We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
158
4
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
4
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromantic getawaypac manbed and breakfastmanor suitesalmon dinnerduke and duchessbeautiful rosesnice bottle of champagnewhirlpool tuboverlooking the valleyno expense sparedfantastic roomfelt like royaltypiece of heavencomplete privacyfriendly hostsevening wine and cheese
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We visit Cental California nearly every year. We have always stayed in an ocean-front room in Cambria. We decided to try something different this year and stay in a B&B in El Paso de Robles. We reviewed the five top-rated B&Bs on Trip Advisor and, through a process of elimination, selected High Ridge Manor. (We eliminated two of the five because they don't have king-sized beds, which is very important to us.)

High Ridge Manor (HRM) is appropriately named. It sits at the top of a high ridge, at the end of a long road. If you've never been there before, I suggest you arrive before dark. We arrived after dark and had some amount of difficulty finding HRM.

As we drove to and from the B&B each day, we'd see rabbits, deer, horses, cows, goats and of course lots of birds. The owners have three dogs and four cats. As we ate breakfast each morning, we watched deer graze in the nearby hills. Cindy & Jim have found a little piece of heaven here on earth.

We arrived on a Monday evening and checked out Friday morning. The smaller wineries are not open for tasting on week days. While we were enjoying the gourmet breakfast Jim had prepared for us Tuesday morning, Cindy discreetly disappeared. She returned a few minutes later to tell us that both Dubost and Jack Creek would accomodate us, even though they wouldn't be open to the public that day! They also turned us on to two great "steals" -- the Homestead Red from Dubost and 2007 Savignon Blanc from Clayhouse. We bought a case of each.

Our room was beautifully decorated. The four-poster bed is very high which is part of what makes the room so dramatic. But my husband has physical challenges and found it difficult to get down off of the bed. That won't be an issue for most people, but I'm sure there are a few Trip Advisor Members who will find it hard to get into or out of a high bed, so I mention it. The pillows were not firm enough for either one of us. They might be down-filled, which many people like and find luxurious but we need firmer fatter pillows. The room is not designed for reading or watching TV -- unless you can do so comfortably in bed, which we can't.

HRM has a game room which sports a pool table, Ms. Pac Man, a chess set, and a TV. We were usually dressed and ready by 8:30 A.M. Because breakfast is served at 9, my husband and I spent 1/2 hour each morning playing pool. It's been ages since we've played pool with each other and it was great fun. We'd get three games in before breakfast while catching the morning news.

This was, at time time of our stay, one of our best B&B experiences.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We just returned from our second visit and it will certainly not be our last. Situated on a hilltop in Paso Robles, this B & B stands out in my mind as one of the best around anywhere period. Be prepared to use the map and great directions on the website and you will have no trouble at all finding it. Cindy, the owner, designed and built this place with high quality materials and attention to every single detail: offering complete privacy, spacious accommodations, fireplace, beautiful fluffy linens with down pillows & comforters, big jacuzzi tub, complimentary bottle of wine, snacks and a game room equipped with a full-size pool table, TV, popcorn machine, etc. The breakfast in the morning is top-notch gourmet dining. (Great breakfast this morning Jim, loved the apple blueberry crisp and homemade blueberry syrup for the pancakes, yum :-) Don't forget to ask Jim & Cindy which wineries to visit, they will send you to the best and no tasting fees! Cindy and Jim are fabulous hosts, I'd move in if they'd let me :-) See you guys again real soon!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbossmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highridgemanor, Owners at High Ridge Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2010

Thank you so much for your gracious remarks! Always a pleasure having guests like you and Al! Looking forward to your next visit to Paso Robles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We were fortunate enough, on our first trip to the Paso Robles area, to find gold! High Ridge Manor has all the fine qualities of a rare treasure in B&B getaways. The Inn sits atop a scenic ridge amidst the undulating hills of the area\'s serene wine country. The views are both breathtaking and softly soothing. We chose the Decadence suite and were rewarded with spacious warmth, snuggly comfort, and quiet, mood-setting luxury. The superb attention to detail in style and decor gave the room an elegant yet homey feel. Our hosts, Jim and Cindy, were terrific! Immediately, we felt as though we\'d come to stay with old friends. They were extremely helpful in providing tips and recommendations for maximizing our enjoyment of the surrounding area, listening carefully to our preferences and guiding us into a memorable experience. Breakfast each day was a visual and palate-pleasing treat, from the panoramic views of the dining room to the carefully prepared and excellent menu of delicious indulgence. A better experience than High Ridge Manor would be difficult to imagine. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolfGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Every year, we travel from New England to CA for a few very necessary days of wine appreciation. Usually we explore Sonoma and Napa. But this year, as a wonderful birthday gift, we went south to Paso Robles. First time there, and it won't be our last. And we can't imagine staying anyplace else. Cindy and Jim are exceptional hosts and their inn is the most soothing, satisfying B&B we've stayed in. Anywhere. They have captured the CA wine country experience beautifully. The setting, high above the vineyards and valleys, will thrill anyone who appreciates great wines and the areas that produce them. Every room has a wide, expansive view, and waking up to it every morning is extraordinary. The decor, amenities, gourmet breakfasts and overall atmosphere are amazingly comforting. Warm and welcoming, personal and perfect. Stay as long as you possibly can -- there's something new to discover every day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAbeatsFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed at High Ridge Manor for a week and LOVED it!!! The house is in a beautiful setting with spectacular views. Jim & Cindy are the perfect hosts. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious and the rooms are very cozy and comfortable, each one with a view. Jim took us on a 4-hour wine tour, which I highly recommend. That is really the best way to find/see all the best wineries in the area and sample all the wine you want. We joined two wine clubs and bought a case plus 4 bottles of wine. It is the best Bed & Breakfast that we have stayed at and we have stayed at several in the US and Europe. The area was so beautiful, that we spend one day looking at real estate with the help of Cindy, who knew a realtor. They are very accommodating and will help with most anything you need or want to do. You won't be disappointed at High Ridge Manor and there are great restaurants in Paso Robles and the surrounding areas. We will definitely go back...soon!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJLyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews