We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$ 270
View deal
Expedia.com
US$ 272
US$ 252
View deal
SAVE US$ 20
Hotels.com
US$ 272
US$ 252
View deal
SAVE US$ 20
PricelineUS$ 272
CheapTicketsUS$ 252
FindHotelUS$ 250
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
404
46
7
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
404
46
7
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private patio full kitchen hot tub beautiful grounds trip to palm springs pool kitchenette units rick dvds oasis stove roomy retro vibe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Our recent stay here was pleasant - nice location and nice grounds. Rooms were spacious and had nice amenities. Everything was very clean and safe. Guests were distanced by pool. Rooms are in need of updating - blinds fell off while trying to close them, air conditioning on the warmer days only seemed to blow warm air - with no way to control the temperature. When we asked the innkeepers about this, they seemed confused about our question. Communication process could be improved - checking in was confusing as the gates are all locked and were later told we had received an email with directions for checking in but we never received - only received an email to confirm our reservation. Had to have another guest let us in so we could wander around to find someone to help us which after a long drive from Santa Barbara was not ideal.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoLawGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony Zu, General Manager at A PLACE IN THE SUN GARDEN HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2021

We love to welcome our local, national and international guests in our Boutique Resort. Our spacious Bungalow units average 1000 Sqf and are comfortable to relax or work with private cable internet in each unit and tv's inside, indoor and outdoor dining and of course privacy walled in large gardens or patios. Our vintage original midcentury modern resort takes pride in preserving the culture world famous as Palm Springs modernism and meticulously up-keeping our authentic yet updated time-bubble with modern amenities vibe. The most relaxing place on earth our guests state. We LOVE TO ASSIST, how to operate the blinds, control the individual AC in every unit and ask our guests to kindly observe the mandated contactless check in. The info is sent before arrival and contains a gate code to come in for every authorized guest. Its really easy. If you dont have email you can always call or even text or whatsapp us. We love to serve our guests so ChicagoLawGal2010 we would appreciate if you get in touch not wonder around and review matters that can be resolved with: How does the AC work, whats my gate code... we are always there for you and offer five star service. We just need to know what you need and love to make it happen right on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

The Most Wonderful Park Garden Hotel I have ever seen. Midcentury famous architecture in a park setting next to the river of Taquitz Nature Preserve in the Very Heart of Downtown Palm Springs, minutes to the action but completely quiet and relaxing. Massive pool and grounds, private patio gardens for every unit. Its so private so bringt so airy, such nice views, the most amazing place ever been and seen.

Room tip: Every Airy Bright Room is An Entire Midcentury Modern Iconic House Suite or Studio Suite With Own Patio on A Huge Park
Date of stay: January 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelCanBePerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

I reserved the Empress Suite for my fiancé birthday and from the moment we opened the door, it was like the gates of heaven were upon us. Will definitely be regulars. In fact we ve already chosen this for our honeymoon location on Valentines Day

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DAVESWORLD-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020

Three days off...let's head for Palm Springs! And when we always stay at A Place in the Sun. A unique and beautiful place near the heart of Palm Springs. Beautiful grounds and "rooms". I say "rooms ". Our unit 18 had a comfortable bedroom, full large living room with glorious fireplace, full kitchen with everything you could want generously equipped. A sunny dining room. A full roomy patio. Just wonderful. And VERY reasonably priced. All units around a gorgeous Palm Springs yard and pool. The owners really care about their guests. Had a wonderful 3 days.

Room tip: They are all very special and roomy. We love 18.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK6AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2020

My wife and I (two 50 something travelers) stayed at A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel for our first time, and we were extremely happy. During this time of COVID-19, the owners had in place a well thought out plan for the property cleanliness and guest safety, and at all turns they delivered. It's a 50's style hotel with lots of charm and history.

Booking and Check-In were done "virtually", and any questions we had were addressed promptly via text and/or email. Gate code, property layout, and room key lock box, were all provided in clear instructions, as were A/C, TV and DVD instructions placed in plain sight in the room.

The room (#6) is a one-bedroom (King bed) with separate family room/dining area, Kitchenette (fridge, stove, utensils, glasses), enclosed patio with small table for two and pool style lounge chair. The bathroom has one sink, a toilet, and a shower/tub combo, along with standard amenities (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, Kleenex, extra toilet paper). All areas were clean, fresh smelling (very important), and the A/C worked great (it was 90-100 degrees Fahrenheit outside). There is a glass dining table (chairs looked a little worn), plenty of couch seating, and the bed was very comfortable (extra bedding provided). Also there are ceiling fans in both the Family Room and Bedroom which worked well and kept things nice and cool.

For in-room entertainment, there is a TV in the bedroom, and a TV and DVD player in the Family Room. We heard from repeat guests that we met that, under "normal" circumstances, you can get DVDs from the office, but, at this time, the office is closed so that's not an option (so bring your favorite DVDs if you want to chill with a movie and a glass of wine at night in your room).

The grounds were well maintained, clean and colorful. The pool was clean and refreshing. There are plenty of lounge chairs for sunbathing, as well as a couple round tables (one with an umbrella and one under covered eating area). If I'm being honest, they could use one or two more tables with umbrellas since the sun is so intense in Palm Springs, and it's nice to duck into some shade by the pool every once in a while. There is also a hot tub (yes, we used it at night, and it was great!). If you want to grill out, they've got that covered too with a wonderful gas grill (and grilling utensils) that worked perfectly.

The neighborhood is nice and quiet. There is a grocery store, CVS and Starbucks that are in the same complex and about a mile away (easy walk when it's not so hot). You're also about 3 minutes from old town Palm Springs, so lots of shops and restaurants. For something really interesting and cool, head over to the nearby Palm Springs Air Museum to see some beautiful planes and to be schooled by docents that are nice and knowledgeable.

We had a great trip, and were very happy with the hotel. For me, it's always a win when my wife says, "I feel relaxed, and I definitely want to come back to this place". Sooooo, we're looking forward to our return to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel, and another stay in a quality hotel that goes above and beyond!

Enjoy!!!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yopp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews