We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful!”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Great service, people and property. My wife and I enjoyed a quick visit to Paso and the Hotel Cheval to unwind and disconnect. It was perfect - friendly staff, comfy beds, quiet rooms, marshmallow roasting in the evenings and the Pony Club. Not to mention that the Hotel Cheval is conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping, movie theatre, etc.. Oh yes, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear Kevin U,

Thank you so much for posting a review. Although your trip was quick, it sounds like you got to enjoy much of what Paso and Hotel Cheval has to offer. On your next trip be sure to stay with us for a little longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

This was my first trip here although the 2 other couples we were with had previously stayed. Located right in the heart of downtown Paso Robles. Cozy rooms with fireplaces. We stayed on the second floor and loved our room which had a large bathroom with a huge shower and plenty of counter space. The hotel's interior courtyard features two fireplaces with plenty of comfortable seating areas. The s'mores butler in the evenings was awesome. Several kinds of marshmallows, chocolates and drizzles to choose from and he makes them for you! Excellent continental breakfast was included in the room rate. We were there on the weekend so it also included made to order omelets and pancakes. The staff, especially Robert, was very helpful with directions to some local vineyards. Easy walk in the evening to go the dinner in downtown. We

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dera Michael G,

Thank you so much for your review and excellent rating! I read with great pleasure that you enjoyed our S'mores butler's delights! Our hotel is a wonderful place for small groups to stay, our fireplaces are made for our guests to congregate and chat over a glass of local wine. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We booked the reservation several months in advance, they had everything we ask for and more. Upon arrival the front desk staff greated our party by name, showed each of us to our individual room and explained the amenities of Hotel Cheval. The Pony Bar is part of the Hotel, happy hour menu, discounted wine and beer, etc. good selection of local wine. The rooms are fantastic, clean, each one a little different, the beds will cost you when you get home, my wife wants to buy one.
Staff is great and very attentive but not intrusive. Location is excellent and you can walk to most of the best restaurants.
But the real charm is being in the inner courtyard in the evening, several fireplaces and cozy venues and they have a great young man who has a red rider wagon filled with all the things you can wish for to make a marshmallow samore. He takes your request and then delivers each one back to you ready to eat, yum yum!
Great Hotel, excellent staff, a must for having fun in Paso Robles. We'll come back again.

Room Tip: Let the staff choose for a you,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriginalStudMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear OriginalStudMuffin,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. Please tell your wife that we have a special Serta Bed Program, so if she would like the details I would be only too happy to forward the information to you.
I am thrilled you appreciated the charm of the hotel at night. It really is a magical place, especially with a gourmet s'more and a glass of wine! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Loved everything about this hotel. Service is great. Room was very comfy with big oversized pillows and comforter. I love all the little seating areas and fireplaces in the courtyard. Just charming! And s'mores in front of the fireplace was the topper!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brendan457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear brendan457,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our S'mores butler is fabulous, so glad you got to experience the fireplaces and a gooey treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We had high expectations based on what we had seen on the internet. We were not disappointed. On the contrary! We had a very genuine and warm welcome by Barbara in the reception. Here we got the first impression of this great boutique hotel with 16 rooms. All the staff were very helpful during the one day we stayed.
The atmosphere is just spectacular with great charm and the rooms are very clean and nice. The horse "theme" is felt all over the hotel and even though, it is only about 10 years old, you get a great feeling of something much older with a lot of history atached to it. Everything is in great condition, clean and well maintained.
Try the bar at the hotel. They serve great local wines by the glass and you can have wine flights if you want to try different ones. Again, great service. Our only suggestion would be, to serve the red wines colder.
We wish we could have stayed longer, but we already had made plans for our trip. We will be back!!
Marianne & Jørn, Denmark

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jornlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear Jornlinde,

Thank you so much for your review and comments. Barbara makes everyone feel welcomed and genuinely cares about each and every one of our guests. I am so pleased that you got to experience the Pony Club, a wonderful bar with live music at the weekends. I agree with your comments with regard to the red wine service temperature, it certainly is not cellar temperature. We are working on storing the wine in a cooler place. Please do come back and see us next time you are in the States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
4.2 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
656 reviews
0.3 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
706 reviews
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 27,460 - ₹ 31,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing