We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of Tuscany in Paso Robles”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
“A bit of Tuscany in Paso Robles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Spectacular property and host. The morning food is prepared with fresh herbs from the estate's garden in the finest tradition one usually finds in European fine B&B settings. The views, serenity and environment were perfect for us. Helpful with places to visit and local restaurants we felt as if we were visiting old friends. Definately a wonderful place to plant your bags and wander the vineyards and sample the tastings. You won't regret the visit, if lucky enough you may hear the host play his interpretations of classical, jazz and flamingo influenced acoustic guitars!

Room Tip: Arrive early, enjoy the views and sample some of Tom's crafted wines by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We spent 3 nights stay at Villa Valdermosa. The B&B is in a lovely setting about 8 miles east of Paso Robles. The view from the back patio is truly stunning. There are five rooms which range in size and appointments. Our room was nicely sized with a refrigerator, TV monitor for watching DVDs, but only one chair. My brother’s room was fairly small and Spartan with mostly a bed and end tables. The room pricing reflects these differences. The inn has tremendous potential, but alas in what is billed as a high end B&B it is the details that are important.
When we arrived, the proprietor was on his way out for the evening, and for most of day and in the evening there are no other employees. He left a bottle of wine, directed us to our rooms and told us that breakfast would be at 9:30 and coffee available at 8:30. Unfortunately, we discovered after he left that there was no toilet paper in our room. There was also none in the public bathroom in the main house and only the roll in use in my brother’s room. The innkeeper mentioned before leaving that he was sorry if there was anything amiss because had a new housekeeper that “doesn’t quite get it”. He then left his untrained dog tied up in the kitchen. When we returned from dinner, the proprietor was still out and the dog barked constantly until after midnight when he returned.
The next day when we returned back to the inn we found our rooms had never been made up. I’m not sure I believe there is a new housekeeper that “doesn’t get it”. There may not be a housekeeper at all. Even if there is, there are only five rooms and it would take the proprietor only a few minutes to run through each one after the “housekeeper” is finished to verify her work has been done satisfactorily; or at all. Additionally, our room had two bath mats and no hand towels, we had to request toilet tissue a second time during our stay, and the lever controlling the water pressure in my brother’s shower is not actually attached and comes off in your hand.
The breakfast was consistently good, however 9:30 is a little on the late side. Other guests commented on this as well. On our last morning, the innkeeper gave the person who assists with breakfast (the only other employee we saw) the day off. He did not get his act together to compensate, so breakfast was not until 10 and did not warn us until 9:30. This threw a minor crimp in our schedule for the day.
The proprietor told us on our arrival that he had spent the previous two days on his sailboat. He later said he intended to spend the next two after we left on the boat. Perhaps if he spent less time on his sailboat and more time attending to Villa Valermosa it could live up to its great potential. I have noted that others have left very positive reviews and feel one could have a great experience here on days when the proprietor is on point. Sadly, our experience did not reach this level.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SCGolfGirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner at Desperado Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
It is unfortunate that this visitor had so many problems here. Much of their report is exaggerated and untruthful. The writer was constantly arguing with her husband, which made other guests ncmfortable.
Their stay was on a groupon coupon and they stayed the 3rd night as their choice AFTER spending two evenings here. We did have a new person on board, as a temp due to my regular person being out with the flu. This party was clearly not used to,and did not understand the B&B model, which became obvious when the lady in the party wanted to know about room service and other features that are hotel oriented. When her husband tried to tell her this was not a hotel she told him "so what"-When she said there was no toilet paper in her room we took care of it right away. That particular period was also a week in which I had off site obligations which forced me to be away during part of the day and evening. This review is similar to the other one with similar complaints. You just can't please all the people all the time, even when they are getting a 50% discount. Sad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paso Robles hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times. All I can say is Wow... we love this place! Can't wait to get the chance to spend another weekend at Villa Valdemosa. Tom is a great inn keeper and knows his business inside and out. Also, fantastic food at this bed and breakfast. All said, this place is second to none in the area and we've tried many others in Paso Robles over the passed five years. R

Room Tip: Any you choose, you can't loose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytourschedule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great food, friendly host, overall good experience

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Tom and villa valedomsa are amazing! We stayed in Nov and had a wonderful time. We hauled our Harley and he was so wonderful he made space for us to keep it parked in his c
Garage due to rain that weekend. When the weather cleared he pulled out his bike and took us on a great wine tour! His breakfast is phenomenal! We felt liken we were visiting our favorite uncle. Our room was perfect and very romantic. Thank you Tom and we cant wait to visit you again this spring. See you soon, Michelle & Phil

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
10.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
18.6 km away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
17.9 km away
San Marcos Creek Vineyard & Winery
15.7 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,743 - ₹ 19,642
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing