We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better B&Bs in Paso Robles for the price paid at Desperado Inn”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Butch Cassidy room and our friends stayed at the Sundance Kid room, and we both have the same observations. The pictures for these accommodations do now show the real state the rooms are right now or from what was described on the internet sites. The beds were squeaky, sheets flimsy, and the pillows have seen better days. The carpet is in desperate need of cleaning/replacing. Light brown carpets with big spots everywhere (pets are allowed in rooms for an additional fee). Towels are very thin and they do not get changed during your stay even if you ask (we stayed 2 nights, 3 days). There are toiletries in the bathroom but they seem to be leftover from other guests...half empty bottles of lotion, shampoo and conditioner. One small soap for our entire stay.

The coffee machine was a nice touch, however, I found lipstick on one of the cups i picked up. So i decided to forego the coffee till breakfast. Breakfast had fresh orange juice and something that Tom (the owner) described as his version of mexican breakfast burrito. Not good, all 4 of us had the juice and decided to stop somewhere else to eat. Although Tom was very polite, his entire breakfast conversation was his pitch for his side business: the rolls royce tour of Paso Robles.

During our stay the weather was very cold at night (not your normal weather for Southern California), Tom turned the heat on for about an hour at night and they he would turn it on refusing to let any guests touch the thermostat. We had to pull out the small heater in the bathroom to heat up the bedroom.

I would like to give 0 stars to this review, however, the 2 stars i am giving is for the location and the beautiful views from the gazebo.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheGr8tOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2016

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Desperado Inn. We stayed in the desperado room. The heating was not working properly and it was very cold. Tom was not around when we arrived and just found the key in the door. The next morning Tom explained he just installed solar, which might have something to do with that. Take note that there is no thermostat in the room so you cannot control the temp yourself. The room is dingy and dated. There is no closet, just a portable clothing rack. The bathroom was dirty with mismatched old towels and washcloths. The toilet bowl was in need of scrubbing inside... A very unpleasant sight.
The next day Tom did make a breakfast which consisted of a tortilla with an over cooked egg and burnt cheese on top, 2 very small slices of bacon, one slice of very burnt toast and a few slices of banana mixed with some flavored yogurt. There were no rolls or jams, or any options. I couldn't eat it and my husband did but said it wasn't very filling (and he is a small eater). The next morning breakfast was a tortilla wrapped around potato cubes and some kind of canned refried beans. Again not edible. We did each get one very small glass of orange juice and no fresh brewed coffee... Just the Keurig to make a cup of coffee. This is hardly the sumptuous breakfast he describes on the website.
We should have read the reviews beforehand but made the plans with only a few weeks notice. This is also why we did not notice earlier that this inn is nowhere near the majority of tasting rooms (we came to go winetasting) and is pretty far south east of the town of Paso Robles. It seems to be closer to Atascadero than Paso. So for $209 per night it was absolutely not worth it.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This was one of the most horrible experiences we have ever had. The owners were in Europe and manager they had in place never showed up to give us our room. We spent 3 hours waiting around. The place looked deserted and run down. No one showed up or return our numerous voice mails. We ended up having to book another place for over $100 more per night, but the owner never cared about our out of pocket expense once he came back to the property the next day. He texted us and lectured me on why I shouldn't make a big deal out of not having a room for the night. I am sure he will respond with some lies and excuses but take it from me, there are many better places than a place that hurts their prospective clients and does not care about it. If you risk booking this place, call the night before and make sure they will be there (a tasting room man at Still Water, just down the hill from them told us this has happened before). Stay away!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank normaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

So I purchased a Groupon offer and once I contacted the owner Tom he went on about how Groupon did not work out for him as a business owner. ( from the first time I spoke to him on the phone, via text, and during our stay) As a guest this was not a first great impression, I felt like we were an inconvenience.

Once we were near the area I tried calling the owner about an hour before the arrival check-in time of 4:00 pm- No answer. Stopped by the house around 3:00 pm and found hand written note on the door stating check in was at 4:00. We arrived at 4:10 and were not the only couple waiting outside for him to open. NOTE: Make plans to hangout else where if you arrive more than 15 minutes early.

PROS: The house itself is beautiful. Location is gorgeous. Bathrooms were clean and spacious but the toiletries were not good. Full size bottles of mix matched Rain Shampoo, Avon lotion, and other random brands... It would be nice if quality products were available. Towels were good quality.

There are cobwebs all over the outdoor/ patio furniture and the furniture inside needed dusting. The pool was not clean and there was algae on the bottom.
Seat cushions and sofas appear to need a good vacuuming/ shampooing/cleaning.
Breakfast was beautifully presented but it was just fruit and yogurt, not a full breakfast.
Bedding- mattress was springy and pillow cases were mix matched. Sheets were super thin too.
I asked for our wine tasting coupons and never received.

Will not return as there was not really a good memorable reason to.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ewallace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We really wanted to have a good experience here. Tom was very friendly on the phone, and we looked forward to a good time. Unfortunately, the inn has not been kept up as it should. We had hoped to use the pool on those hot days, but the water was not only dirty and in need of cleaning, it also had algae growing in the bottom of the pool. The pool and patio chairs were full of cobwebs and the cushions were torn and dirty. Tom did provide a nice bottle of wine, and good recommendations for restaurants and wineries. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, and the inn has beautiful panoramic views of the valley.

Room Tip: Outside rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivierleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
15.7 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
10.8 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.9 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
661 reviews
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 14,099 - ₹ 22,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing