We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Pasadena
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
USA Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Pasadena was a two-day stop on a two week work/fun trip to the Los Angeles area. We liked the ease of access to the northern part of LA and there were some nice things to do in the city itself (although we were disappointed when we realized the museums were closed the day we wanted to visit (not anyone's fault but check before). The hotel itself was just OK - clean "enough" but the feeling that taking care of the hotel is starting to become lax. I think this hotel could quickly become second rate. We like the discount we got at a nearby local restaurant (that was excellent). The neighborhood was also just OK with quite a few vagrants begging for money on the street. The free breakfast was lousy - nothing healthy to eat (all the cereal was sugar coated). The kind of place I would stay only if I had to.

Room Tip: Not sure about the neighborhood and street is noisy so suggest room off the ground floor and away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todieinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopasadena, General Manager at Howard Johnson Pasadena, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, I am sorry your experience with us was not great. I want to personally apologize for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction during your stay. We really appreciate your business and feedbacks. We will try to add more healthy choices in the breakfast, and make improvements in other areas you have mentioned too.

Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    327
    172
    61
    29
See reviews for
295
164
74
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Logandale
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very clean and comfortable rooms. We've stayed here before. When we mentioned that we were repeat customers they gave us a free room upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gschwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopasadena, General Manager at Howard Johnson Pasadena, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your business and feedbacks. We are very glad that your experience with us is good. We’d hope to have the chance to serve you again. Please keep us in mind when you visit Pasadena next time.

Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were only staying in Pasadena for one night. I got on Trip Advisor to find an inexpensive motel for the night. This motel was running a special for $68/night. We reserved a room with the special rate. Upon arriving, the desk clerk told us that we had been upgraded...for no reason! Upon entering our room, we were very pleasantly surprised with the accommodations....it was extremely modern, updated and very clean. We had just stayed in another hotel in Palm Springs that week and had spent 3x's as much for far less quality. However, we did notice some other rooms (the guests had left their doors open). Those rooms had not been updated and I would have been very disappointed had I received one of these rooms. I hope you have a similar experience as to the one we had! Also, the hotel is in a great location...a short drive to downtown Pasadena where all of the great shops and dining are located!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuzilovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopasadena, General Manager at Howard Johnson Pasadena, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your business and feedbacks. We are very glad that your experience with us is good. We’d hope to have the chance to serve you again. Please keep us in mind when you visit Pasadena next time.

Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel was listed as another hotel in the AAA book. It was listed as the Westway Inn. It has changed hands. I found the location about 2 miles from the center of the area with much activity. It is about 3 miles from The Norman Simon Museum. That is the reason I was here. On Friday the museum closes at 8pm. To have a full day it was nice to end at the museum. The HJ is across from a large library. It is off East Colorado. I would ask for a room off the road. It has a comfortable pillow and bed. Pool very small. I did not go for the pool. Room nice size. Breakfast has waffle maker, cold cereal, juice coffee and tea. Eating room has a bathroom and a TV. Front desk helpful. Room very clean. It was full. I managed to get the last room as a walk in on a Friday night at 8pm. It had a microwave, refrig coffee maker with tea an TV. Walk down the street and there is a restaurant that serves American food fare. People here were also going to a convention. I believe the convention center is close but not sure. The Saga Hotel is right next door and about the same price but no refrig. in the room and breakfast basic. Pasadena is a nice town.

Room Tip: Off main road get room off the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishtea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopasadena, General Manager at Howard Johnson Pasadena, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your business and feedbacks. We are very glad that your experience with us is good. We’d hope to have the chance to serve you again. Please keep us in mind when you visit Pasadena next time.

Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Spent one Friday night. Front desk person was super helpful. Shared a lot of information about local eateries and gave us discounts at several, courtesy of our stay at HoJo's. Just as an aside we had breakfast at Novel and OMG! it was delish and HUGE! The room was clean, altho there was a bit of a funky smell in the bathroom. Loved the soaking tub though, very comfy and deep. They have a "barbie" sized swimming pool, Literally! About the same size as their spa pool. Room rate was very reasonable and location was great! Walking distance to lots of stuff.

Room Tip: Pets are an extra $24 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausalito2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojopasadena, General Manager at Howard Johnson Pasadena, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your business and feedbacks. We are very glad that your experience with us is good. We’d hope to have the chance to serve you again. Please keep us in mind when you visit Pasadena next time.

Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
3.0 km away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
1.2 km away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.3 km away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
1,206 reviews
2.8 km away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#10 of 31 in Pasadena
287 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Pasadena

Property: Howard Johnson Pasadena
Address: 1599 E Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91106 (Formerly Westway Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,898 - ₹ 14,191
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Howard Johnson Pasadena proudly sports 60 guest rooms, 18 of which are suites that overlook Colorado Blvd, a perfect location to view the annual Rose Parade. Directly across from the Pasadena City College, we are a stone's throw away from Cal Tech campus and Huntington Library Botanical Garden, and less than two miles away from Old Town Pasadena, Civic Center Auditorium, a short drive away from the Rose Bowl, and Santa Anita Park race track. Enjoy the beauty of Pasadena through easily accessible dining, entertainment, and shopping districts. Check-in time - 2pm Check-out time - 11am Guests must be 18 years or older with a valid government I.D. and Credit Card to check-in. Hotel Amenities: Free WiFi internet access, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking, Elevator, Cable TV, Pool and Spa, Suites include sitting area with couch and coffee table, Walking proximity to various restaurants, lounges, and bars, Perfect location for visiting campuses or attending graduation, Conference room, Local Attractions: •Pasadena City College --PCC-- 0 Miles •California Institute of Technology --Cal Tech-- 0.1 Miles •Huntington Library Art Gallery and Botanical Gardens - 0.3 Miles •Old Town Pasadena - 1.5 Miles•Pasadena Civic Center Auditorium / Convention Center - 1.5 Miles •Rose Bowl - 2.5 Miles •Santa Anita Park Race track - 5 Miles •Dodgers Stadium - 8 Miles •Downtown Los Angeles - 10 Miles •Staples Center - 12 Miles •Universal Studios Hollywood - 16 Miles •Beverly Hills - 20 Miles •Santa Monica Pier - 25 Miles •LAX - 28 Miles •Disneyland - 36 Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westway Hotel Pasadena
Westway Inn Pasadena
Westway Motel Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing