We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Son's anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summerwood Winery & Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
solvang
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Son's anniversary”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My son and daughter-in-law were in town and celebrating their anniversary. My husband and I treated them to a two night stay at the Summerwood Inn. They arrived late because their luggage was still in Los Angeles. When they arrived, the staff at Summerwood had their appetizers waiting for them. The staff was over the top in service. My daughter-in-law was amazed at how beautiful the grounds were, and it was February! We have stayed at the inn several times and it's nice to know that their quality of service and cleanliness has stayed over the top.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centralcoastmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
115
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Spent our honeymoon at Summerwood; one of the best places we have stayed and we travel a lot. The inn is comfortable with easy access to everything in the area. Service was excellant; our innkeeper Jill was the perfect host with great restaurant recommendations. The food was superb. We highly recommend Summerwood.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ORegon, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Summerwood Inn was the last stop on a 4-day driving journey we took from Oregon through California. When I first read the TripAdvisor reviews, I was a little bummed to see that Summerwood only ranked 13 out of the B&Bs in the area - but from the moment we approached the front door, I knew we'd made the right choice.

The building is absolutely lovely. Entry doors lead you right into the common room which has a large fireplace, plenty of plush seating, good reading light, and a buffet where some sort of goodies will await!

We came in late, about 1/2 an hour after the evening hors d'oeuvres and wine had been put away - yet the young woman who greeted us still brought us complimentary glasses of wine to our room AND, when we expressed interest in some basil-infused brownies the chef had recently prepared, she immediately returned with a bunch of them for us to eat. THEN, we expressed our delight with the in-room truffles and she returned with 4 more of those! We immediately felt right at home, more so than any of the previous B&Bs we had stayed at on our road trip. Plus there was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us, and although we have not had it yet, another guest did try it and said it was very good.

The young woman recommended several restaurants for dinner - when we chose one, she got on the phone right away and discovered they were booked - we made a second choice, and she called them right away and made a late reservation. Dinner was great.

Our room was the Moscato Allegro - very spacious, on the ground floor. Huge bathroom, great bed with tiny stepladders up to it. Easy-to-use fireplace and great view of the grounds and vineyard from the back patio. No negatives to speak of, other than there was a large group staying at the Inn and they came back from dinner very late, and decided to talk (very loudly) in the common room - so we could hear that in our room. But we're pretty flexible people and it was not a big deal at all.

Breakfast was excellent, lots of options to choose from (including vegan), and we sat with a lovely couple who were up wine tasting for a few days.

I can't wait to come back to Summerwood and next time I do, it will be for a Paso Robles wine tasting adventure when we can spend more time at the Inn and tasting the local wines.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieMarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We recently stayed a night at Summerwood -- our 3rd visit in a few years -- and it was like coming home. We have also stayed at the Hotel Cheval in downtown Paso, which is exceptionally nice and really convenient for walking to restaurants for dinner, but we missed staying in the midst of the vineyards.

As always, the grounds and gardens are lovely and there are very comfortable chairs and tables outside, so you can really enjoy sitting and reading or talking outdoors. In addition, several rooms have private patios. We have stayed in the Bordeaux room twice (a favorite since it has a private patio and is further away from the road) and also in the Diosa Suite (which we actually don't care for -- we found it too dark, and it doesn't offer enough more to justify the additional cost). Per some earlier reviews, I probably did notice a few nicks and scuff marks here and there in the room, but I'd still say the rooms are in excellent condition (and yes, maybe the old air conditioning units are a bit noisy). As comfortable as we are in the room, having the inn's main living room and outdoor spaces available to us makes the inn feel even more spacious.

In our experience, the wine and hors d'oeuvres time is second to none. On this last visit, we had 3 or 4 terrific items, with lots available so that we could take what we wanted and not feel like we were allotted 2 bites per person (as we have felt in some other places). In the evening, when we got back from dinner downtown, there was coffee, tea and sweets left in the living room - which we've always experienced and a touch we like so much.

In the morning, coffee, tea and scones were set out early; we came down to get some, then went to our private patio to read for a while before having our delicious breakfast outdoors on the main patio.

In our experience, the staff has always been very pleasant and friendly, available to help (they offered to make dinner reservations, although I'd made some already) or to leave you alone in your privacy.

All things included, we think Summerwood offers a great product in a lovely setting -- and a great base for exploring the Paso Robles wine region. It's also not a long drive at all to the coast, Cambria, Cayucos etc.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed here for one night during our road trip down the west coast of the USA.
It is a beautiful setting in lush green vineyards. The house is immaculate and the rooms are pure luxury. We stayed in Twilight which has a balcony.
The staff are all very helpful and warm.
Drinks and food are served throughout the day which are of a very high standard - the chocolate truffles are to die for!
We had a complimentary bottle of red wine in our room - I'm not sure if this is because it was our anniversary or if it's standard.
We had a disaster - my husband knocked a glass of the wine onto the wall and cream carpet. We set to work scrubbing and it came out of the plush carpets - they must be very high quality but we could not get it off the wall. We decided to fess up! It was about 11.30 pm so he went and told the girl on duty - she was great and was only worried it was bothering us. I've been waiting to hear from them - expecting that we will be charged but as she said - they would sort it out the next day - which I imagine would mean painting over it. As I said the rooms were immaculate and I am sure they would not leave stains for the next guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
8.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
1.5 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.1 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
5.0 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerwood Winery & Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerwood Winery & Inn

Property: Summerwood Winery & Inn
Address: 2130 Arbor Rd, Highway 46 West and Arbor Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446-8617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,249 - ₹ 24,801
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerwood Winery & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Summerwood Winery & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerwood Winery Hotel Paso Robles
Summerwood Winery And Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing