We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Palm Desert”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We are Intrawest members and August 2009 (not 2011) was our first visit to Palm Desert. We stayed in a 2nd floor, 1 bedroomed self-catering apartment with outside patio over looking the adult pool at Palm Desert for 7 days. The apt was clean, comfortable and very well maintained; as was the entire resort. The grounds & landscaped grounds gardens were beautiful. The front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and attractions and we did day-trips early in the day to explore the area and shop. We spent every afternoon at the adult 'refrigerated' pool. Yes, ...the pool had a cooler which keep the water nice and cool and refreshing in the 114' F heat. After the first day, we wore wide brim hats in the pool so we wouldn't sunburn our faces & heads. We used the gas BBQ area on 3 different occassions. It had lights for evening BBQ-ing and a seating area plus was well maintained and clean. As the supermarket was only 2 or 3 minutes away, we found it easier to pick up fresh fruit, vegetables and bread, etc. each day on the way back to the resort. We took our own cooler with ice from the insuite ice-machine to the pool each day using the plastic cups provided. While very hot in August, the air conditioning in our unit worked very well. The wild rabbits were huge & road-runners fast ...and a constant source of entertainment. We are looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmaccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had a fabulous time at this hotel. We enjoyed the pool area so much it was hard to tear ourselves away and go exploring. Staff that we had contact with were very friendly. We loved our room which was a two bedroom suite, it was so spacious the children spent a lot of time playing hide and seek. The pool area near our room was nice too and lots of families ended up sat around chatting in the pool and hot tub. We did have a really early alarm clock wake up in the kids room from the previous guests but it taught me to always check the alarms in the room because it may not be done for you. One thing that would have made it perfect for us would have been a bar at the main pool area. My son loved the arcade and my daughter loved the kiddie pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I have been going here the last five Summers with my family, and have a lot of good memories here. The grounds are beautiful, I love the ducks, rabbits, hummingbirds and other wildlife you see here. The rooms, are cool, spacious and shady. Patios off your unit are nice to relax on when the sun goes down. Beds are okay, but we always bring our own sheets (their bedding is not what most 4 or 5 star hotels would have). Ground units near the family pool have been very enjoyable and relaxing.

The last time we checked in however, we had a horrible experience. Not only when we checked in very late and were given the room key, could we not unlock the door to our unit (which means a drive back to the club house for another room key, then again when the second one didn't work)... then when they finally sent out a handyman with us to open the room, it turned out to be occupied. He quietly tiptoed out and closed and locked the door behind him. Poor guy was as shocked as we were. Apparently the couple was only supposed to be in the lock-off, but went into the main unit. I like how they (Mr. front desk guy) tried to blame the guests, instead of their own staff who obviously didn't prepare the room correctly... what's with that?

Because the ground floor unit we had requested was now 'occupied', they could only give us a room that night on an upper floor (stairs with kids and bags and no direct access to the pool). It had a tub in the middle of the bedroom (not what I want for a family vacation) and an outdoor shower on the patio. The indoor shower didn't work properly and had scalding water (with no temperature control). When it is past midnight with two little kids in tow, the last thing we needed is this gong-show of a check in and a sub-par room. I also didn't want to take advantage of their offer to clean the room we were supposed to get (kicking the couple back into their side of the suite), and move the next day. Too much upheaval for us and the other couple.

The sun came up each morning to fill the master bedroom with light and heat (there are no curtains, just blinds), and I realized that the other rooms I had been in always had the master on the front or would get the evening sun. There would be no sleeping in past 6 am in this room. There are a lot of units over the large complex, and obviously some of them are situated better than others. We were nowhere near the family pool, so we could enjoy scorching ourselves on the walk to the pool with the kids. It was a real 'trip' to get to the pool, instead of just running out the patio door to the pool, and returning for a drink whenever the kids wanted. You can call the front desk to send out a golf cart & driver (to get you to the pool), but it is very inconvenient.

In conclusion, because this is a time-share you can only 'request' rooms and nothing is guaranteed. I don't know if I can vacation like this anymore -- as at least if I book into a resort, what I pay guarantees my room type and often the location too. Some of the rooms are fantastic, but I can see how someone can be unimpressed by a stay here. If this was my first experience here I would have never returned.

Meh. Double meh.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank epicureangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroomed self catering apartment at Palm Desert which was perfect. The accomodation was very clean and comfortable and the landscaped gardens were beautifully maintained. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and attractions, recommending appropriate activities for us as a family. On site cinema was fun with 'premiere seats' at the back. The selection of pools was good and scattered around the complex. Each garden area had a gas BBQ area which was well used and cleaned meticulously each morning.
No site shop or bar available but supermarket across the road. It is worthwhile getting the loyality card for the supermarket as it gave immediate discounts.
Guests were encourage to bring their own drinks to the pool area and plastic cups were provided.
Very hot in August - 117 F but we escaped to the nearby San Jacinto National Park which is accessed via a cable car and was 30 degrees cooler.
The wild rabbits which lived in the grounds where a source of fascination for our youngest child and humming birds were frequently seen in the garden.
Club Intrawest is a timeshare resort but no attempt was made to sell us timeshare during our 6 day stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happytraveller15001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is our 3rd year at this resort. Our kids know it and love it and can't wait to get there every summer. We go in June and July. The resort is smaller than most timeshare resorts and feels private and intimate. During the day, we mostly have the pool to ourselves. The bbq is kept extremely clean. The rooms are so uniquely decorated. We think of it as our own secret getaway. The only thing to make it better is if they had a few organized activities for kids. Ralph's is within walking distance for groceries.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
6.3 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
955 reviews
0.6 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
4.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.5 km away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: ₹ 11,529 - ₹ 33,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing