no elevator, but there is help for your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyful93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear joyful93,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It was so wonderful to read that the staff provided such excellent service.
Our sommelier workshop on Saturday mornings has proved very popular with our guests.
Please do come back and see us again, maybe in the cooler months, so that you may use the cosy fire in your room!

Sincerely,

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed at this charming boutique hotel for the first night of our honeymoon (8/20) and it was picture perfect. Our room was upgraded to a gorgeous suite and loved the over sized tub. We enjoyed the Pony Club happy hour along with delicious S'mores later in the evening. Hotel Cheval is located in the heart of Paso Robles, and I would definitely recommend this beautiful Hotel. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine3263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Elaine3263,

Thank you so much for the review. It was wonderful to read that we started your honeymoon travels off on a very positive note!
Our happy hour is very popular, what a wonderful way to wind down after a hard day of wine tasting!
We look forward to seeing you on your first anniversary!

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Wow, what a great experience. Everything in the hotel is themed around horses. This is a boutique hotel with only 16 rooms. The rooms are exquisite and spacious, and make it feel like your in a French countryside villa. This place is super-attentive to guests. Free wine tastings, happy hour every evening, amazing staff and recommendations, a beautiful inner courtyard with 2 fireplaces, S'Mores every night at the 2 fireplaces, excellent breakfast every morning, a 100 yard walk to the town square which is surrounded by shops and numerous restaurants and wine tasting rooms, short drive to dozens of wineries, and our favorite spot, the patio on the street under the large, old, oak tree. You HAVE TO stay here when visiting Paso Robles. We would go back to Paso Robles just to stay at Hotel Cheval.

Room Tip: Happy hour and breakfast on the patio under the oak tree is a great experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derwood M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Derwood M,

Thank you so much for the extremely complimentary review. Our team works hard and with such pride that it is rewarding to read that we exceeded your expectations.
We are lucky to have such a wonderful location with many fabulous restaurants and wine tasting rooms within walking distance.
Please do come back to Paso Robles soon, a s'more awaits you!

Sincerely,

Jayne Christman, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
4.2 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
656 reviews
0.3 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
706 reviews
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 27,603 - ₹ 31,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing