We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cheval
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stopped at the Hotel Cheval overnight on our drive to San Francisco. Loved, loved our stay and wish we could have stayed more days. We will definitely go back. Our room was absolutely beautiful...fireplace, cozy, great bed, lovely bathroom, plate of two home made cookies in your room, you name it. The attention to detail and amenities are perfect. They even had an a coffee maker with decaf and regular coffee that you make yourself instead of those awful coffee packets. The pony club on the property is a must for wine service. They also serve a complimentary continental breakfast during the week. They made our dinner reservations for us and we walked to the restaurant through the park. It was a rather cold, brisk evening but it was lovely. We went back to the Pony Club after dinner and had the complimentary champagne that they offered with our reservation. Next time we will take our little dog as they are very pet friendly. There is absolutely nothing I can think of to improve on this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 370 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We visit Paso often and have stayed at many of the hotels it provides. Cheval is by far the best. It is beautifully built around a central courtyard. The rooms are spacious with high quality bedding and bathroom amenities. Concierge is friendly and will get you into the difficult-to-get-into restaurants in town.

Their adorable wine bar's patio is located under a beautiful massive oak tree. If the weather is good, you can also have your breakfast on the same patio.

Parking could be an issue. They do provide a handful of covered spots for the guests, but there have been times when we had to park on the street. Given that they are just off the main square you might have to circle around a bit to find a spot. The good news is that the town clears out at night and you can always bring you car back closer to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband took me to Hotel Cheval for my birthday. It was one of the best experiences we have had in a hotel. The staff did a great job of recommending restaurants and other things we wanted to do in Paso. We took our dog with us on the trip. The hotel was nice enough to make sure he had a comfy bed, treats, and bowls for his food and water. They brought up a fridge at no extra cost to chill our water, champagne, and snacks. The hotel is beautifully decorated and has so many cozy places to relax by the fire. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We decided to check out the wine region in Paso and San Luis Obiso and found this hotel by chance. With only 16 rooms , it's quaint and covenient.. and expensive.. however we enoyed our stay and would more than likely go back when in the area. The staff is great and provides a nice touch in the overall interaction . not too much but they are thier when you need them. Our room was upstairs overlooking the outside front patio which was perfect as we could really get a nice feel of the city and hotel scene

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Cheval this week for three days and we absolutely loved it. Let's start with the location in the heart of downtown. It was so great just to walk to dinner and shopping. Downtown Paso is very small, but very cute.

Moving on to the hotel...the service was fantastic, yet not over the top. They would basically do anything for you. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard each night prior to going to dinner. It's a delightful space with chairs, tables and fireplaces. A nice gathering spot. We stopped there after dinner also to socialize with some guests too.

The rooms are a touch smaller than we prefer, but it was ok since the hotel was so nice and there was the courtyard to enjoy. And, the room had a cute patio with a fountain. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower was wonderful...the water actually came out at a decent pace instead of the usual drip you get at hotels. The beds were very comfy too. As one would expect, there was the usual coffee, water and high end products in the room which I love. It's the little things that sometimes make a big impression.

I can't say enough good things about this place. We are really looking forward to a repeat visit!

Room Tip: Each room is unique as there are only 16. The Trumpetor faced the street, but it had a patio with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
3.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
4.2 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
658 reviews
0.3 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
707 reviews
2.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 27,294 - ₹ 31,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cheval 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing