We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Paso Robles”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is really perfect. The location: in the centre of town, within walking distance of excellent restaurants and things to do; the rooms: beautifully decorated, with style yet cosy and warm; the bed: one of the best sleeps I had in two weeks of traveling; the outdoor spaces: where you can while away hours in front of a fire; the Pony Club: for an excellent breakfast or late drink. The staff in the evening (two guys) were really helpful and kind, in the morning, the lady at reception was not half as attentive. We only stayed a night sadly, but if I was going back to Paso Robles, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreidaBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 359 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Who would think you could find a bit of European flavor in Paso Robles. This small Inn has old world charm galore. Yes it all comes with a price tag, but not out of scale with most of the B&B properties in the wine country surrounding Paso. But this place is right in town and convenient for walking to all the nearby restaurants, wine tasting bars, etc. so you can indulge and not have to worry about driving. The staff are very accomodating with reservations, helpful hints, and anything else you need. In the evening the courtyard is warmed by real wood fireplaces with cozy benches to sit and enjoy a nightcap and conversation. A staff member even comes around and offers to make smores for you if you would like ( I would not like but the offer was appreciated and some people did took him up on the gooey offering). The lobby is gorgeous and warmed by a fireplace as well. In fact each room has a gas fireplace as does the outdoor bar seating area. The effect of all the fires is magical on a cool evening. This is a place you will remember.

Room Tip: A couple of rooms are near a generator located in the garage parking area. The hum does carry into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have read several reviews. Let me be clear. Yes the hotel is pricey. We paid on average 400$ per night. But, if you can afford it, it is worth it. If you are stretching your budget stay somewhere else and do not complain.

We stayed in "Firetail" in the courtyard immediately next to the large fireplace. It was fabulous. Because it was Feb, the evenings were chilly. But Maureen was amazing and kept us comfortable all night. She brought us blankets for by the fire and arranged dinner ordered in.

The hotel is surrounded by 14 wine tasting rooms and at least 6 or more great restaurants within a couple of blocks. We have stayed in Napa and this is generally not as pretentious and offers more choice close by with no need to drive. Napa Valley does have more restaurants but driving is required.

We hired a driver thru Destination Drivers and they were great. Our driver was Dana and he was great.

Room Tip: Firetail was great but there are a couple of rooms across the courtyard with their own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2truv3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel cheval was really great. Recently we stayed for two nights and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms. Yes, location is great due to the walking distance to most of the restaurants in Paso. However, originally I was skeptical of the quality of the rooms for the price I spent. $290+ a night for a room on any budget is nothing to sneeze at. But I must say the cleanliness, size and amenities really showed the value. The staff overall was extremely friendly, and for that amount per night it was expected. The only hiccup we encountered was they rotated so many different front desk staff in just our short 2 day stay that it felt a little less intimate. 3 of the 4 attendants on duty were very pleasant and friendly, however one seemed a bit off put by our request to be dropped off somewhere close in town. I guess we had misjudged just how close our destination was the hotel and they might have scoffed at the notion we could not have just walked. No big deal though. It certainly did onto ruin any overall experience we had. Second minor drawback was where our room was located. While beautiful and spacious it was unfortunately located right below a staircase leading to the second level rooms. This lent to intermittent banging and stomping early in the morning and a few instances during the evening. Again, not a major concern seeing as how 95% of the remaining stay you could hear a pin drop. I found it very helpful they provided a wine shipping service as well after buying several bottles during our wine tastings and vineyard tours I was able to fill out a pamphlet and leave all my wine at the front desk for them to ship to me (for a a fair fee of course). Nice touch. Overall, it seems that the Staff was more than willing to accommodate most requests from other guests as well. One evening I believe some guests ordered food from a nice restaurant in town and had it picked up and delivered by a member of the staff. Very cool. The courtyard is great as well. Our time there it was very quite and peacefull. One of the attendants was accommodating and offered on a few occasions to stoke the outside fireplace to keep it warm for us. Stay at hotel cheval for the location and service. It seems like most hotels in the are worth staying at are not that much less expensive than here so I feel it was worth it to spend an extra $50-$100 per night for the amenities and personal attention.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKaidms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Who says there are not great places to stay in Paso Robles. I found this place while visiting the Paso wine area. This is the nicest most upscale place in downtown paso Robles. It's one block to town square and great restaurants. I definately will return to hotel cheval.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
4.2 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
658 reviews
0.3 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
707 reviews
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 27,356 - ₹ 31,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing