We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasting Menu with Wines” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Laurent

Bistro Laurent
Ranked #13 of 191 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southern California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu with Wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is an exceptional value. French dining at its best. The service is not overly friendly, but warm and nice. The staff tries not to intrude on your table, but they make sure you are happy and they smile when they find that you are. Of course, they know that you are - the food is wonderful. The lobster salad was suggested and it certainly exceeded my expectation. The foie gras pate salad was delicious. The escargot was quite different, plentiful. The veal cheeks were so flavorful. The wine selections were all excellent (I'm a wine snob and I was very pleased with the wines). The staff set the bottle on the table so you could look at what you were served. The value of the tasting menu with wine is the way to go here. The dining room is small and pretty. The staff, as I said, does not intrude or boast. They let the food and wine do the work - and it does.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank whocareswhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    62
    23
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High Marks to the food, not so high for the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This would have been a higher rated review had the service been commensurate with the food. The service wasn't bad, per se, but the wait staff appeared to be in training. A couple of examples. Over the time of a five course meal we were never asked if everything was satisfactory. During one of the courses, one of our party of four found an item described as crispy so be soggy instead. This was related to the wait staff who said that they would tell the chef. There was no response to the issue. A high end restaurant should have high end service. At this time, the service is lacking.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbill92886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely French bistro in heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had one of the tasting menus here on a recent Saturday night, complete with the wine pairings. Everything food item was perfect, and the wine pairings were poured directly from the bottle and explained by the manager/sommelier, which is what I prefer. It was a mix of local and European wines. He even gave us an extra taste to go with the cheese plate we added on. Particularly memorable was the lobster first course. I love the brick interior. My only reason to not give 5 stars is that some of the service seemed a little less than warm, depending on who you were dealing with. Compared to a comparable meal in the SF Bay Area, this was a great value also!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnetheRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow! Great French bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had a fine meal here on a Thursday evening in January. Had no reservation but arrived early. Soon all tables were full. The food was marvelous as were the wine selections. Delightful evening.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Archie's Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“May be the best resaurant in the County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Traditional french bistro, yummy! My husband and I have been going here for over 15 years. Steak with pomme frites and peppercorn sauce is my fave. Food is always excellent and the service is impeccable. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank TheGidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Laurent also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Bistro Laurent? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing