We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Rendezvous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2008

My husband and I headed to Palm Springs for a romantic getaway and Rendezvous exceeded our expectations for accommodations. The staff, Jake, Betty and Karen, became like family in the five days that we were there. We stayed in the Shake, Rattle and Roll Room which was decorated in an Elvis theme. It was a nice size room with a massage table and whirlpool bath/shower in one area, a king size bed and sofa in the main room, and the toilet and sink in another little room. Everyday we received homemade goodies by our bed and our refridgerator was restocked with water and sodas. Jake made breakfast for us each morning which consisted of a delicious fruit concoction for our first course and bagels, muffins or croissents for our second course. And, you can't forget the smoothies and coffee to drink! Each afternoon, we drank yummy blue "Ballentini's" (vodka and rasberry) and had the most delicious appetizers. We were treated very well and at times it felt like we were the only ones there. I highly recommend Rendezvous for your stay in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank outdoors00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 723 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2008

Stayed at the Rendezvous for a long weekend. The staff is more than accommodating and friendly. Stayed in the James Dean room. The room was clean with a refrigerator and microwave. Sufficient space, but not overly roomy.
A cocktail and appetizers are available in the afternoon. Good breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, coffee and muffins. Also a fresh home baked goody was in our room everyday.
The hotel has only 10 rooms, so it is nice and quaint. The hotel is on a main street, so it can be a bit noisy with cars going by. A bit far to walk to downtown Palm Springs, but they do have bicycles that you can easily ride to downtown. The 50's theme is very clever, but listening to 50's music all weekend can get old. Would have liked the music to be more at a lower volume.
Would be a great place to stay with a bunch of friends as it is very comfortable just hanging around the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljohns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

We stayed at Rendezvous for one night a few weeks before it officially opened and had a wonderful experience! The women who ran it were so nice and helpful. There were freshly baked cookies in our room upon arrival along with complimentary water and soda in our in-room fridge. They even served us our happy hour martinis and snacks in the hot tub. We were also shocked at how great the multi-course breakfast was. We stayed in the Pink/Marilyn Monroe room, which was nice, but I peeked in at a few other rooms that had fireplaces, including the Elivs(?) room, that I liked better, though there's nothing wrong with the Marilyn room (and they say she even stayed in that room years ago!) A super-cool and low-key Palm Springs place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldsgirl519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

First the good: The staff (Barb and Betty) went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The Ballantine is undergoing refurbishment and my wife and I were treated to a guided tour of the new rooms/improvements. The theme rooms are a lot of fun (Pretty in Pink celebrates Marilyn Monroe, Shake Rattle 'n' Roll is all about Elvis), there are nice retro 50's decorating touches throughout the complex (blue astroturf around the pool, bar stools, formica tables recall a bygone era) which reflects the owners' dedication to making the Rendezvous (new name) experience memorable. The owners clearly have a fondness for upgrading this historic icon. Our room was quiet, our kingbed comfortable, and we slept well. The pool and spa areas were relaxing, we were treated to drinks, coffee and food poolside by our attentive hosts.

Now the not so good: the hotel is away from the center of town and difficult to find. The owners are changing the signage out front, but the building's low profile and off-street access don't make a great first impression. The entryway to the complex is weird - you enter through a steel gate, notice a rock garden with some discarded furniture to one side and some rolled up wiring hanging from the wall on the other, then walk through glass doors into a foyer. Beyond that a tired, vinyl bar sits off to the side, apparently abandoned under an inoperative clock. Locating the office at the far end of the complex beyond the pool is confusing. None of this would matter so much if the cost of the room per night were half the $200 we paid, but one imagines that room rates are tied to the owners' expectation that they have created a convincing illusion of the 50's. They're right for the most part, but the effect is undone by curious oversights.

Chances are it'll be awhile before we venture back. Best of luck getting the details right, but we'll probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MikeS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

My boyfriend and I just returned from a weekend at the Rendezvous (formerly Ballantine's) to celebrate my birthday. The B&B is fabulous with 50's style furniture and comfortable rooms. The staff makes everyone who stays there feel so special with cocktails and appetizers at 5pm, great breakfasts, and wonderful recommendations to excellent restaurants that do not belong to any chains. Overall, a great retreat!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Annaelisabetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 km away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
1.9 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
4.5 km away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
2.8 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
4.7 km away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#12 of 75 in Palm Springs
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Springs Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Springs Rendezvous

Address: 1420 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: ₹ 9,865 - ₹ 17,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Springs Rendezvous 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With brilliant colors and great themes this fabulous bed and breakfast hotel is an experience, not just another place to stay. From our scrumptious breakfast, luxurious massages, heated pool, and gorgeous courtyard, to our complimentary cocktail hour we pamper you all the way. All rooms feature a King bed, Flat Screen TV, DVD & CD players, Mini-fridge, Wi-Fi, Microwave, and most have whirlpool tubs. For a romantic trip to the desert this is it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Palm Springs Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Springs Rendezvous Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing