We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly run down!”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We really wanted to have a good experience here. Tom was very friendly on the phone, and we looked forward to a good time. Unfortunately, the inn has not been kept up as it should. We had hoped to use the pool on those hot days, but the water was not only dirty and in need of cleaning, it also had algae growing in the bottom of the pool. The pool and patio chairs were full of cobwebs and the cushions were torn and dirty. Tom did provide a nice bottle of wine, and good recommendations for restaurants and wineries. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, and the inn has beautiful panoramic views of the valley.

Room Tip: Outside rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivierleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

We booked it based on the gorgeous pictures and description on the website. Anyhow, the condition of the hotel isn’t as quite as described.

Cons
• The main concern I have is the lack of privacy. The middle section of the door is semitransparent and the bed is just next to it. The sunlight also came in the morning and woke us up.
• The room is bigger than the normal hotel but there is only one chair and nowhere to sit except to sit on the bed
• The 27” inch TV is dated and small and the sound went out every 15 minutes or so but worked again after we powered it off and on
• There is no AC in the unit so we have to open the window to let the cool air in.
• The outdoor patio is nice but there are way too many furniture out there and the whole place feels cramped.
• Hot breakfast was served but it didn’t’ live up to the bed & breakfast standard. The coffee mugs/cups have stains and are dirty
• The location is a bit off downtown and away from the majority of the wineries although there is one just next to it.

Pro
• There is a swimming pool outside but no extra towels are provided to the guest.
• The patio view is pretty good.
• The bed is fairly comfortable and the room is clean

For the price we paid, I am disappointed at this establishment. From the pictures on the website, the inn might have its glory back then but need some up keeping.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gracie-Oreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Very nice B&B in vineyard country close to Paso Robles. Lots of wildlife. Nice rooms and very relaxing. Nice breakfast by the owner and wine tours by Rolks Royce if you are so inclined. All in all a relaxing and pleasant experience.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KDW105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

OLD and worn out needs real care not weed cutters acting as host. Has house rules that make your stay seem like you have gone home to Mom. I would suggest better B & B 's in the area that are truly customer friendly and kept up. Tom is tired and needs to drive his old car around looking for business,

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

A bit out of the way, but a pleasant drive through the rolling hills of the east side. The B&B is on a hill with great views. We stayed in one of the larger rooms off the main house. It was comfortable and very quiet. The breakfast and conversation with the owner were most enjoyable. A good value.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kdk90814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
15.7 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
10.8 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.9 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
661 reviews
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 14,099 - ₹ 22,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing