We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is our send time at the Villa Royale. We normally come out to Palm Springs each fall and have stayed in different hotels each time. This year we came back to the VR. Everyone at the hotel was super nice and accommodating. What ever we needed, they were right there to take care of it. This hotel is close to the shopping district but its nice just to lounge by the pool which is super quiet. We will be back next year.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorenwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our first stay in Palm Springs and we could not have enjoyed it more. We, too, were enticed by a TravelZoo offer -- and will happily stay here again -- discount or not. Finding the hotel located off the beaten path on a side street was at first a bit distressing -- but, we could not have been more wrong. The entire property is charming and feels a bit like a "secret find." We chose a one bedroom villa. It was comfortable, clean and decorated beautifully. Though the menu is limited, the cooked-to-order breakfast was very good. And while my eggs were perfectly cooked, I agree with a previous post that a second piece of toast would have been nice. The restaurant is quite elegant and having breakfast on the patio was very pleasant. We also had dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant - Europa. The food was very good and the portions very large. It proved to be the best meal we had on our visit. The entire staff could not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibliocook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last June and absolutely loved it- partly because we got engaged here. If you can bare the hot temperature i recommend going at the end of peak season as you ended up having the place pretty much to yourself. We were lucky enough to enjoy solitude for a couple of nights- we stayed here for 4 days on the last leg of our Cali tour. The villa in itself is very charming, not overly close to the centre but that didn't bother us as we had a car. On our 'alone' days staff were happy for us to play our own music,drink champagne and swim in the pool late at night- It felt like we had our own villa. Rooms were clean and wi fi was working perfectly fine in our rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvee306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I found a TravelZoo offer for this hotel not long before my trip to Palm Springs and, per my usual, I checked out Trip Advisor reviews before purchasing the voucher. This is the first time I disagreed with Trip Advisor reviews. Don't get me wrong - this is a beautiful property and not at all like cookie-cutter hotel chains. I'll do my best to break down the good - and the bad.
THE GOOD: It's a beautiful property and each villa has a living room and separate bedroom - it feels like home and has really plush, comfortable sofas and armchairs - just like home. Both living room and bedroom have ceiling fans - which I just LOVE. There was a beautiful stone fireplace and a large, comfy four poster bed with wonderful pillows and comfy sheets and comforter. The location is really good - just a few minutes from downtown Palm Springs, restaurants and shopping and SPECTACULAR views of the surrounding mountains. THE NOT-SO-GOOD: The fist problem was lack of connectivity in my room. I stayed in #101 - furthest from the office - which I suspect was the culprit - but this was still an enormous inconvenience. Secondly, the bathroom was good size but had a really tiny corner shower stall. I am only 5' 4" and kept banging my elbows on the shower walls when I washed my hair. There's NO way I could have shaved my legs - and there was no tub. The bathroom also had a pedestal sink. I hate pedestal sinks because there is nowhere to put your toiletries - especially when you are travelling and living out of bags and suitcases. The last thing that was a bit of a turn-off were the pools. They are REALLY small pools and are surrounded by the rooms which cut off any breeze or air flow - so sitting poolside is like sitting in a sauna. I found the fitness room but was unable to see what was inside because it was locked and my room key didn't open the door.
The first morning I had breakfast, two sunny side up eggs were cooked to perfection with sausage, potatoes and (one) piece of toast with orange juice and delicious coffee. The second day I had a different server who did not offer juice and brought out sunny side up eggs. When I pointed out that the whites weren't cooked - which was obvious as soon as you looked at them - she said "Do you want them cooked over easy instead?" I told her no - I wanted them cooked sunny - but with the whites COOKED. She brought back eggs with no sausage and (literally) a couple of pieces of potato and the single slice of toast. I left, exasperated and went in search of a chain hotel to move to.
The bottom line is with a boutique-style property like this, service and consistency are everything. This is a beautiful property but the level of service is inconsistent. I moved to a Hilton property from this hotel because I needed to know that I would get everything promised to me. Villa Royale Inn, unfortunately, failed to live up to what was promised.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are uniquely decorated. If you need good internet service - be sure to mention this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisagmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We decided to get away for the Labor Day weekend and found this place online (Trip Advisor). We arrived very late but were greeted by David and with a quick check-in, were shown to our room. Granted, it is an older establishment, but that is part of the charm. Our large room had a private patio and kitchenette. We loved the mature plantings, the privacy, and the ambience. The dinner we had at Europa (on-site restaurant) was fantastic. The staff gave good recommendations for other evening dining as well. A definite stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.4 km away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#59 of 75 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
0.9 km away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#13 of 75 in Palm Springs
200 reviews
1 km away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#25 of 75 in Palm Springs
633 reviews
1.9 km away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
125 reviews
1.7 km away
Ingleside Inn
Ingleside Inn
#41 of 75 in Palm Springs
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: ₹ 5,158 - ₹ 19,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing