We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not worth it.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I could go on and on about the countless encounters we had during our week stay, but I am so over this place I do not even want to talk about it anymore. The staff is very accommodating - minus "the managers" they are all rude and very UNaccomodating. The grounds are nice if you don't mind feeling like a sardine. And I understand ac units are expensive but when I am paying the big bucks to stay at a luxury hotel I don't want a wall unit that's 10 years old and bangs and hums all night long. The bathrooms are gross and the carpets are beyond dirty. It's basically like they tried to hide all their flaws with a fancy chandelier and call it a day. Stay elsewhere this is just a high priced old motel at best.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekaeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear ekaeks
I am sincerely saddened to hear that your stay was disappointing. Our expectation is to have all guests enjoy their stay and have great memories while at the Viceroy. Please bear in mind that we are a very popular historic boutique resort, and just like all the other resorts in the Valley, we are busier over the weekends then the weekdays. With that said, locating unoccupied weekend lounge chairs is rarely an issue at the Viceroy, and even during the busy holiday weekends, our Restaurant, Bar and Spa are rarely overbooked as that is not the experience we strive for at the Viceroy. I am especially disappointed to hear about your experience with management, and would like to speak with you about the details as this must be rectified.
I look forward to your call,
Rudy Alvarez, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    221
    148
    82
    79
See reviews for
123
514
57
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel is awful. The rooms are dingy and disgusting, the fixtures don't work. The showers flooded, the oven burned up and set off the smoke detector and it smells like od men. Please believe me when I say DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear TM10
Although I am disheartened to read about your experience at the Viceroy, I appreciate the feedback. I assure you, your experience is not the norm. Please contact me at your earliest convenience as I would like to get specifics about your stay so that another guest does not encounter the same issues.
Sincerely,
Rudy Alvarez
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Viceroy continues to be my favorite place to stay in Palm Springs. The check in is always seamless and it's easy to find the room. This trip I discovered the gym. I'm not one to stay out at the pool for hours so I was happy to find a small gym with a few treadmills and some weight equipment. It was all I needed. The pool areas continue to be quiet and civilized which is what I'm looking for. The Viceroy is better for a couple without kids. It has more of an adult vibe to it. My wife and I just like the overall atmosphere of the place, especially in the night time. The Viceroy is definitely one of the more expensive places to stay in Palm Springs and the regular rooms are not very big but overall we always seem to love the experience there. A five minute walk from the Viceroy is a restaurant called the Falls. Try sitting out on the balcony and order their Oregon Oysters for an appetizer. Delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hampdenLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

For those of us who have stayed at this Viceroy property our standards are not too high. The physical space needs some TLC and the service is always a little mediocre. But you choose to stay there because the facility has some charming spaces and some of the suites are large (although it can't compete with the Parker). We just returned from a three night stay there. Althought the bathroom was remodeled since the early days when the terra cotta tile was painted white, I will never understand why any one chooses to put in a fibreglass shower enclosure instead of doing a nice tiled shower. Got to be the cost. I am attaching a photo of the hallway to our "suite" which shows both filthy carpet and a real lack of care in the maintenance of the place.
My big gripe, howvere, is the fact that we were awakened at 3 in the morning by the sound of a saw and the loud sound was coming directly behind the headboard. We were not sure if the Texas Chain Saw Massacre was happening in the adjacent room or the hotel was falling apart, but it was way too loud to sleep. After about 10 minutes, my husband went downstairs to find a manager. Upon entering the lobby he saw that dry rot repair was being done on the kitchen and our room shared a wall with the wall where the work was being done. The workman on the job told him that the work had been scheduled for that evening and that maybe we could ask for a complimentary breakfast due to the disturbance.
The next morning we received a message on the room phone from a manager informing us that our room would be comped for the "noise disturbance". We spent all day at the property but never once received a verbal apology from anyone.
I received the customary email from the manager asking me to rate our experience and I related our story. The next day my husband received a phone call from a manager apologizing again and offering a complimentary room next time we're in town. So they handled that part just about right although she did tell him the work was an emergency and not pre-scheduled. Still sounds a little sketchy and maybe like some one was trying to do some work without permits.
Still not happy with the way the situation was handled when we were on site. We had two rooms for 3 days and had a pretty decent-size bill at the end of the trip.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a porch light that is left on permanently so your room is never completely dark. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorinhayoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Lorinhayoyo:

I am sincerely disappointed that you and your husband did not have the experience you were expecting. I hope you understand that we would never intentionally disrupt the most basic expectation of our guests which is to thoroughly enjoy their stay.

If we would not have had a water leak earlier that night, we would not have performed the emergency repair.

It is my understanding that our General Manager did speak with your husband, and that the resolution offered was acceptable.

We hope you visit us again, as it is our goal to have all guests have pleasant experiences and memories while visiting the Viceroy Palm Springs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

What a great hotel located in the heart of Palm Springs. The service was fantastic, food great, cocktails continuous, and the spa heavenly! There are 3 pools to chose from with one being a "family" pool. However, this isn't really a hotel I would take children to. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnj072791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.8 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.4 km away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.1 km away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#20 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

Property: Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Address: 415 South Belardo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,681 - ₹ 44,623
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel box nestled in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the historic Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs rests at the foot of the rugged San Jacinto Mountains on four acres of fragrant, beautifully manicured gardens. Its Spanish architecture punctuated by a series of secluded, private bungalows, calls forth the iconic, storied Golden Age of Palm Springs, exuberantly updated with Hollywood Regency interiors by renowned designer Kelly Wearstler. At Avalon every experience has been hand-curated by a team of collaborators and bona fide hotel aficionados. You might say it's a calling. A penchant for wanderlust. A mind for singular retreats and unrepeatable vibes. We hold an affinity for one-offs, anomalies and the irrefutable allure of a personal touch. Our trademarks are small batched. Think of us as your own private hideaway. All you have to do is stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing