We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
178
93
37
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
93
37
27
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We loved this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for 2 days before flying back to the UK. It is a small art deco boutique with a real sense of time and place. A US hotel with character, not some depressing chain. We were given a free up-grade to a pool terrace when we arrived. Fantastic views, friendly service. Other people staying were great - sat drinking our free afternoon cocktails and chatting. Many people seemed to be celebrating anniversaries, many had stayed before. A great place to chill. Huge comfy beds and just wondeful to relax. So hot in August in Palm Springs you have no choice but to unwind. Would definitely go back, but maybe not when the temperature is 45C.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

WE love this little gem of a hotel, its really a motel thats been renovated. The renovation is pretty impressive, it does have the freaky carpet in the rooms, it does feel nasty on bare feet!

The happy hour drinks was nice, a glass of wine in the afternoon never goes astray, and the continental self serve breakfast was nice too.

The rooms were a little noisy, but only when someone walked past on the balcony. But apart from that the place was damn good,

Be sure to arrive before 7pm as this is when the reception closes and you have to call out someone to open up and let you in

The GOOD
-- Rooms are modern, clean and have great layout
-- Comfy beds, nice sheets and pillows
-- Happy hour... free wine who can ever complain about free wine!
-- Pool was clean and inviting
-- Aircon works well
-- Location, within a mile of the center of all the run in Palm Springs

The BAD
-- Not many tv stations as the system needs upgrading to HD and all you get is error messages saying that the owners need to upgrade the to digital boxes which was a bit annoying
-- Noisy when people are outside your room (but you cant really help this)
-- Parking is a bit tight outside, in season it must be hard to get parking

Room Tip: Dont choose a room near the pool area as the pool is open 24hrs a day
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank can99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights at end of May. We thought the hotel was great for the price. We really enjoyed the casual vibe, and were impressed with the included breakfast and the happy hour - the sakitinis were great! Aside from strange carpet in our room (burlap-type that was very worn), we liked our room. We were lucky that none of our neighbors were loud, seems like that could be an issue since the hotel is small and intimate. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would stay on the top floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Living With T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is not what it appears. We thought it was renovated in January 2012, however this was not apparent. Nothing had been renovated! Maybe they added a new chair? But the bathroom was old with no counter space, the toilet and the sink were at the same height. A coat of paint doesn't hide anything. The pool had a thick grimy ring around it that you could scrap off with your nail so noone had even tried to clean it. The pool furniture was old uncomfortable and falling apart. We ended up moving to the hotel next door called "Colony Palms Hotel" and it was exactly what we had expected from a boutique hotel. It was beautiful. Now we are going to try and see if we can get our money back fro expedia as the Hotel said that they could not refund our room even though we were leaving and they were going to try and resell our room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHMGMT, Manager at Movie Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We hope that your friends traveling with you had a better experience. We also apologize for the misunderstanding on the room category that was booked on Expedia. As explained to you upon your arrival, Expedia’s room category selection is limited. Our site offers a wider selection of rooms and a better description of each. Unfortunately, the patio room that you were occupying is our handicap room. Due to code regulations this room requires a special layout, including the sink and toilet being the same height. We have reviewed your comments regarding the pools condition with our pool service company and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue. We wish you would have given us the opportunity to upgrade you to one of our two story townhouses’. We were confident that if you accepted your complementary upgrade, your stay would have been positive. Again, we apologize that your first experience with The Movie Colony Hotel did not meet your expectations. Please know that we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a wonderful time. We came for our first Wedding anniversary.The staff was casual yet professional and available for any of our needs. The pool was the perfect temperature and the other guests were mellow and seemed to be there for the same type of chill time. We loved the mid century modern decor, the iPod docks and the free wifi. There was a fridge in the room so we kept provisions there to make our own cocktails. The continental breakfast was great with yogurt, delicious granola, bagels and make your own coffee with french presses. We enjoyed taking the complimentary beach cruisers out for a spin. The hotel was close to everything. It was a truly relaxing time. We'll come again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EstelleMayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews