We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a 3.5......”
Review of Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Really a 3.5......”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I would say I had an acceptable week-long stay at the Cardinal. The room was affordable and had everything I needed for a business visit to the area. However, there was nothing stellar about the staff or rooms that is worth noting. Plus the charge for the wifi was freaking annoyin......

Here is a summary of what I liked:
- Fun, historic hotel.
- Simple but well equipped rooms.
- GREAT location in downtown Palo Alto, near Caltrain, shopping, restaurants, etc.

And disliked:
- $5 for wifi access is redic in Silicon Valley, come on.
- Desk staff seems annoyed when you ask to store your luggage, check-out, check-in, whatever. It's just not welcoming.
- No AC (though they did have a ceiling fan), which was fine for the week I was there. I imagine it would be rough on the 3rd floor on hot summer nights - though I know that those are fairly rare on this part of the peninsula.

Anyway, I would stay again just because of the location and the great rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    79
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
29
28
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Clean, but minimal amenities. Staff was professional, but less than friendly. Lack of air conditioning required open window, but outside noise from adjacent pub made sleep difficult. Don't pay extra for the breakfast. Restaurant (Maxine's) is not part of hotel and the food is very poor. Parking requires searching for an open space on the street or one of the nearby public lots, and is limited to 2 hour increments between 8am and 5pm.

Room Tip: Make sure room includes bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was by far the cleanest hotel, with so much charm and character.
I liked being able to walk all over Palo Alto - I suspect on the weekends it could be loud, but we were there mid-week and it was fine.

A very cool hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

First of all, this is a really neat historic hotel in a top location. Room was charming, the lobby is cool looking, funky elevator, and you're within walking distance of everything in downtown Palo Alto. The negatives: parking and THE noise. I parked overnight in the community lot across the street, so it was no problem because I checked in late and checked out early. Not sure how you would handle this if you need to park for longer. The second thing that REALLY bothered me was the noise in the hotel. The people above us started walking around at 3 am, and because of the wooden floors, you could hear every single step, from the window to the bathroom, to the sink, back to the window, opening the closet. If I ever stayed there again, I would only stay in a top floor room. Oh, and at 6 am, the alley which our room overlooked came to life (garbage pick-up, delivery, I don't know).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travl4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is absolutely charming. The rooms are warm and cozy and delicious coffee is provided each morning in the lobby. Please check out the beautiful fireplace, old phone booths and switchboard. You can park your car for free and stroll through beautiful Palo Alto. We highly recommend Evvia restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 km away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.4 km away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
386 reviews
3.7 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
189 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
645 reviews
1.0 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel

Property: Cardinal Hotel
Address: 235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,656 - ₹ 23,837
Hotel Class:2 star — Cardinal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm in vibrant downtown Palo Alto. Built in 1924, the Cardinal was Palo Alto’s premiere Hotel. Today the ambiance remains; the gracious lobby still provides a delightful glimpse of Old Palo Alto. Enjoy the hotel’s warm atmosphere and proximity to world class dining, shopping and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing