We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overall”
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Bed was comfortable and room was clean. They are pretty particular about check out time just FYI but they gave us a 30 minute grace period so that was nice. I used the fitness center it had a decent stair master, treadmill, and weight machine which is nice. It's across from a Walgreens which is convenient. The zen theme is cool.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ishish_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 283 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

I am very happy with my week at The Zen Hotel. It is a renovated/reconverted motel decorated in Asian style. Like in any good motel, I had a fridge, microwave oven and coffee machine. Free bottle water.

The rooms are simple, but nicely decorated and very, very clean. Comfortable bed, good work desk and enough storage place.

Good free breakfast with a small but sufficient warm and cold selection. Good coffee available all day.

Staff was very friendly and efficient.

It is a little far away from downtown Palo Alto if you are walking, but quite central to the Valley if driving.

I will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Well, I admit this hotel was really Zen. When we checked in at night it looked like a regular motel, but in the morning the Japanese influences on the design was more apparent. We liked the little yard in the back, with little fountains and rocks and Japanese plants. The girls liked the two Zen pictures on the wall (a rock surrounded by circles of sand, and a waterfall), and I also liked all the little design touches. The only thing we didn't like (which other reviewers have mentioned as well, so it's not just us being clumsy) were the wooden bed frames which were larger than the matress, and we kept bumping into them (I guess that's Japanese too? Never been to Japan...). Other than that this hotel was surprisingly nice and our one night stay was surprisingly pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

It was truly an honor that we stayed here, because our friend had an extra room that she didn't want to cancel. Our friend chose this so we can be in the middle of San Francisco and Sunnyvale. Breakfast and room was nice, but our stay became awesome for its cleanliness and front desk staff. Dennis R. really accommodated us and converse with us as if we were long time friends. Recommend this stay to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We booked it for a 5-night group business trip because it was half the price of downtown Palo Alto hotels and was so inexpensive that we could justify each having own room. Had no idea how delightful it would be. Room smallish but tasteful and comfortable. Free wifi works great. Coffee maker in room has bean grinder and they provide beans. Best pillows I have ever slept on. Delish hot breakfast buffet complimentary. So are yummy cookies in late afternoon. There are apples for the taking at the main desk and coffee and tea available in tranquil lobby. Zen like touches like little fountains where water trickles down rocks and little bamboo plants in the room and lobby. They left a lovely little food present on each of our beds one day with a thank you for our business. I love this place! I

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet11238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for giving us a five out of five. Our staff members are so hyped to see your feedback! This means we are doing something right and it is an amazing incentive to keep on the same path.

I am glad your group was able to access one of our promotional rates based on the length of your stay. We are proud to say that we always quote the best available deal for your stay pattern from the beginning; as we believe that this transparency is a best practice that benefits our guests and our business.

I hope you enjoyed the little treat we left in for you and the rest of your group; a small thank you for allowing us to have you as our guest.

Looking forward to your next visit,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.2 km away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.6 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,045 reviews
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
4.8 km away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: ₹ 8,000 - ₹ 23,355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing