We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here. I”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't stay here. I”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is beyond disappointing. Our room was a box with 2 windows facing a wall under the stairs. The pool is tiny and very unappealing. What this "hotel" is is a cheap motel. The had an LA designer attach his name to the decor. Planted some plants around a tiny pool and tryed to make it chic. It isn't. We picked this place because departures magazine listed it as one of the great hotels in 2008. If it was then, it isn't any more. We thought we'd stay at a cute boutique hotel rather than a huge 5 pool, 800 room hotel. We shouldn't have, at least not here. Don't stay here. If you can get a room here for $150, maybe. We are paying $400 a night, for $500 a night we could have been at the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beachyjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHmanagement, General Manager at Colony Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we take the opinions of our guests extremely seriously.

We apologize that you found the hotel not to your satisfaction. Ultimately, it sounds as though the hotel was not the proper fit for you.

As you note, Departures and other elite travel periodicals consider the hotel one of the top in the world, but we realize the hotel does not cater to the masses. We have a very specific vision and sophistication.

We do wish you would have brought up your concerns to us during your stay, as there might have been ways to alleviate some of these issues. Every room in our hotel is different and we would have been delighted to show you other options.

If you would ever like to speak further about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We never want a guest to leave the hotel unsatisfied with their visit.


Sincerely,

CPH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    178
    79
    33
    32
See reviews for
82
432
52
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

On the advice of my co-worker, my partner and I came to the Colony Palms in December for an anniversary celebration, and we couldn’t have been happier with this decision. From the moment we booked the room to the moment we arrived, the front desk and reservation staff were immensely helpful and friendly with coordinating every detail. We originally booked a Superior Guest Room and had wanted to upgrade to a Casita, but unfortunately those were too popular and by the time we arrived, they had already all been taken. Instead, Rebecca helped set up us with a Deluxe Guest Room. While the first room we were given was nice (it was one of the ones with a four claw bath tub), we felt it was too small and too dark, and feared that the location on the first floor just by the main office would be loud. We went back to see if there were any other Deluxe Room options. Jason, the manager, was incredibly understanding and friendly, and he immediately offered us an upstairs room (next to the Winner’s Circle Suite). As we were settling in, delicious complimentary champagne was even brought to our room!

As for the room itself, it was incredible to say the least: the bathroom was enormous, with a huge standing shower and bathrobes that enveloped you in their warmth. The king size bed was huge and felt like a California King, and it was immensely comfortable and allowed for a much needed rest around the holidays. The room had a large balcony that faced the street in front of the hotel and the mountains in the background, and we thoroughly enjoyed having breakfast out on the balcony both mornings. When we decided to explore Palm Springs, Rebecca and Jason offered us great advice on places nearby where we could rent a bike, pick up dinner and take back to the hotel (the pizzas at Birba were perfection, and room service came quickly and without any attitude to give us plates and utensils that we had requested, for food we had brought in from elsewhere!), and places where we could walk nearby for brunch (Cheeky’s has a flight of bacon. A flight of bacon!!). We spent the rest of our time relaxing poolside and in the Jacuzzi, with Christine the poolside waitress checking in on us and bringing us all the water and other items that we needed.

This was exactly the kind of weekend away that we were hoping for – a relaxing weekend in a gorgeous setting with an amazingly attentive staff. The only downside to this trip was that it was only for two days. I’m would 100% recommend the Colony Palms to anyone looking for an upscale boutique hotel in Palm Springs, and I can’t wait to come back again and check out the Casitas next time! Many thanks to the staff, especially Jason, Rebecca, and Christine, for all their amazing service!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed March 3-10th 2012. I booked the room with the private out door living space, (picture on their site), but did not get that room and they seemed to not know what I was talking about BUT we did get the room with the full front of the Hotel balcony and although it is on a busy street we could not hear the traffic once the French doors to the balcony was closed. The only other things that went wrong was that the Wi-Fi only worked 2 days out of our stay. The Pool side Restaurant is 4 star and although there is not a coffee maker, microwave etc. in the room they put the coffee on at pool side at 6 a.m. for early risers. The grounds are beautiful with citrus trees flowering when we were there and it was a heavenly scent!! For the premium price we paid I'm not sure the value was there but it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgarymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

THE BAD:

-Our fridge died, and they said someone would be out to fix it. We left for dinner, and came back at 10:30pm and it was still not fixed. In the meantime, milk for our baby spoiled. They didn't get around to it until the next afternoon. That sucks, when we were trying to keep breast milk for our infant cold.

-Check in was at 4pm, and we asked for an early check-in (we have a 2 month old and didn't want to have to mill around the pool while she needed to be fed/changed). They seemed offended by the idea, but said they would call if they were able to do it. In the meantime, we heard other guests getting their rooms as early as 2:30pm. But, by 3;30, we had not recieved a call, so I checked the desk and they said the room had been ready for awhile. A call would have been nice.

-Cheap plastic toilet seat
-No shower-curtain, so water got all of the floor of the bathroom during our shower
-No fan in the main part of the bathroom, so it got really foggy/hot after a shower
-Food at restaurant was good, but not good enough to match the prices
-Pool was too chilly to really enjoy and lounge around in. People were, at most, just taking a quick dip to cool off in, and many were complaining about the cool temperature
-The staff just didn't have a very friendly, helpful air about them

THE GOOD:

-Beautiful courtyard surrounding pool, lots of plants and flowers
-Cozy casitas tucked away in private and quiet grounds adjacent to pool area
-They have created a neat atmpsophere, with the decorations and style of the place
-Restaurant was right on the pool, making meals easy when hanging at the pool
-Great lounge-beds along the pool area
-Fireplaces in some rooms
-Valet parking guys out front were super nice and helpful with bags
-Huge tubs in some rooms

Overall, I liked the place, although, I think you pay for the style, rather then the service and the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowneline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Spent my birthday here and it was WONDERFUL. The Staff is excellent, the room was absolutely perfect, the food was EXQUISITE and DELICIOUS......will RETURN again and again! Gotta have a SPA treatment (:

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadiNIki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.4 km away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#13 of 73 in Palm Springs
159 reviews
1.6 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
5.8 km away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,567 reviews
3.7 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,963 - ₹ 33,810
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing