We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warm Sands Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Warm Sands Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I agree with a previous reviewer who says that some things are maybe a bit worn out but it is not those bits of furniture that make a hotel. It is the staff , the atmosphere , the fellow guests and it is those things that make this hotel very worthy of a 5 star review.
Certainly there are a few things I might change (TVs for a start) but I spent a wonderful two weeks there , met some great people (even Leo , a Canadian!!!!) and was made to feel so wonderfully welcome from the moment I arrived until I left.
They serve a complimentary breakfast (which keeps one away from those tempting fried breakfasts notorious in the USA) , great complimentary wine and snacks every evening at 5pm and hospitality of a kind never visible in a large 5 star hotel.

This is a hotel which caters for groups of friends in town for the weekend or solo travellers on longer vacations (and everything in between).
It is close enough to the main restaurants/bars that the energetic can walk to them and the more sedentary can get to them by taxi for just a few dollars.

Please do give this hotel a try. i doubt that you will regret it.

Incidentally special mention must go to Robert and Frank. Fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    38
    9
    14
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
68
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just stayed 3 nights at Warm Sands Villas...Basic OLD motel in Warm Sands area...Pool & patio are very old & run down...Old Dirty patio furniture...Cracked up discolored old pool & spa and patio.
Rooms are basic motel style with old box tvs & old shabby bathrooms. A/C units are VERY noisy humming like loud motors around the property & loudly in the room...To a point we could neither relax in the room nor sleep from the constant humming & vibrating of the AC units outside our windows. For $180 ($160+taxes) a night for the least expensive basic "standard" room, we were very disappointed with the poor value considering other very similar gay "resorts" in the neighborhood are a lot less money for even better quality rooms & pool/ grounds.
There are some very nice gay "resorts" in Palm Springs, so why stay at a dumpy one that is overpriced like Warm Sands Villas!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 1worldtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dantheman-ager, General Manager at Warm Sands Villas, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking time out to write a review, and we appreciate your comments. You are a tough customer, given the reviews that you have posted on TripAdvisor: you rated one of our esteemed competitors with a sterling reputation a comparable rating of ‘2’.

At peak demand, like the month of March, our rates will rise slightly as will those of other properties. Still, we realize that a good value is key to bring guests back to the property. We step up routine checks to make sure that everything is operational in a room and at the facility.

The small standard room you reserved is our basic room with the same amenities afforded to our upgraded accommodations: daily extended continental breakfast featuring Peet’s Coffee, a premium brand; free wireless internet access; afternoon snacks. Some of these amenities are factored into your room rate.

At every check-out, we ask how our guests enjoyed their stay, and if there is anything we could have done to make them more comfortable. We take these comments seriously, and work hard to make the repairs or improvements quickly. New mattresses, flat screen televisions, bathroom vanities are among some of the changes that were (spurred) by guest comments. If there is a problem with a guest stay, we work to resolve the problem when they bring it to our attention. We want our guests to feel that they are heard and that their issues are addressed and resolved to their satisfaction. If we don’t know about a problem, we can’t fix it.

Your comment regarding the pool, spa, deck and lounge chairs: upgrades are being made to improve the furniture, though currently, they are solid, clean and in good order. The pool plaster is intact and in good shape, with some discoloration. Ditto with the spa. Water quality in both is well maintained for the safety, comfort and protection of our guests.

Your comments regarding your guestroom: at the time of booking, we review all options available from our basic (or small standard rooms) to our deluxe and apartment accommodations. If we are limited in offerings, and you require a room, we still ensure that you know what they’re getting, with our confirmation letters now including a video clip of the room. As important as it may be to rent a room, neither guest nor innkeeper benefits by overpromising and underdelivering.

In your write-up, you didn’t mention the service you experienced at the hotel or the condition of the room, though you rated us average in both areas. You also left out names of hotels that you felt were a better value or had better grounds, which helps us the innkeepers understand what your expectation is, and your fellow reviewers know which places you prefer.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss some of these issues, we would like to have another opportunity to provide you with a comfortable and pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My return flight touched-down a few hours ago and already I'm thinking about my next trip to Palm Springs ---and Warm Sands Villas. I had an enjoyable stay, and some much needed R & R, mostly attributed to the extra attention from the staff.. The staff and owners are friendly, accommodating, and they bent over backwards to make my stay pleasant. I felt pampered, although it appears every guest receives the same special treatment. (Thanks, Dan, for the use of your personal bike.) The room was bright and clean and the grounds were well-groomed and among the most attractive I've seen. Overall, the ambiance struck the right balance; a bit of Palm Springs history, a bit of desert charm, and a whole lot of excellent customer-service. The staff could conduct a Master Class on how to treat guests. I hope to return soon ---and I'd like the same room, please!

Warm regards,

Ray A.
Seattle

Room Tip: Charming rooms ---vintage hacienda motel, very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dantheman-ager, General Manager at Warm Sands Villas, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hi Ray,

Thank you for your kind words! The staff and I have worked together for some time and while we're not perfect, we work hard to taking care of our guests. I'm glad you made good use of my bike, it was my pleasure to lend it to you. Our best wishes until we see you again...and thank you for taking time out to share your experience at the hotel.

Best,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I have stayed at Warm Sands Villas every MLK weekend in January for 10 years now for a conference I attend yearly and still love going to this resort. It is a nicely appointed hotel, with a huge pool, plenty of sun, bubbling spa, and clean & comfortable rooms. The service from all of the staff, but especially from Dan, the live-in manager, is what really puts this resort over the top as compared to other hotels in the Palm Springs Area. No matter what I need, be it an extra pillow, my wine glass topped off, or reservations/recommendations for a nearby restaurant, Dan & his staff go the extra mile to make it happen. On-line reservations or via the phone are always easy, the room rate is always reasonable, plenty of parking, and it is a very short distance to downtown Palm Springs nightlife, restaurants, and shops.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dantheman-ager, General Manager at Warm Sands Villas, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hi Doug - I am humbled by your comments. It is a distinct honor when guests like you come back to stay with us, and you've been a valuable customer for the past 7+ years. We hope to earn your visits back in the future, and appreciate you taking time out to write about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed 4 nights over New Years and enjoyed every minute. Beautiful grounds and view. Delightful staff. Loved our kitchenette and in room fireplace. Very social breakfast and Happy hour.

Room Tip: 220 was a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dantheman-ager, Manager at Warm Sands Villas, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for seeing 2012 in with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, ecstatic that you will be back, and grateful for your kind words. The staff and I continue to look for ways to keep our guests returning when they visit Palm Springs, and we look forward to being of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 km away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#34 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
1.1 km away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
1.5 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 km away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
3.5 km away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#45 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warm Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warm Sands Villas

Property: Warm Sands Villas
Address: 555 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7632
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,631 - ₹ 16,245
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warm Sands Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Sands Villas an enchanting resort in heart of Warm Sands neighborhood is very close to down town Palm Springs. Featuring charming Spanish architecture with today's amenities, Warm Sands Villas is known for its personal, friendly service and value. Large guestrooms feature new premium king beds, travertine floors, and in-room climate control that handles even the hottest days. Wireless internet access property-wide and upgraded amenity options like flat screen televisions. Relax and get sun in lush green expansive courtyard with views of the San Jacinto Mountains, night time by the fire and under an amazing array of stars - come experience desert hospitality our way. Book this private resort for your party, family gathering, wedding or business meeting. This is a great private venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Warm Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warm Sands Villas Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing