We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
445
55
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
55
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspony barclub barwood burningsmall hotelwonderful boutique hotelwine tastinginner courtyarddark chocolatemultiple fireplaceslovely courtyardluxury roomwithin walking distancewindow seatcoffee cakecontinental breakfasttown squareoutdoor fire
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We visit Paso often and have stayed at many of the hotels it provides. Cheval is by far the best. It is beautifully built around a central courtyard. The rooms are spacious with high quality bedding and bathroom amenities. Concierge is friendly and will get you into the difficult-to-get-into restaurants in town.

Their adorable wine bar's patio is located under a beautiful massive oak tree. If the weather is good, you can also have your breakfast on the same patio.

Parking could be an issue. They do provide a handful of covered spots for the guests, but there have been times when we had to park on the street. Given that they are just off the main square you might have to circle around a bit to find a spot. The good news is that the town clears out at night and you can always bring you car back closer to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband took me to Hotel Cheval for my birthday. It was one of the best experiences we have had in a hotel. The staff did a great job of recommending restaurants and other things we wanted to do in Paso. We took our dog with us on the trip. The hotel was nice enough to make sure he had a comfy bed, treats, and bowls for his food and water. They brought up a fridge at no extra cost to chill our water, champagne, and snacks. The hotel is beautifully decorated and has so many cozy places to relax by the fire. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We decided to check out the wine region in Paso and San Luis Obiso and found this hotel by chance. With only 16 rooms , it's quaint and covenient.. and expensive.. however we enoyed our stay and would more than likely go back when in the area. The staff is great and provides a nice touch in the overall interaction . not too much but they are thier when you need them. Our room was upstairs overlooking the outside front patio which was perfect as we could really get a nice feel of the city and hotel scene

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Cheval this week for three days and we absolutely loved it. Let's start with the location in the heart of downtown. It was so great just to walk to dinner and shopping. Downtown Paso is very small, but very cute.

Moving on to the hotel...the service was fantastic, yet not over the top. They would basically do anything for you. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard each night prior to going to dinner. It's a delightful space with chairs, tables and fireplaces. A nice gathering spot. We stopped there after dinner also to socialize with some guests too.

The rooms are a touch smaller than we prefer, but it was ok since the hotel was so nice and there was the courtyard to enjoy. And, the room had a cute patio with a fountain. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower was wonderful...the water actually came out at a decent pace instead of the usual drip you get at hotels. The beds were very comfy too. As one would expect, there was the usual coffee, water and high end products in the room which I love. It's the little things that sometimes make a big impression.

I can't say enough good things about this place. We are really looking forward to a repeat visit!

Room Tip: Each room is unique as there are only 16. The Trumpetor faced the street, but it had a patio with a fountain which they all don't have.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hotel Cheval is very pleasing to the eye and to be honest unfortunately it is one of the best hotels in this area its just to bad it is so pricey. They used to have a horse drawn carriage which added to the decor but now i believe that is a SUV Caddilac haha. The location is great if you plan on wine tasting then settling in town, the beds are nice and room is pretty. I personally just don't think it should cost as much as it does. Wish they had a nice pool as well :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank itsmycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews