We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and peaceful place to getaway from it all.”
Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Wonderful serene property, accommodations welcoming and private. The view from the Desperato Inn is absolutely amazing if you are looking for a relaxed getaway that is far enough away from it all yet a hop jump and a skip away from town this is the place for you. Tom is the perfect host, he has multi talents, he has wonderful people skills, great cook and plays guitars with passion. He can suggest great local wineries, restaurants ect. I would highly recommend the Desperato Inn.

Room Tip: The Desperado Room is great, I love the private entrance and back door to little patio as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

I loved the Paso Robles area when I was here for business last year. So when my wife found this place I jumped at the chance. We booked a six night stay at the Desperado Inn for our 10 year anniversary. It has been an amazing stay. Tom's a gracious and wonderful host. The property is beautiful and very convenient to the area wineries and scenic destinations.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarkusWelbyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Like other posters here, I read the reviews after purchasing a living social deal. I'm considering asking for our money back, our stay was so poor. Here's our accumulated pros and cons list:

Cons
• Owner had to be reminded to say good morning the first morning, didn't even acknowledge us the next. You're in the hospitality business, be at least slightly hospitable!!!
• There was a dead rat in the pool that I had to ask to be removed. I was going to go in, but not after seeing a dead rodent.
• Skimpy skimpy portions. As in, a quarter of an apple and an ounce of cheese during social hour. Like I mentioned before, be hospitable! I'm on a diet yes, but I still give myself larger portions! And don't get me started on the breakfast. The first day, my mom and I sat through the awkwardness but we didn't even try the second morning. I highly recommend going to Panolivo, it's in downtown paso.
• Bugs bugs bugs. Don't get me wrong, I expect a certain amount of bugs being in central California. But the amount of bugs in our room was abhorrent. Have you ever woken up to an earwig on your nose? Or a giant mosquito eater thingy attacking you in the showe? Let me assure you, it's terrifying.
• Our room didn't have wifi access after being reassured it did "and we were the first to complain about it". In order to catch up on work, I had to sit like a shmuck in the main house in my pajamas.
* the "free wine tastings" were not actually free, just coupons that were for tasting rooms that offered free wine tastings anyways.
• 30 dollar cash/check only "tax" that was thrown at us upon our arrival. That was totally unprofessional and unneeded. Why not ask for it at check out?

One thing my mom and I can't decide on is Max the cat. I'm an animal person and enjoyed his shenanigans, my mom is not. But we both agreed that his presence could throw a large monkey wrench in plans for someone allergic to cats.

The Pros:
•Beautiful location
•Quiet
•Close to wineries

But even the courtyard marriot off the 101 has that. So take our advice: DO NOT STAY HERE. RUN AWAYYYYY.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
6  Thank Yahudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you for your review. As the owner of Desperado Inn it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, since we care so much about our customers and want to provide value and satisfaction for every one of them. However, I believe we can always improve, so I will share your thoughts with our team to see how we can enhance our customer experience in the future. Respectfully, Desperado Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Overall beautiful place. The room was great, gorgeous view, and central location for other wineries. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Only issue we had were frozen pipes preventing us from an early shower, but it helped to keep water dripping overnight for the following morning. Also, if you're allergic to cats, like I am, be prepared because there's a house cat in the main house. Other than that, it's a great little place to stay at while enjoying the various wineries. No cable but there is a DVD player in the room. If you want to relax and unplug, it's perfect. Although vouchers were offered for wineries, we didn't need then since most of the locations offer free tastings.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nsalguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We had a great time at Desperado Inn. It is a small bed and breakfast, with a nice and friendly atmosphere. The place is located on a beautiful hill with a great view of the area and wineries. The room was clean and well maintained. Also the owner took great care of us and was really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marj0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
15.7 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#4 of 30 in Paso Robles
182 reviews
10.8 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.9 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
660 reviews
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range: ₹ 14,210 - ₹ 22,607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing