We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a pleasant, classic resort -- unmatched landscaping, pools, hot tub.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We have stayed here several times in the past. Our mistake this year was paying too much attention to the negative TripAdvisor reviews. We originally booked another, higher rated resort nearby which was nice, but so boring that we moved to the Vista Grande. And we were glad we did, because we enjoyed this resort so much more.
Pluses: lush tropical landscaping, two very nice pools kept at comfortable temperature, a very large hot tub and steamroom (probably largest in PS) near the waterfall, new sauna, classic mid-century architecture style.

Some of the negative reviews are puzzling, citing problems with the rooms or staff that we have never encountered over several visits. The staff have always been friendly and responsive and I hope that hasn't changed.

If you have to have everything 21st century and in perfect order, then this isn't the resort for you. I think some of the complaints about the decor are based on lack of appreciation or understanding of mid-century architecture and style in PS, which is part of the charm and uniqueness of this resort. For example, a complaint about "60's kitchen" obviously completely misses the point that it is SUPPOSED to reflect that style -- and even older. The kitchen cabinets and counter in our unit were 1950's (clean and functional) but the frig and range top were relatively new. The bathroom had an old-fashioned resistance wall heater (disconnected) that was left because it fits the decor. Much of the furniture in the rooms is eclectic, one-of-a-kind and even 'campy' style meant to reflect an older era.

That being said, there are two areas where the resort could improve its image and guest satisfaction: (1) there is an overall lack of attention to detail. All of these are really minor in themselves but they tend to add up, giving an overall impression of neglect. Examples: (a) a light switch plate in the entrance was missing a large corner -- fixing would have cost all of 50 cents. (b) Broken outdoor lighting plastic fixtures lying in the landscaping beds -- I counted at least 15 while casually walking around the grounds. Why not remove or hide these?
(2) a tendency to keep some furniture and items beyond their useful life. Examples: (a) Most of the TV's are old tube or projection models -- some may still have good pictures but others should have been retired long ago and upgraded. (b) A pile of pool floats had several new ones on top and several others at the bottom that were thoroughly cracked, deteriorated and useless -- why not throw out the old ones? (c) One of the lounge cushions by the pool looked like it had been attacked by an angry cat --- the others were fine, so why leave the shabby one?
It would help if someone with fresh eyes would make a thorough review of the condition of the rooms and facilities -- I suspect most all the items would be largely cosmetic and not expensive to correct or update.

Generally, the room, grounds, and facilities were clean. The room was serviced every day, including vacuuming the rug and plenty of fresh towels. The continental breakfast is pretty basic, especially during the week, and could be improved.

As pointed out by other reviewers, they no longer have day passes and only a few locals are allowed, so the resort is not as 'active' as it used to be. However, All World's Resort right next door does have day and night passes. As far as the clientele being "old", the gay clientele in many PS resorts has aged over the past decade or so, so this is not unique to Vista Grande. While we were there, the age range was mostly forties thru sixties, with a few in the 30-40 and >70 range.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank IQ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 504 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

I booked my trip last minute... and I'm a difficult and experienced traveler. I have never stayed at this type of resort before... that said, front desk manager James made me feel welcome from the time I called, all through my stay. He was thoughtful and sweet despite the fact that I had to change rooms three times (my own fault since I booked 5 days prior to arrival)

I've stayed at the finest hotels in the world... this is not one of them. However, it's Palm Springs and an old 60's building. There's something for everyone here, they don't allow random people on the property, it's a good place with a good manager. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aguyinthe818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The room was disgusting, old worn furniture. I could only think of bed bug epidemic when I looked at the linens.

Then I looked up and saw the tell-tale trail of blood that advertised IV drug use recently in the room.

Quite horrific, actually.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CarmineMangione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Bob is retired so things are changing...and not in a good way. There new manager and front desk person has no people skills. I have gone there numorous times and he won't carry on a conversation. He is now the face of the Resort which is your first impression. The Resort itself has beautiful plantings which does nothing for the condition of the rooms. They buy new bed comfiters periodically to try and make the room lookn new which doesn't work. It is old and needs to be knocked down and rebuilt. I personaly would not stay there. There are to many nice places.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluebirdie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Grounds are nice. The manager (who apparently lives on site) is extremely arrogant. Talks down to you, not helpful. One of the rudest pepole I've ever come in contact with, and I travel a lot. Unreal that he has a job there. Can't believe owners keep him on. Leaves a very bad taste to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevemankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.2 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.5 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
0.8 km away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
All Worlds Resorts
All Worlds Resorts
#26 of 41 in Palm Springs
290 reviews
1.4 km away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#4 of 41 in Palm Springs
385 reviews
0.9 km away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#9 of 41 in Palm Springs
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort

Address: 574 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7633 (Formerly Atrium Mirage Vista Grande Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: ₹ 13,907 - ₹ 33,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 29 beautifully appointed rooms, 3 heated swimming pools, hot tub, spacious steam room, and breathtaking waterfalls and lagoon, Vista Grande Resort is the premium clothing optional gay men's resort in Palm Springs, California. Complimentary breakfast and lunch served daily and dinner on the weekends. Eat family style with the other men at our 20' banquet table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Mirage Vista Grande Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing