We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Value Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We decided to stay at the Zen Hotel because of the great reviews and value. We booked a 2-queen bed standard room and got upgraded to a suite with a kitchen, a deep soaking tub with jets! and a rain shower head. The beds were very comfortable and free internet access was included. Every morning you get free breakfast consisting of scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoe wedges, hard boiled eggs, muffins, croissants, bagels, hot oatmeal with all the fixings, yogurt, fruit, cereal, apple juice, oj, Starbucks coffee, hot tea and hot coco. Great way to start your day. You also get freshly baked chocolate chip, oatmeal or white chocolate chip cookies every afternoon when you come back to the hotel, served in the lobby. If you think that is a great value, well, they also replenish two bottles of water everyday. Value is what you will get here but you will also get great friendly service! Our housekeeper did a superb job everyday! We would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back! Thank you Zen for making our trip a successful and memorable one!

Room Tip: We had room #306 which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiBound96813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

This review is fantastic! Thank you very much for sharing your good experience with the Tripadvisor community in such detail; I could have not described our hotel's amenities better.

And yes, when you book directly with us, you qualify for complimentary upgrades when available. I am glad you enjoyed the upgraded room we were able to assign for your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest again in the near future.

Thank you again.

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    124
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
108
56
25
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The Zen is a great place to stay in this area. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was the cleanest we have found so far on our trip. The room is well equipped and has a comfortable feel. Crisp white sheets in the bed and a spotless bathroom with a great shower. There is everything you need here for your stay. Good food is locally and a great shopping area nearby

Room Tip: Room 101 and 103 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We just spent a night at this hotel and loved it. We were three and took their two room suite with a living room and kitchenette. The rooms were all spacious and clean, quiet, comfortable, and the complimentary hot breakfast was excellent. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the location was convenient for everything in the Palo Alto area. Bill definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliazebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with our stay at the zen hotel. The room was very clean and modern. Hotel is about a five minute drive from university avenue. Excellent continental breakfast. Very happy with the service and the stay. I would definitely go back! Thanks, zen.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everyday_is_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boise, idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a great little hotel. The staff is very friendly and responsive. They offer some nice amenities such as bottled water in the rooms, fresh baked cookies throughout the day, a hot breakfast, and specialty organic teas to name a few. We enjoyed a room with a peaceful little garden area in the back complete with water fountains. The bed is very comfortable. Only two complaints - the bed is situated on a platform with a base wider than the bed that provides a toe-stubbing hazard. I would recommend a smaller base if possible. The other issue was that the door stop kept falling, not allowing us to close the door with ease. These were very minor hassles in our opinion and we would most definitely stay at The Zen Hotel again. Its a great value!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovypaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear guest,

We love you back! Thank you so much for your wonderful commenst about our service and amenities.

I am glad you had a chance to try our newly introduced Organic Artisan Tea. We implemented this specialty tea as part of our breakfast only a few weeks ago (after considering guests' feedback) and we are receiving great comments about it. Also, I would like to let you know that as of this week we added Peet's cofee as part of our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, in addition to offering Starbucks coffee.

Your comments about our bed frame and door stopper are noted and will be addressed, thank you for pointing them out to us.

It makes a big difference to know first hand your opinion, we greatly appreciate when you take the time to let us know about it, as well as the Tripadvisor community.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.6 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.2 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
4.8 km away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
5.0 km away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Property: The Zen Hotel
Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,984 - ₹ 23,891
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing