We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Ace Hotel is a really great place to enjoy the beauty and relaxation of Palm Springs! The rooms are fun, the pool area is relaxing (and they play really good music!), and their bar/restaurant have a unique selection, and it is more than your average hotel bar/restaurant. Also, I love that they're dog friendly (be sure to mention that when booking though, since only certain rooms allow dogs). My dog had a great time! The rooms with the fireplace are especially nice and cozy.

Also, you can rent bikes for free! Ride around town for a fun way to see the area!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank UrbanFoodCrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for Ace Hotel and Swim Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 612 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

An effortlessly cool hotel with an enormously fun pool experience and easy social ambience. The hotel has a beautifully executed laid back retro feel. The restaurant is good and serves a great breakfast. The best times are had lounging around the pool. There is a gym too which is reasonably well equipped with treadmills, stationary bikes, a free weight section and a couple of isolation training machines. While arguably on the expensive side the ACE provides what I would call a quintessential Palm Springs experience with a mid century modern twist. Well worth a weekend break.

Room Tip: Try a room with private patio and fire place. Palm Springs is best visited in winter, fall or spring...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and didn't have a great start. During check-in we waited for at least 2 hrs before getting the room. As they have just finished cleaning, the room smells of chemical products. We just open the doors and windows to let the smell out.
The foods in the restaurant is ok, the breakfast is better than lunch though.
The pool is a decent size and has a spa next to it.
Don't expect any valet people to park the car. You have to park the car yourself.
When we checked out there was a power cut so they have to sent out the invoice via email.
The good thing here is the wifi as its has a very strong single throughout the hotel area.
Overall for my experience, I will look for other hotels around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank generationspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was a fun, inexpensive, hip hotel to hang at over the Spring holiday. I stayed at the Ace Hotel in NYC (that 's the beard reference) and had a pleasant stay so I was looking forward to the same experience in Palm Springs. We were not disappointed.

My wife and I took our teenage daughter and her friend for two nights. We received a free bucket of beers upon arrival (part of the special $100 per room package). Headed directly to the main pool to check it out. It was kid-central but there were plenty of chairs at the pool towards the back. Had to hang some towels over the speakers due to the fact they were cranked up for the people closer to the pool. Music was great though. There's also a "commune" pool nearby that's much quieter. Unfortunately for us it was booked one of he two days for a private party.

Rooms were very funky...in a good way. They were covered in a white type of canvas cloth. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was spit up. Shower and commode were in their own room, sink was part of the main room. We had had a small refrigerator that had a lot of soft drinks and booze. We of course let the girls know it was a "hands-off" policy on the liquor situation. Like the ACE NYC, they have their own TV channels which feature some off beat programming.

Restaurant was great! Good eclectic menu. Decent wine list. We really only ate off the property one day for lunch. Much like the New York City Ace, they serve "Stumphump" coffee which is full bodied and delicious. Pastries were great as well. You can also eat out near the pool but be ready for a noisy atmosphere.

The have bicycles for free. You can use them for 2 hours which was enough time to check out the original, retro homes near the Ace. They also have scooters but we figured the exercise would do us good.

As for the gym, my wife gave it a thumbs up. We never took advantage of the spa so I cannot comment on that.

We were surprised how many families with children were at the hotel. A lot of out-of-towners (read: Europeans) which made for an interesting couple of days.

We'll definitely go back. My family had a good time. It wasn't too over the top in terms of hipsters...just the right mix. I do agree with some of the folks that check out was a bit of a wait. There are only two folks doing the transactions but they're very accommodating, friendly and are clearly trying their best to get people on their way. Not sure how to correct that with the exception of checking out from your room. I think that's a possibility.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have their own parking lot and you can get directly to your room pretty easil...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Ace is a great relaxing place to stay and escape LA for a couple of days. Family & dog friendly but also very inviting to the average young person. Good music around the pool.. I was surprised by the selection that ranged from Johnny Cash to Neutral Milk Hotel; I guess this place is for the hip youth like everyone is saying. Rooms were cute with canvas curtains, a fun wall with random pictures hanging on it, nice flat screen, and very comfortable beds. Kind of retro decor in the rooms and around the pool area. Loved the circular shade canvases that you could adjust over your lounge chair to block the sun. My boyfriend was really into the hammocks in the shaded area. Mom's favorite area was the viewing deck where you can get up a little higher to take gorgeous sunset pictures.

Robes were provided for everyone and we enjoyed wearing them around the pool while sipping on rum strawberry slushies and dipping our feet in the hot tub. The staff is really nice about letting you eat snacks from King's Highway restaurant (good place).. the waiter even brought our chips & salsa + margaritas to the edge of the hot tub so we could eat it while taking a dip. Children aren't supposed to go in the hot tub if they are under 12 but there always seemed to be little guys in it while I was there; they were respectful and behaving so it wasn't really an issue. Plus the hot tub is pretty huge so everyone had their own space. We got a room without a view of the pool to avoid noise.. it was very quiet where we stayed. The hotel also had a great location and it was easy to get to the tram, downtown, outlets in Cabazon (if that's your type of thing), and to Idyllwild for a nice horse ride. The $5 photobooth takes credit cards and provided a lot of fun for our group. It's always nice to take home 4 silly black & white photos to remind you of a good trip.

The one big downside to this place was the resort fee. We felt kind of tricked.. we purchased our 3 night stay in advance on expedia thinking we were getting a deal. While we were checking in we were told we'd have to pay an addition $20/night (total of $60) to use their pool and wifi. I don't really see why you'd have to pay for these things twice- the reason people stay here is partially for the pool!! We still had a great time and I'd definitely stay here again but there really was no mention of an extra fee so that is something you may want to consider.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.0 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
2.8 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
2.2 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.5 km away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#18 of 73 in Palm Springs
172 reviews
1.2 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Address: 701 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8811
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: ₹ 11,740 - ₹ 31,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing