We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class service and accommodation. only BIG issue is smoking is allowed on private patios so you cannot dine outside”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is indeed a first class club both as far as service and accommodation is concerned. BUT if you do not like smoke when using your outside patio you are forced to move indoors which is not really why you do to the desert,

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jnilausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbarcUWE, General Manager at Embarc Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Jnilausen,
Thank you very much for your review to share with the Trip Advisor community. The only locations we do allow smoking on the resort property are the vacation home patios. We do have some Members who do smoke, and as they purchased their memberships based on knowing they could do this, we cannot change this Member Guideline. We do hope to see you at Embarc in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amy Kolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Maybe I was purposely misled or did not pay sufficient attention, but I saw photos of a good looking facility which had a decent rating and had a discounted special rate from $415/night to $369 via Hotel.com. In Palm Desert that should translate as a nice resort.

What we got was a very nice, quiet time share with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a full kitchen. There is no valet parking, no restaurant of any kind on site (we were told there was a Starbucks in the Ralphs a mile away), no room service and no daily maid service. You have to dump the trash yourself and if you don’t run the dishwasher before you leave you get charged a fee. Oh and yes, there is a $26 a night resort fee, I assume for the four pool towels in the room. So, now I’m way over $400 a night and dumping the trash does not sit well.

While researching where I went wrong, I found out that a one bedroom would have been $174/night and all becomes clear.

If you want someplace to hold up with your family, use the pool, cook your own food…..basically if you originally wanted to rent a time share, this place is clean and the rooms large and well appointed.

It’s simply not properly categorized. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwalker43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbarcUWE, General Manager at Embarc Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear DWalker43,
Thank you very much for your review to share with the Trip Advisor community. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your 2 bedroom vacation home. While our housekeeping services and resort amenities are displayed on the Hotels.com website, I can appreciate this might have not been exactly the experience you were looking for. We do feel we are competitively priced within our market based on the services and quality you do receive. As a timeshare, which the majority of the vacation homes are owned by our Membership, we do ask guests to "do their part" of removing the trash and start the dishwasher in order to help conserve housekeeping costs, but also speed up the cleaning time in order to prepare the vacation home for the next Member or Guest. The price of a one bedroom of $174 per night must have been a future night which had significantly less demand, as the price difference between the 1 and 2 bedroom hotel rate is not as drastic of a difference. The resort fee charged to hotel guests covers free wifi, parking, pool and hot tub access, tennis courts, basketball court, arcade, and fitness center. Many resorts are charging this now, instead of individually charging for each and every item you use separately. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Embarc in the future.

Kind Regards,

Amy Kolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Had to get away for a quick last minute vacation and am very happy to have chosen to travel to Embarc in Palm Desert, CA. Beautiful grounds, surrounded by the Desert Willow golf course. Our unit is a 1 bedroom terrace and is spacious, clean and quiet, looking north towards the golf course. Just what I needed, relaxation, sunshine and heat!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbarcUWE, General Manager at Embarc Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear RobCurrie,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad to hear we were your perfect getaway retreat. See you soon.

Kind Regards,

Amy Kolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We checked in today. Beautiful resort surrounded by desert. Our accommodation is superb and brightly coloured in Mexican type theme. We have a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, two showers, two decks, a common pool, hot tub and barbecue area. Parking has shade-roofing to prevent our car from over heating. I think the resort has thought about everything.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbarcUWE, General Manager at Embarc Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hello Gary,
Thank you very much for your review. Yes, its all about the little details which make a resort special. We are glad you noticed all of the special touches. We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Amy Kolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Our third time at this resort and we miss it already! It's like being at a Mexican villa. Great decor, pools and scenery. The staff was very friendly. Danny the concierge was really helpful. If you stay at Embarc try to book the terrace room with the outdoor shower. Love it!

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs stay in the terrace room with the outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J164CJbarbarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbarcUWE, General Manager at Embarc Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear your return visits have been great. I've also passed your feedback onto our team. We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Amy Kolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
4.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: ₹ 12,314 - ₹ 34,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing