We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not renovated, 2 stars at most”
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is not what it appears. We thought it was renovated in January 2012, however this was not apparent. Nothing had been renovated! Maybe they added a new chair? But the bathroom was old with no counter space, the toilet and the sink were at the same height. A coat of paint doesn't hide anything. The pool had a thick grimy ring around it that you could scrap off with your nail so noone had even tried to clean it. The pool furniture was old uncomfortable and falling apart. We ended up moving to the hotel next door called "Colony Palms Hotel" and it was exactly what we had expected from a boutique hotel. It was beautiful. Now we are going to try and see if we can get our money back fro expedia as the Hotel said that they could not refund our room even though we were leaving and they were going to try and resell our room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHMGMT, Manager at Movie Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We hope that your friends traveling with you had a better experience. We also apologize for the misunderstanding on the room category that was booked on Expedia. As explained to you upon your arrival, Expedia’s room category selection is limited. Our site offers a wider selection of rooms and a better description of each. Unfortunately, the patio room that you were occupying is our handicap room. Due to code regulations this room requires a special layout, including the sink and toilet being the same height. We have reviewed your comments regarding the pools condition with our pool service company and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue. We wish you would have given us the opportunity to upgrade you to one of our two story townhouses’. We were confident that if you accepted your complementary upgrade, your stay would have been positive. Again, we apologize that your first experience with The Movie Colony Hotel did not meet your expectations. Please know that we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a wonderful time. We came for our first Wedding anniversary.The staff was casual yet professional and available for any of our needs. The pool was the perfect temperature and the other guests were mellow and seemed to be there for the same type of chill time. We loved the mid century modern decor, the iPod docks and the free wifi. There was a fridge in the room so we kept provisions there to make our own cocktails. The continental breakfast was great with yogurt, delicious granola, bagels and make your own coffee with french presses. We enjoyed taking the complimentary beach cruisers out for a spin. The hotel was close to everything. It was a truly relaxing time. We'll come again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EstelleMayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

To get away in Palm Springs is to relax and forget about your fast paced life in LA. For the most part Movie Colony was not a bad hotel, as far as the pool, the location, the free happy hour was concerned. But beware, do not saty on a bottom floor room if yo want to get ANY kind of sleep. The guests upstairs balcony was our ceiling and shook the room with every step. Our not so curtious neighbors were up all night partying and the front desk is closed by 11pm with no one to call. So if you plan to stay I suggest an upstairs room away from the 24 hour pool.

Room Tip: Away from pool and try a second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to celebrate our anniversary in Palm Springs. We were debating for a while on which hotel to stay. This was our first trip to Palm Springs so we had no idea where to stay. We narrowed it down to three hotels: The Riviera, Hotel Zoso, and Movie Colony. They were all around the same price but what ultimately sold us on Movie Colony were all the little perks they threw in with the price of the room such as the complimentary bike rentals, breakfast, the free drinks at happy hour, the 24 hour pool use, the fact that it was a 21 and over only hotel, and the intimacy of the place.

Overall, we ABSOLUTELY LOVED this place. Carla, the front desk gal, was GREAT. She was able to give us some tips on where to eat, what to see, and other things to do in the area. THE BIKES WERE AMAZING. It was so much easier to get around downtown. The bikes alone made the trip great. We also really loved how intimate the hotel was. There are not as many rooms and even fewer guests so the quality of service is excellent. You really get to know the staff and the other people staying in the hotel, which we loved.

I'm sure staying at the Riviera and other hotels would have been fun as well, but I really don't think we would have enjoyed ourselves as much as we did here. We will DEFINITELY be back.

Room Tip: USE THE BIKES. They make the heat bearable. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed in a townhouse at the Movie Colony this past weekend and were underwhelmed. We found the Townhouse, number 29, to be in need of repair and a bit beat up and had a strange order that remained all weekend. It was over 100 degrees this weekend and although the downstairs was cool, as was the bedroom, the bathroom was a hot box and uncomfortable to get ready in. The shower also did not have hot water for more than one minute, at which point it turned ice cold. We were also forced to keep the bedroom door closed to try to keep the cool air in from the window unit and try to cool down the bathroom and because of this, the stairs leading up to the bedroom were like a sauna.
We did love having our room right off the pool, enjoyed our shaded chaise lounge area, the bicycles, the location, the bed, the coffe and continental breakfast in the morning-so we did enjoy ourselves overall, but due to the lack of comforts of the townhouse, we would unfortunately probably NOT be back. Also, I was unimpressed with the 2 girls working at the desk lack of care or concerns when I mentioned the problems we had, they both just stared at me unresponsive. A simple I am sorry was all I was expecting, but the girls weren't willing to give that up.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ametzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 km away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
123 reviews
1.2 km away
ARRIVE
ARRIVE
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
218 reviews
1.6 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ingleside Inn
Ingleside Inn
#41 of 75 in Palm Springs
277 reviews
3.4 km away
Villa Royale Inn
Villa Royale Inn
#48 of 75 in Palm Springs
292 reviews
3.6 km away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#43 of 75 in Palm Springs
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: ₹ 36,568 - ₹ 36,825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing