We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful San Pasqual Salad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marston's

Marston's
Ranked #19 of 693 Restaurants in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful San Pasqual Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Really neat and charming spot. Open lunch and breakfast. Limited parking and there is usually a wait. Absolutely fabulous San Pasqual salad with chicken and candied walnuts as the star ingredients. Great burgers and special tuna sandwiches. Lots to choose from the menu and daily additions. Wonderful cheese rolls with every lunch meal For breakfast the French toast is not to be missed
Place is small which adds to charm. It is a converted house with a front porch available for dining. Hope you get Merilee as waitress, She is ageless and will always remember you when you return

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    76
    29
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Just kind of eh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The food here is good, but I can't stand it because of the environment. It's too crowded and there are too many people crammed into a small space. It's definitely not a place to go if you want to relax.

Helpful?
Thank Loves_Travel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth repeat visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We liked this place for breakfast and returned after a first try (which says a lot). Canadian bacon, over easy eggs were great, the pancakes were good, but a gargantuan serving. (We learned afterwards that you can order a short stack of pancakes, but that it is not listed on the menu. The short stack would be the perfect portion for most people.) Cheerful prompt service, and a low-key ambiance that surprised me, given that you (can) sit on the porch of the restaurant right on a busy street. But it works. They have moved into dinner a few nights a week as an experiment to see how that works. Breakfast works, and it seems to be a neighborhood spot for power breakfasts of a less than high octane nature.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“San Pasquale salad dressing is the BEST”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I received San Pasquale salad dressing from Marston's as a BIRTHDAY gift, sound weird? just try this stuff on the San Pasquale salad in charming, crowded, sunny vintage old home on Walnut Street in Pasadena near Old Town----you like me will be happy to purchase your own bottle to take home!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AltadenaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good But Not Quite the Best Breakfast in America”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My son and daughter in law took me to Marston's based on their Best Breakfast title. We had to wait about 20 minutes, which was not unreasonable being that it was Sunday morning. I had the Macadamia Nut Pancakes with eggs. The pancakes were very good and the eggs were eggs...done the way I like them but still just eggs. All in all, it was a good place to eat but I wouldn't rate it the Best. A little pricey too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mise48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marston's also viewed

 

Been to Marston's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing