We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blood on ceiling...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Blood on ceiling...”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The room was disgusting, old worn furniture. I could only think of bed bug epidemic when I looked at the linens.

Then I looked up and saw the tell-tale trail of blood that advertised IV drug use recently in the room.

Quite horrific, actually.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CarmineMangione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    128
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
3
196
148
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Bob is retired so things are changing...and not in a good way. There new manager and front desk person has no people skills. I have gone there numorous times and he won't carry on a conversation. He is now the face of the Resort which is your first impression. The Resort itself has beautiful plantings which does nothing for the condition of the rooms. They buy new bed comfiters periodically to try and make the room lookn new which doesn't work. It is old and needs to be knocked down and rebuilt. I personaly would not stay there. There are to many nice places.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bluebirdie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Grounds are nice. The manager (who apparently lives on site) is extremely arrogant. Talks down to you, not helpful. One of the rudest pepole I've ever come in contact with, and I travel a lot. Unreal that he has a job there. Can't believe owners keep him on. Leaves a very bad taste to come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevemankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

This is by far the best male resort in palm springs. The staff is friendly and try to make your stay enjoyable. This is one of the only resorts where you can still cruise and get some action. The giant steam room is HOT! The gardens are gorgeous. Some of the nicest I have ever seen in Palm Springs.

Room Tip: the nicest rooms are in the back of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttimm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I have stayed here previously and have always had a nice time. This was my 4th or 5th visit. This time, I convinced 3 friends to join me and the stay wasn't up to par. This staff was reserved at best, downright unfriendly at worst. During previous stays, Bob, who I believe was the owner was there each morning. He'd take guests around to show off the beautiful grounds and really seemed to take pride in his resort. He went out of his way to make his guests feel welcome. I believe he's recently retired and this place misses his touch. The other guests weren't as friendly as during my prior stays and were DECADES older than I've experienced in before--many easily in their 70s and 80s. That mattered little to me. I was there to be with my friends, not to carouse around the property. If that's your intention, this is no longer the place to go, especially as they've eliminated outsiders to visit the property in the afternoons.

The grounds are beautiful. It's the main reason I stay. Not nealty manicured or staged, the foliage of this resort remind me more of a Key West setting than one in the desert. Gorgeous plants bordering on overgrowth that make this resort's outdoor setting stand head and shoulders above many Palm Springs resorts.

The rooms themselves though leave A LOT to be desired. Fairly reasonably priced but in bad disrepair. My bathroom was missing half a handle for the shower and had significant mold in the tub. Paint was peeling badly off the bathroom wall and the sink made a loud "thunk, thunk, thunk" whenever I turned it on. In one friend's room, dirty kleenexes were left in a vase upon check-in and their semi private balcony was filthy and totally unkempt. My third friend had a large slab of the carpeting in his room missing and the patch replacing it was about 3 inches too narrow, baring the subflooring. Some of the repairs could be quite expensive, like replacing plumbing. It would cost a minimal amount to address some of the repairs though (replacing carpeting in a room or handle in shower, removing mold, etc) and they were just left neglected.

One other disappointment was there was no water filtration system on the grounds. There is an ice machine which is nice and a drinking fountain which looks like it's about to disintegrate. Still, with the pipes sounding like they were going to explode each time I turned a faucet on, I didn't want to drink from the thing! Y ou'd think they'd have a good bubbler or at least a fountain with filtration as it stays in the 90's and 100's a lot of the time in Palm Springs. Hint: buy some distilled water at the local Ralph's.

So if you're only interested in beautiful grounds, this is the place to stay but at least based on my recent visit, I am very sad to say I cannot recommend it for any other reason. Again, as I stated in my title, Vista Grande/Mirage is a VERY mixed bag and I imagine for the price of the rooms, other places might be a nicer stay. I've included photos with this review -- both good and bad. Please view them so you can make the best decision based upon your needs.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MikeynDnvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.5 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.2 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 km away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
1.6 km away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#34 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort

Property: Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Address: 574 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7633 (Formerly Atrium Mirage Vista Grande Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,144 - ₹ 34,688
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 29 beautifully appointed rooms, 3 heated swimming pools, hot tub, spacious steam room, and breathtaking waterfalls and lagoon, Vista Grande Resort is the premium clothing optional gay men's resort in Palm Springs, California. Complimentary breakfast and lunch served daily and dinner on the weekends. Eat family style with the other men at our 20' banquet table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Mirage Vista Grande Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing