We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wine tasting and accommodations at Desperado Inn!”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Stayed in The Butch Cassidy Room and it was lovely and very comfortable! The house is truly amazing inside and out! Mr. Rigby made two amazing breakfasts for everyone. If you are in a hurry to get fed before you have plans for the day, you need to let him know as it is a very laid back atmosphere and he waits until you are up and about before starting the fresh coffee and breakfast :-)

Room Tip: Use Uber or wine tours to drive you around to avoid a DUI :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 50nHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Thanks guys for being with us. Check out our new services. We hope you return again this season.
Cheers;
Desperado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here a couple nights as we attended the Oyster festival in Avila beach and the pinot and paella festival in Templeton. Very clean and quiet. Good sized room, however, no way to adjust room thermostat. Just a few miles from restaurants and wineries making it a convenient place to stay. Tom the proprietor makes a lovely breakfast with local goodies.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Overall, we were very comfortable staying here. We found the owner, Tom, to be gracious and pleasant - we liked him very much. This property has beautiful views and it is quiet. However, we felt the accommodations were a bit shabby. We stayed in Katchina. The bedframe was cheap and squeaky; however, the bed itself was comfortable. There were only 2 hangers in the room to hang clothing (although, I'm sure if we asked we could have gotten more). Ambiance was lacking in the room - no nice touches or linens. The paint on one wall was chipped and the wall color was dark - making the entire room dark and uninviting. It was also hot in the room - we did open the back door the 2nd night and we did get a fan, which made it more comfortable. There was no counter space in the bathroom. The pedestal sink was chipped and could easily fall off the base. The property grounds overall needs some love too. The furniture in the backyard is old; however, the pool was nice and we did swim. The plants in the front were dead and there were empty pots with spider webs - it looked sloppy. Overall, we would say this property is a 2.5 - 3 star, because the view and host made up for what it lacked in other areas. Just a little bit of clean up and some nicer touches in the room would bring this property to a justified price of $270 a night - right now, it's a better deal at $150.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toonage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Manager at Desperado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Thanks for being with us, we enjoyed getting t know you and hope you return. Please check out our recent added service offerings, namely our Rolls ROyce wine touring cars, and free DISH TV premium TV!! next time we hope to earn 4 stars!
Cheers;
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Should have read reviews before making reservation. We have been to at least 40 to 50 B&Bs and this was the worst one ever. Owner did not answer door when we arrived, tried calling both numbers and no one answered. Drove around for half an hour, drove back and called and he finally answered phone. Was at Inn whole time. Looked like he just woke up (also had same clothes on next day). Has sign on door back at 4:00 p.m. that was never removed. Bed clothes looked like they weren't changed. Had heater running all night long outside our room, could not sleep, found fan in closet which he uses for storage, no place to put clothes, had to live out of suitcase. Room was filthy. Agree with all other comments regarding breakfast and wine hour. The worst ever. Husand couldn't even eat breakfast second day. We were going to leave but met the nicest couple our first night there and became friends with them and couldn't leave without saying goodbye. Tom said coffee would be ready by 7:30 went out several times between then and 8:30 and it wasn't there. He rations everything. He even accused us of taking all the coffee like we were putting it in a thermos and leaving with it. Did not want to make more. He said the carafe he used held 12 cups when in fact it probably only held 4 full cups. A host should at least provide all his guests with the opportunity to have 2 full cups of coffee and not accuse guests of stealing. We will be contacting Living Social to remove him from their list and make sure he doesn't change his name again to get by them (it was previously 2 different names). The best part of the inn was the view and meeting a couple that we are keeping in touch with and planning on meeting at another, much better, B&B in the future. Paso Robles is a nice area. His free coupons are a joke. Would recommend staying at Cambria Pines Lodge in Cambria which provides full buffet breakfast in a.m. and also dinner (this is very close to wineries and Paso Robles), or any other B&B in Paso Robles. Run from this place. Camping in a tent would be better.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Manager at Desperado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

I could not disagree more. This nothing more than a RANT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

I travelled with my husband and 2 friends to the Desperado Inn and we really had no complaints. The property is located in a very quiet area and quite high up allowing for some spectacular views. Tom was really friendly and joined us for his homemade gourmet breakfasts. There is no TV as such in the rooms as he doesnt have a tv feed which was quite refreshing. He has a large library of movies which were free to use...and we did. The beds are very comfortable and one of us enjoyed the jacuzzi style baths in the rooms. Nice and central for all the wineries, Paso Robles and Cambria....would definately consider this trip again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
15.7 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
10.8 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.9 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
660 reviews
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 14,202 - ₹ 22,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing