We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
450
56
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
56
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony bar club bar wood burning wonderful boutique hotel small hotel wine tasting dark chocolate inner courtyard multiple fireplaces lovely courtyard within walking distance window seat coffee cake continental breakfast town square outdoor fire quiche
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We booked the reservation several months in advance, they had everything we ask for and more. Upon arrival the front desk staff greated our party by name, showed each of us to our individual room and explained the amenities of Hotel Cheval. The Pony Bar is part of the Hotel, happy hour menu, discounted wine and beer, etc. good selection of local wine. The rooms are fantastic, clean, each one a little different, the beds will cost you when you get home, my wife wants to buy one.
Staff is great and very attentive but not intrusive. Location is excellent and you can walk to most of the best restaurants.
But the real charm is being in the inner courtyard in the evening, several fireplaces and cozy venues and they have a great young man who has a red rider wagon filled with all the things you can wish for to make a marshmallow samore. He takes your request and then delivers each one back to you ready to eat, yum yum!
Great Hotel, excellent staff, a must for having fun in Paso Robles. We'll come back again.

Room Tip: Let the staff choose for a you,
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriginalStudMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear OriginalStudMuffin,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. Please tell your wife that we have a special Serta Bed Program, so if she would like the details I would be only too happy to forward the information to you.
I am thrilled you appreciated the charm of the hotel at night. It really is a magical place, especially with a gourmet s'more and a glass of wine! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Loved everything about this hotel. Service is great. Room was very comfy with big oversized pillows and comforter. I love all the little seating areas and fireplaces in the courtyard. Just charming! And s'mores in front of the fireplace was the topper!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brendan457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear brendan457,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our S'mores butler is fabulous, so glad you got to experience the fireplaces and a gooey treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We had high expectations based on what we had seen on the internet. We were not disappointed. On the contrary! We had a very genuine and warm welcome by Barbara in the reception. Here we got the first impression of this great boutique hotel with 16 rooms. All the staff were very helpful during the one day we stayed.
The atmosphere is just spectacular with great charm and the rooms are very clean and nice. The horse "theme" is felt all over the hotel and even though, it is only about 10 years old, you get a great feeling of something much older with a lot of history atached to it. Everything is in great condition, clean and well maintained.
Try the bar at the hotel. They serve great local wines by the glass and you can have wine flights if you want to try different ones. Again, great service. Our only suggestion would be, to serve the red wines colder.
We wish we could have stayed longer, but we already had made plans for our trip. We will be back!!
Marianne & Jørn, Denmark

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jornlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear Jornlinde,

Thank you so much for your review and comments. Barbara makes everyone feel welcomed and genuinely cares about each and every one of our guests. I am so pleased that you got to experience the Pony Club, a wonderful bar with live music at the weekends. I agree with your comments with regard to the red wine service temperature, it certainly is not cellar temperature. We are working on storing the wine in a cooler place. Please do come back and see us next time you are in the States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

It all begins long before you arrive. The staff is friendly and helpful when you call to make the reservation. At first it was fully booked. I needed two rooms. I was put on a wait list. They called about two weeks before our dates with one room. Then they followed up about four days before to let me know the second room opened up.
The room was well apppiinted with thick soft towels, great soap and a hair dryer. The staff was warm and welcoming, asking what they could do for us. They had live music in the Pony Bar Friday and Saturday evening. They had someone making Smores on the open fires even in summer.
The breakfast was all fresh ingredients. Fresh fruits.You could get omlettes any way you like.
The bedding is soft and plush.
This is five star even if it was in a major city.
It is almost at the corner of the main square. It is walking distance to anywhere you need to go.
They put on a special wine education tasting. A Master Sommelier, Ian, had a dozen people taste and evaluate three different wines. He was brilliant and it was very eye opening.
The only place to stay in Paso.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank GeorgeDubiecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear 800FoodFanatic800,

Thank you so much for the five-star rating and the wonderful review! I am so pleased that your experience started before you arrived, our staff does their very best to ensure a positive experience from beginning to end. The sommelier tasting is a complimentary workshop, held at the weekend. Feedback has been positive and I am happy that you gleaned some helpful information from it.
Please do come back and stay with us again soon, there is always more to explore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed at the Hotel Cheval on our wedding night, and everything about it from the bottle of Brut upon arrival to the fireplace and soaking tub were pure bliss.

The ambiance is California elegance at it's finest and it is located on the prettiest block in downtown Paso Robles conveniently near shops, tasting rooms, and fine dining. The room itself (we stayed in a luxury room) was absolutely perfect. The high, wood beamed ceilings and multiple windows kept the room feeling light and airy, while the gas fireplace, cozy arm chairs, and oversized bed created a feeling of supreme comfort. And I must mention - the bed was by FAR the best bed we have ever experienced (including ours at home!)

Several of our guests stayed at the Hotel Cheval on our wedding weekend and everyone absolutely raved about it. From the s'mores to the fireplaces to the beautiful and fun Pony Club Wine Bar (a MUST)...I could not recommend Hotel Cheval more for your stay in Paso Robles. Thank you for making our wedding week so perfect for our guests and for us!

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are beautiful and worth the splurge
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear mollyms619,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your wedding night with us. It really is a perfect setting to relax and unwind with your guests. Your review was wonderful and I am so pleased that you got to experience the s'mores and The Pony Club, on what must have been an incredibly busy weekend for you. Please do come back and visit again, maybe on your first anniversary?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews