We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class!!”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We had high expectations based on what we had seen on the internet. We were not disappointed. On the contrary! We had a very genuine and warm welcome by Barbara in the reception. Here we got the first impression of this great boutique hotel with 16 rooms. All the staff were very helpful during the one day we stayed.
The atmosphere is just spectacular with great charm and the rooms are very clean and nice. The horse "theme" is felt all over the hotel and even though, it is only about 10 years old, you get a great feeling of something much older with a lot of history atached to it. Everything is in great condition, clean and well maintained.
Try the bar at the hotel. They serve great local wines by the glass and you can have wine flights if you want to try different ones. Again, great service. Our only suggestion would be, to serve the red wines colder.
We wish we could have stayed longer, but we already had made plans for our trip. We will be back!!
Marianne & Jørn, Denmark

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jornlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear Jornlinde,

Thank you so much for your review and comments. Barbara makes everyone feel welcomed and genuinely cares about each and every one of our guests. I am so pleased that you got to experience the Pony Club, a wonderful bar with live music at the weekends. I agree with your comments with regard to the red wine service temperature, it certainly is not cellar temperature. We are working on storing the wine in a cooler place. Please do come back and see us next time you are in the States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

It all begins long before you arrive. The staff is friendly and helpful when you call to make the reservation. At first it was fully booked. I needed two rooms. I was put on a wait list. They called about two weeks before our dates with one room. Then they followed up about four days before to let me know the second room opened up.
The room was well apppiinted with thick soft towels, great soap and a hair dryer. The staff was warm and welcoming, asking what they could do for us. They had live music in the Pony Bar Friday and Saturday evening. They had someone making Smores on the open fires even in summer.
The breakfast was all fresh ingredients. Fresh fruits.You could get omlettes any way you like.
The bedding is soft and plush.
This is five star even if it was in a major city.
It is almost at the corner of the main square. It is walking distance to anywhere you need to go.
They put on a special wine education tasting. A Master Sommelier, Ian, had a dozen people taste and evaluate three different wines. He was brilliant and it was very eye opening.
The only place to stay in Paso.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 800FoodFanatic800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear 800FoodFanatic800,

Thank you so much for the five-star rating and the wonderful review! I am so pleased that your experience started before you arrived, our staff does their very best to ensure a positive experience from beginning to end. The sommelier tasting is a complimentary workshop, held at the weekend. Feedback has been positive and I am happy that you gleaned some helpful information from it.
Please do come back and stay with us again soon, there is always more to explore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed at the Hotel Cheval on our wedding night, and everything about it from the bottle of Brut upon arrival to the fireplace and soaking tub were pure bliss.

The ambiance is California elegance at it's finest and it is located on the prettiest block in downtown Paso Robles conveniently near shops, tasting rooms, and fine dining. The room itself (we stayed in a luxury room) was absolutely perfect. The high, wood beamed ceilings and multiple windows kept the room feeling light and airy, while the gas fireplace, cozy arm chairs, and oversized bed created a feeling of supreme comfort. And I must mention - the bed was by FAR the best bed we have ever experienced (including ours at home!)

Several of our guests stayed at the Hotel Cheval on our wedding weekend and everyone absolutely raved about it. From the s'mores to the fireplaces to the beautiful and fun Pony Club Wine Bar (a MUST)...I could not recommend Hotel Cheval more for your stay in Paso Robles. Thank you for making our wedding week so perfect for our guests and for us!

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are beautiful and worth the splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear mollyms619,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your wedding night with us. It really is a perfect setting to relax and unwind with your guests. Your review was wonderful and I am so pleased that you got to experience the s'mores and The Pony Club, on what must have been an incredibly busy weekend for you. Please do come back and visit again, maybe on your first anniversary?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We loved this small boutique hotel. Designed with a beautiful courtyard in the center w fireplaces and comfy seating it had a cozy feeling. One night the staff made us custom s'mores while we sat near a fire. Breakfast was wonderful with still warm from the oven coffee cakes, homemade granola, fruit, custom omelets, etc. Our room was a nice size with turn down service on our king bed and an oversized shower. We also had a lovely outdoor patio and there was a delicious treat every afternoon in the reception area. The staff very attentive. I would highly recommend reservations months in advance.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Lisa W,

Thank you so much for the review. I was thrilled to read that you experienced an evening around the fireplace, with custom s'mores. Our breakfast is constantly evolving so it was wonderful to read that we are hitting the mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We drove past the hotel while it was being built. The next time we traveled in the area, we were disappointed that the didn't take pets....yeah...the have been pet friendly for awhile. We had a patio that our two Yorkshire terriers could wonder in and out of the room.
This is our third visit. The last two times, we had dinner and our own wine in the courtyard. That way would could hear the dogs in case they barked. We like that since we ate out 4 nights in a row.
The rooms are beautiful. Very clean with upscale linens. The finishes are starting to show a little wear.
We love the central coast and will keep staying here on our way back to Orange county from Carmel.

Room Tip: no views in any room that I know of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 818larainej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear 818larainej,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We would absolutely love to have your Yorkshire terriers visit with you next time! The downstairs rooms with patios are perfect for our four-legged visitors. Please do stay with us again next time you are driving south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
4.2 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
658 reviews
0.3 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
706 reviews
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 27,347 - ₹ 31,179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing