We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerwood Winery & Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Way overpriced”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Location was lovely and the room was tasteful, but both bed lamps were not working and we like to read in bed. A call to the desk confirmed that they realized the lamps were not working and brought one up for us. Picture this: Two broken lamps attached to the wall with lampshades and in front of them on the night stand that was moved forward to accomodate the table lamps. All this for $300.00 a night.

The cuisine did not live up to it's billing. Wine was fine but the hor d' oeuvres were nothing special. The homemade deserts consist of cookies, probably made from a mix and the breakfast, which is what Bed and Breakfast's are all about was boring. I expect fresh orange juice not concentrated at a $300.00 a night.

The young people managing the Inn were very nice, but I think it lacked the feel you get when it is run by the actual owners.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDavis33514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
123
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

A friend and I drove up for a weekend getaway. I had the Bordeaux room, she took the Twilight. Both were immaculately clean, spacious, and quiet with private balconies and views of the surrounding vineyards. The best part of the Inn is the helpful staff. They gave us many suggestions on wineries to visit and things to do in the area and the innkeeper was kind enough to get up early and set out coffee and tea for me when she heard I would be up long before breakfast was served. The food is lovely; last night's wine and hors d'oeuvres were lavish, including artisan cheeses and smoked salmon on potato slices. I definitely recommend the Summerwood.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondodelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This was my second visit to Summerwood, the first one being several years ago. This time I stayed with my mother in Chardonnay, one of the first-floor rooms. Chardonnay is spacious with a nice east-facing view of the vineyards, 2 queen beds, and a fireplace. It is very nicely decorated, although I agree with a previous reviewer that some maintenance is in order - for example, in the bathroom there is a large crack running across the floor and odd splotches of blue paint in an otherwise soft yellow shower stall, and the wooden furniture (night stand, TV armoire) need refinishing. It also would be nice if the bathroom had a hook by the sink for the hand towel and the room had a ceiling fan. There is air conditioning, but it is not unlike what you find in hospitals or motels - under the window, noisy, with just two settings - high or low. That could stand to updated. However, apart from those items the room was fine. Chardonnay is located at the end of the inn nearest Highway 46, but road noise was minimal.

The food was absolutely delicious; the chef, Jessica, does a fabulous job. Evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were very well prepared and generous, truly a full meal. The breakfast was wonderful as well. Additional nice touches included a complimentary bottle of wine and a coupon for a free tasting at the winery tasting room just across the street. Everyone on the staff at both locations was friendly, helpful and professional. I'll definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This was our 2nd visit to Summerwood. It remains a lovely inn, but it needs some exterior maintenance (painting especially!)
The location is great, the food is wonderful (we did a food and wine lunch with the Chef, Jessica, and she is amazing and a fabulous chef) In addition to b'fast, they serve wine, cheese and lots of hor's doerves each evening. The setting is lovely. We stayed in the Diosa Suite, and the next time we'd probably pick one of the ground floor rooms---not so much luggage dragging--no elevator---but we enjoyed our room while we had it.

We'd recommend the inn, and don't skip tasting their wine!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The Inn is beautiful and the extras are incredible!! A value if you add up the costs of Breakfast for two, lunch, bottle of wine, tasting at their Winery and much more. The service was fantastic. The multi- talented Innkeeper, Destiny was a native and "showed us the way"! We have never felt so appreciated or satisfied at a bed and breakfast. We will be back with bells on.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEPASOWINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
8.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.5 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
631 reviews
4.9 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
671 reviews
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
5.0 km away
Hotel Cheval
Hotel Cheval
#1 of 18 in Paso Robles
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Winery & Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Winery & Inn

Property: Summerwood Winery & Inn
Address: 2130 Arbor Rd, Highway 46 West and Arbor Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446-8617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,181 - ₹ 21,245
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerwood Winery & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Summerwood Winery & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerwood Winery And Inn
Summerwood Winery Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing