We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner! Highly recommend for a "downtown" experience”
Review of Hyatt Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Palm Springs
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Newport Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A winner! Highly recommend for a "downtown" experience”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We enjoyed our 2-night stay here very much. The all-suite hotel boasts huge rooms with modern decor, perfect for our family of 4. Rooms are clean and very quiet. We loved our balcony overlooking the main street, with gorgeous sunrise views.

The location is walking distance to shops and all the dining and nightlife of downtown Palm Springs. Not exactly a "resort" but they do have a nice gym and basic pool (salt-water, I believe) and spa. Nothing fancy like some of the high-end resorts in the area, but more than adequate. The staff was friendly and professional. We were allowed early check-in (1pm) and late check-out (1pm). Very nice!

Be advised there is a $20/day resort fee, which supposedly covers the water and coffee in the room and who knows what else. And parking is $15/day, although there is free street parking behind the hotel as was suggested by another poster. These fees are the way they recoup some money lost by the low room rates. Hard to complain as we got a fantastic rate of $51/nite on Priceline, but not everyone will get this deal so the extra fees may matter.

Highly recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newportfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Most guests who never have stayed with us before are always pleasantly surprised with our location in downtown Palm Springs, our two room suites with large balaconies and the fabulous views whether you are on the mountain side or the city side. Our resort fee is $15.00 per night and includes internet access, fitness center, two bottles of water daily, free local phone calls, complimentary business center access and nightly appetizer's during happy hour and we are very competitve with all the large hotels in Palm Springs. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a wonderful review of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    523
    286
    164
    106
See reviews for
439
654
98
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just had 11 glorious days in sunny Palm springs at the Hyatt it was mostly really really good !! just a couple of hiccups but they were sorted pretty quick. We made some great friendships with some of the staff there especially Micheal, Adrienne and Ember these guys make you so welcome and provided some great evenings at the bar when we returned from eatin y"Thanks Guys"
Alittle updating would make the place a little better but overall a great stay

Room Tip: Ask for aroom at the back of the hotel looking at the mountains as it is quieter there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldsWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
I am very fortunate to have some of the BEST bartenders in Palm Springs. I like to create a "Cheers" atmosphere in our lounge and our bartenders certainly have stepped up to the plate - what's remarkable is that they are sincerely genuine when it comes to providing excellent service and a fun atmosphere. Thanks so much for acknowledging Michael, Adrienne and Ember...I will most certainly share this information at our next employee rally. Come back soon...we are opening an outdoor restaurant and bar in front of the hotel and boy are we going to have some fun out there! Thanks for staying with us...we truly appreciate your business. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We traveled to Palm Springs over Christmas and stayed at Hyatt Regency Suites. They provided microwave and crib promptly without any extra charge. Weekend buffet was included in our stay and the spread was great! The location is awesome! Located in the heart of downtown with amazing restaurants and cute little shops. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor, facing the mountain/golf course have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarab18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Nothing better than spending Christmas in Palm Springs wearing flip flops and T-Shirts! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the holiday season with us and that we created some lasting memories for you. Thanks for sharing your impression of our hotel and service and we look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wow - right at the start line! Perfect location. Closed the street right on the main drag the night before with dozens of High School Bands and the Bike Carnival atmosphere in full gear. All rooms are suites and nicely styled. View from 5th floor room was very nice of golf course and mountains. Staff was super helpful - especially since we brought our three wiener dogs. They are tearing up corner restaurant 7 days a week and might even be finished by now. Poolside after the race was very nice with plenty of heaters and nice bar staff. There is a nice grassy spot for dogs that prefer grass vs the crushed granite area that is right out the door and many dogs seemed to enjoy. Most all the restaurants along the main drag were also dog friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a mountain view over the pool seemed to be idea for views and noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCTraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
You were here at the perfect time. The Tour de Palm Springs drew more than 10,000 bikers to our valley all to rasie money for local charities. We got some great pictures from our rooftop of all the bikers getting ready to pedal their way through beautiful Coachella Valley. Our outdoor restaurant is almost finished and we are hoping to open on March 1st. Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights will make this one of the hottest places to enjoy an evening in Palm Springs...good food, good service, and good entertainment! Come back soon so you can experience it! Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Arrived about noon for early checkin was told there were no rooms yet so no early checkin was allowed as they were fully booked couldn't do anything until 4 that was pretty much all that was said. There was no offer to take our luggage or pre-register us or take our phone number to call us when a room was available. Guess we should have known there was a problem then but didn't. So after asking them to take our luggage etc they did. We never received a phone call that a room was available so we came back about 3:30 and was still told nothing was available. So now we are starting to worry after all we are in a different town expecting to have a good weekend and we reserved our room with an early check in and we are still not being checked in. We were told to come back at 4 so we asked, how are you going to have a room for us at 4 when there isn't anything at 3:30? They told us not to worry and that we would also be given free breakfasts. Came back at 4 now finally they tell us the true story they have no rooms and are not going to have any rooms they are overbooked so they had us waiting around and coming back for no reason for 4 hours rather than to have told us the truth at noon when we first got there. We had reserved a suite with 2 queens and now we are told they are giving us a room with 1 king bed at another hotel (there are 4 people in our party) and though this hotel was wonderful it was not in the area we wanted to be in when we made our reservation. I am now very upset and I have the manager telling me that I didn't book 2 queens - she refused to listen to me and repeated that I booked a king bed (she never even looked at the computer screen so how did she know what I booked) so now I am a liar and I am becoming very upset because she has to be the most stubborn and un-sympatheic person I have ever had the distaste of dealing with her management skills are completely gone and she is threatening me and going to call the police on me for raising my voice. So, another member in our party is trying to get through to her and showed her the reservation showing we reserved two beds and the response was oh!! Some of her staff were trying to be nice and the valets were nice but she should never be a managing a pay toliet let alone a nicer hotel property. So, now we are still only getting a room with 1 king bed and they are reloading our luggage to the car (later we find out we have someone elses bag too). They sent us to the Riviera which was a very nice hotel with extremely nice people who were very accomodating. Oh and they even found us a room with 2 queen beds even though the Hyatt said there weren't any. The staff at the Rivera was wonderful in every department. Sadly we didn't realize that we had someone elses bag until the next morning when we were getting ready to leave but once we did we took it to the front desk and the Rivera staff handled the situation immediately and yes the Hyatt was missing a bag.
Needless to say we were treated very poorly by the Hyatt Manager we picked this hotel for his location but I will never step foot in this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would suggest any other hotel in palm springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 km away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,582 reviews
0.1 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
0.9 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Palm Springs

Property: Hyatt Palm Springs
Address: 285 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,471 - ₹ 21,947
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Springs' only all suite, newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the historic village. Just footsteps from shopping, restaurants, galleries, museums, casino and theaters. Enjoy a mountain or village view from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Hyatt Regency Palm Springs
Palm Springs Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing