We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B+B I ever stayed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best B+B I ever stayed”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Do you like small romantic country roads? Do you like peaceful and hidden places on hills surrounded by vineyards? Do you like cats, dogs, goats and wild animals such as e.g. deers, birds and turkeys? Do you like feeling like coming home to your grandparents home? Do you like a cordial welcome? If you say five times yes, you will love Ann & George's B+B nearby Paso Robles.
On a ladies trip we arrived through rough roads in the late evening, so in the dark - GPS was not working on the last few miles, but we enjoyed this kind of adventure  feeling - at this country house where we had the warmth welcome I ever can imagine. We instantly felt comfortable. Ann & George are amazing friendly people who are making you feel like coming home to your family's house. There are many extras such as fresh flowers, wine, fruits, mixed nuts, cheese and biscuits in your room as well as a fridge stocked with water, juices and sodas. In the morning you are having a delicious breakfast with them at their table and you will get to know a lot of usefull things about the region. You will have good conversations. Enjoy the calm and the view from the top of a hill over vineyards and countryside. I would even recommend this romantic place to honeymooners. If I'll be able to come back to California one day, I will definitely stay at Ann & George's B+B. This is the best B+B I have ever been to, wish I could live here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiWeWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
89
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were looking for a relaxing weekend in wine country, and we were so fortunate to have found it in Ann and George's Bed and Breakfast!

Ann and George are the loveliest, warmest hosts ever, and the property is new and immaculately maintained. It is also really private (I believe there are only one couples' room and another family room), so everything is really intimate. Perched on top of a little hill, it is so serene and private -- a great, relaxing and refreshing change from what we are used to in LA. The property overlooks a beautiful vineyard, which is absolutely wonderful to wake up to every morning.

Ann and George made us feel perfectly at home. We were greeted with a bottle of excellent red wine, as well as a cheese and fruit plate. Delectable! Also, George made us an amazing breakfast every morning (we had omelette the first morning and delicious cornmeal pancake the next). Did I also mention that George makes a killer virgin Blood Mary? What a great start to our day!

Now, there were some comments about the difficulty on getting to this B&B. We had no problems at all! All we had to do is to follow their directions on the website, and we got there without even much reference to our GPS. While the drive is on a dirt road, but it is definitely worth it, and even city folks like us got used to driving on it in no time! Plus, it is in beautiful, rustic wine country, so the drive was the least of our concerns.

Thank you Ann and George for everything! You made our weekend unforgettable and perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

When you book accommodation on the web you never really know what you're going to get. You can look at all the pictures and read all the reviews you want but until you get there and experience it first hand you can never be sure. We did all of the above before booking two nights at this B&B and boy are we glad we stayed. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Ann & George we were made to feel very welcome and the more Ann showed us around the place the more I felt we had made a great choice.

The house itself is located in their vineyard near the top of a hill with stunning views over the vineyard and beyond. It's a beautifully peaceful place and a lovely building to boot. We stayed in the ground floor room which has it's own front door so is effectively a private apartment. A lovely room with seating area, bathroom and really comfy bed plus plenty of room to store all your cases and still have room to move around.

Breakfast is served in the house and was a delight on both days. George really does the business on the cooked breakfast. I don't usually like French toast but his was fantastic. We had breakfast together on both days and I think the shortest was about an hour and half as they are both great fun and easy to talk to.

I can't begin to properly describe how much at home we were made to feel during our time here. It really was something special and not something you run across every day.

If you like staying at nice places(who doesn't !) and prefer an easy atmosphere where you can unwind, relax, and be left to your own devices if you want but enjoy nice company and great hospitality if you want to be sociable, then this is the place for you.

Ann and George, we had a fantastic stay with you and I only wish it could have been longer. Hopefully next time it will. Fingers crossed for a great harvest this year and for many to come. You both deserve it.

Oh and as for the drive up to the property that I note some people have remarked on.
Firstly I want to say that Ann had expressly told me to use the directions from their website because a GPS just wouldn't do it. She was spot on and so were the directions. The GPS had no idea.
Is it a dirt road? Yes it is. The house is located in a working vineyard on the top of a hill.
Is it a difficult drive? Well possibly if you find negotiating the parking lot at Wal Mart a challenge or adventure. Seriously, the drive is not an issue and you definitely do not need a four wheel drive vehicle. We had a Mustang and it seemed to do just fine, even in the dark!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justanothertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

It was our pleasure to stay at Ann & George's Bed & Breakfast this week. Ann and George are lovely people and made us feel like family during our time with them. This was my parents first time at a B & B, and it couldn't have been a better experience. The views from the home are stunning and the hospitality first rate.

We were welcomed with local wine, and a fruit and cheese tray before heading out for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was gourmet and artistically presented (scrambled eggs on potato skins with thick-sliced bacon, fresh fruit and freshly baked croissants, and juice and coffee) with a birthday candle inserted in my Mother's food along with a Happy Birthday serenade!

We would absolutely plan on staying with Ann and George again--and we look forward to it.

Room Tip: One of the guest rooms is on the main level of the home (with a private entrance), the other require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The web site says that to access this B&B you will "travel down a narrow country road". It does not say that the final stretch of at least 1/2 mile or more is on a rutted dirt road up a steep hill. And yes that road is VERY narrow. We traveled this road during the day to get to the site to check in. We were attending a wedding and would be coming back to the B&B twice late at night following the rehearsal dinner and the wedding reception. The road is not lighted and has thin reflectors along it's outside. We could not imagine driving back in the evening. We did not want to make the drive in the dark and cancelled the reservation. If you do choose to stay at Ann & George's, we would recommend a 4 wheel drive vehicle and a strong set of nerves driving in the evening back to this place.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S0ftball28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
We regret this couple found it difficult to drive up to our home.
The last 1/2 mile of road to our Bed and Breakfast is safe for any vehicle from a small car to a stretch limousine. In seven years of running a Bed and Breakfast we have never had any problems with this country road, day or night. We hope this critical comment of our road will not deter you from considering coming to our peaceful home with a wonderful view and cordial atmosphere.
Ann and George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
12.0 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
7.9 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.5 km away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
7.5 km away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
6.4 km away
Summerwood Winery & Inn
Summerwood Winery & Inn
#5 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ann and George's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1965 Niderer Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9652
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,282 - ₹ 14,221
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located on Rancho de Voladores Vineyard located on eighty secluded acres of some of Paso Robles most beautiful mountain country. Whether green in the spring or golden in the fall, the views are enhanced by faraway mountains, open vineyards and nearby oak trees. Spacious quarters with private baths. Full style breakfast served on deck, weather permitting. Wine and snacks provided. Peace and quiet are two of our favorite amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing