We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LOCATION” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were there for our convention and this proved to be a good location as it is only a short walk to the downtown area if you enjoy walking in the desert heat but the hotel does have a shuttle bus and they were used extensively when we were there to run us back and forth to the local areas and they were willing to come back for us when we were downtown if we called them to collect us. There might be a short wait but it was worth it as there were few taxis running around there for us to hail. The hotel was not always the Renaissance I don't think but inside it was modern and light and airy and so were the rooms. We had a suite which gave us more space to put our paperwork etc. We enjoyed it.

However, there were a few things which probably needed to be attended to which included the fact that our water ran cold on two occasions but it was rectified quickly after I called down to the front desk. They told me to run it for 10-15 minutes - what in the desert where water is at a premium! I didn't believe them but sure enough that was the case. The plumbing in our room 2346 needed the sink trap to be emptied as it was gurgling as it could not pass water down quickly enough. The tea/coffee box was not replenished correctly each day. Otherwise the room was pretty clean and towels replenished every day. There was little about conserving water there.

We had a late lunch in the restaurant there due to our late arrival at the hotel but were quickly ushered out as they told us it was closing! And the following evening being tired we stayed on for some dinner there. The service was slow, the carpet needed cleaning and my plate was dirty. This area seemed understaffed and wait staff harried even though they were polite and helpful.

The pool is a great asset to this hotel as it is huge and not too deep with lots of sun beds around but poorly attended by the staff when we were there as the deck area was dirty and not hosed down to get rid of the dead bugs and cigarette butts which abounded there and the dirty tables. I never saw anyone asking the people sitting at the pool if they would like anything from the bar. There were always plenty of towels around but many of them were frayed out and should have been thrown away. The water cannister at the pool was always full.

The hotel also has you pay for internet but it is $12.95 per piece of equipment and so it was a shocking fee at the end of our stay as we had a computer as well as my iPad connected. However, on speaking to the manager he deducted one of those fees from our bill.

The coffee shop is at the bar area and in fact part of the bar serving a few breakfast muffins but it is not open early for those who need coffee early and if you haven't had your box replenished in your room you have to wait. The water in the room is $5 for a small bottle and there is nothing complimentary. People were leaving the hotel and going to the local supermarket to fetch their bottled water by the case and putting it in their fridges.

Our convention was catered very well for the men and our last dinner there was by the pool and the food was delicious and it was well catered. However, they ran out of knifes for people as they did not lay the tables beforehand but merely put table clothes on them and we had to find the silverware ourselves. The pool area was cleared way early in the morning to establish the tables out there and the people who were not at the convention I could tell were not happy about it.

This hotel definitely needed more staff and although none of the items I have pointed out particularly worried me as they were quick fixes the cost of the internet did along with the parking fees.

I recently stayed overseas in some of the same priced hotels and on all occasions the service, accommodations and functionality I received overseas from hotels of this calibre more than superceded this one.

However, the staff, the manager and the location were great. Just because of that however it doesn't mean to say they should let this diamond lower its standards and become mediocre.

Room Tip: Hire a car and see the place if you have time and drive around to the local sites at your leisure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolfrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We appreciate your choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Palm Springs and for sharing your review. We will take your observations into our operation to make improvements as we are always seeking to improve the experience of our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    522
    242
    100
    74
See reviews for
321
495
62
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Great hotel to enjoy business and leisure. The junior suite is very comfortable for conducting business in the sitting area which is separated from the bedroom. The staff is very nice and so is the attention to the guests.

Room Tip: This is a big hotel so make sure you are ready for a walk if you are given a room that is a distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Palm Springs and for sharing your review. We are delighted to read how our rooms met your business needs and how our staff took great care of you.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next business or pleasure visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel has a large pool in the center of the hotel. There is self parking and valet parking in front of the hotel. The parking lot is on ground level. The hotel is very clean and modern. There is one bank of three elevator.

The Sunday Buffet had a large selection of fruit, pastries and omelette station. The waiter was excellent kept our glasses fill with water and coffee cups filled.

The hotel has real high speed Internet.

The hotel is about a mile from the city airport.

Room Tip: I would select a room not too far from the elevator. It is a long ways from the elevator to the las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George700East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Palm Springs and for sharing your glowing review of our product and services. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance our guests' experience and celebrate when we do.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel was very conveniently located near downtown Palm Springs restaurants. The property was very clean & well maintained. Staff was friendly. Rooms were spacious & clean. We visited over a busy, holiday weekend, and while the pool was crowded, we never had a problem getting four lounge chairs together. Kiddie pool is nice for non-swimming toddlers. Restaurant was a bit over priced - $5 for a tiny piece of cheesecake.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejh1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

On a recent weekend girls trip to Palm Springs, we stayed at the Renaissance for two nights. Let's start with the positives:
1. All but one hotel employee we encountered were super friendly and went out of their way to help us.
2. The concierge took great care of us, recommending several places to eat, where to go out at night and the best transportation methods.
3. The rooms were nice and well decorated.
4. The pool was beautiful. We reserved a cabana for Saturday and the young men who worked in the cabana area were so attentive and friendly. They even insisted on bringing us free drinks after a not-so-great experience with a rude pool waiter.

The negatives:
1. As mentioned above, we ordered some food from the pool waiter and when he brought us an extra order of food that we had not asked for, he seemed really put out and said that he'd just take it off the bill and then stormed off. His manner was not customer service oriented at all. Then, when one of the girls in our group mentioned it to the cabana boy, he ended up telling the manager, who then reprimanded the waiter. The waiter then decided to come back and confront me about it, and half apologize, saying that he was sorry that we thought he was being rude and had just gotten in trouble with his boss. Very awkward to say the least.
2. We had booked 3 rooms for the six of us and when one group of girls got to their room after checking in, it had not been cleaned. They had to move to one of the other two rooms to get ready for dinner while their room was being cleaned. Minor inconvenience, but was a little gross for them.
3. On Saturday, while at the pool, we expected that our room would be cleaned sometime during the 5 hours that we were away, but it was not and had to search out the maid to get some clean towels and glasses, etc. Again, not a big deal, but it would have been nice to come back to a clean room.

Nothing earth shattering, just small things that the hotel could improve upon. It wouldn't preclude me from staying there again, as the pros outweighed the cons.

The location is great if you want to walk to the main street for dinner or drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneySven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#29 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.7 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
1.0 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
1.2 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 km away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#27 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Property: Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,826 - ₹ 25,154
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing