We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
740
52
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
52
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavender scones wine and beer owners richard and cornelia espresso machine small hotel continental breakfast other guests wonderful hosts yogurt lovely courtyard each morning boutique hotel happy hour hot tub outdoor fireplace bbq area fresh towels
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Small hotel, appeals to quiet adults. Nice kitchen -- continental breakfast with espresso machine. Wine beverages. Rooms well serviced.

Nice larger pool . Little street noise. Not right in the center of town. But in a nice residential area near a good shopping center with grocery store and several restaurants all right across the street. Try the natural food spot. Guisseppes has great views. Paninis are good.

Real story is the very lovely hosts. Genuinely friendly and kind. Clearly enjoy their jobs helping just
Enough. Never intrusive.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank rabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1600, Manager at La Maison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi Barb,
What a nice review. You pointed out so many good details that our future guests will appreciate. Having so many things walkable is a real plus and not having to go downtown if you want to. We also try to make you feel wanted and interested in you if you want to connect and if you want space we can tell also. We look forward to seeing you and Tim again someday. Take care,
Stephen Block
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

My 2nd visit to La Maison and I can't say enough about how fantastic it is. Rooms are well appointed, elegant and relaxing and the little lavender sachets on the bed are a lovely touch. Charming, helpful, friendly hosts and excellent staff. Made to order lattes or espresso with the very plentiful continental breakfast; always with special pastries; scones or danish or strudel. The smell of freshly made popcorn fills the air every afternoon. Wine is flowing every evening. Pool is right outside the room but noise is never an issue. Enjoy the fire pit on those cool evenings wrapped in the cozy blankets provided. Just the perfect spot.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1600, Manager at La Maison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi Pam,
Thank you for the nice review. you have a nice poetic way of making us look good. Truly the smell of popcorn and the flowing of wine can truly describe the afternoon.

Take care and we so look forward to seeing you here again at the fire pit with us and I will flow the wine.

Stephen Block
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Enjoyed a great weekend at La Maison and will return. Steve and Judy, the managers, were extremely hospitable and even had a happy anniversary announcement on the hotel sign. The hotel is very charming and in a great location near downtown.
The rooms were quite nice and the refreshments (breakfast, happy hour wines, water/soda and popcorn) were a welcome touch. Steve was always available for advice about local events and restaurants. Book early especially for holiday weekends!

Room tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter but the sun will come through the shutters in the morning.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PJ_McHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Let me start by saying that everyone that works here was extremely nice, and tried very hard to create a positive experience for our stay. If all you need is a nice pool and attentive service, this might be a good fit for you!

That said, this is a ~12 room B&B, and it might be a bit misleading to call this a hotel. If it was a hotel, I would probably put it at 3 stars, and there's nothing wrong with that! But for some reason, TripAdvisor labels this as a 5 star class hotel.

I have found that reviewers are more likely to over-rate smaller, B&B-style properties. Given the average 5 star user rating for La Maison, I was expecting to be blown away. Instead, I had an average experience, with attentive service, a nice pool, but a mediocre hotel room. Overall, I found the 5-star user rating a bit misleading.

Pros:
-Stephen, Judy, Cornelia and Richard are extremely attentive and do whatever they can to make sure you enjoy yourself
- The pool is nice
- The rooms have some nice details like fresh flowers and a granite vanity in the bathroom
- Water, popcorn, and beer
- Wine at night
- L'Occitane bath products

Cons:
- The continental breakfast was lacking. Options consisted of toast, artisanal jams, dates, grapefruit, Activia yogurt and supermarket bagels and pound cake. There were none of the advertised "lavender scones and croissants". Selection was generally limited. There were no hot dishes.
- The rooms felt dated. No desks. Chair-and-a-half sized armchair.
- There was an odd smell in our room, which took a few days to subside. My clothes smelled for weeks after the trip, even after washing them.
- Misguided advertising left me a little frustrated: advertised as a hotel, advertised as a 5-star class hotel, advertised lavender scones at breakfast, and a 5 star user review rating created high expectations for an experience that was just average.
- Accommodations seemed a little expensive for what they were.

Neither a pro nor a con
- It's a small hotel, so you will interact with everyone
- Most people were in their 40s-60s
- Location is good - it's about a five minute drive to Palm Springs

Room tip: Your room matters! You might want to call ahead to get a sense for what the difference is between rooms
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
13  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

La Maison provides the perfect setting for a wonderful visit to Palm Springs. We stayed here last year for 5 days -- it wasn't nearly enough time to enjoy all the beauty and history of the surrounding area, and also to simply relax poolside with a book. The property is pristine; the ambiance is that of quiet elegance. This does not mean that it is somber or too "serious" at all. Most of the people we met both visits are returning guests; after a few hours, the hotel feels like a small community. The owners, Cornelia and Richard could not be more welcoming and gracious. Together with managers/hosts Judy and Steve, they have created a warm and lovely place. Contributing to this feeling are meetings around the outstanding espresso machine in the morning and the wine gatherings in the evening. Not to mention the excellent weekly BBQ; a convivial and tasty affair! We have enjoyed staying at La Maison immensely -- so much so that we are returning next year for a longer time period. Sending sincere thanks and warm regards to all at La Maison.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzr726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1600, Manager at La Maison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you so much Daryl, We so appreciate your wonderful review and how you became everyone's favorite and even Les's jokes were appreciated. Thanks for very precisely expressing the warmth and community feeling that happens serendipitous. I feel that Trip Advisor seems to attract the seasoned travelers that are looking for similar amenities so we tend to get along together as well.
Thanks again and I really look forward to seeing you both again next year.

Hugs and Palm Springs warm smiles,
Stephen Block
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews