We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Breezes Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 95
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
US$ 136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Palm Desert(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Desert Willow Villas(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 149
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 228
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
International Hotel & Suites(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embarc Palm Desert(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
US$ 268
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
56
54
22
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
54
22
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtshot tubwashington stlarge jacuzzibath unitadult only poolfamily staytime sharela quintagreat tennisnice accommodationsthe king size bedenjoyed our staypeace and quietpalm springs areapool areafully equipped kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Resort
My wife and I spent 2 weeks at Desert Breezes in August. The resort is located within a gated community; the timeshare units are just a small part of this community. To enter, there are two entrances, and a gate card is required. When checking in, we had to call the front desk from the gate phone and give them our names, they then opened the gate remotely and we could then drive to the front desk. The timeshare units form an oval shape, with a pool and lagoon in the middle. We enjoyed a nice view of the lagoon, with the main pool in the distance. The resort is made up of several 4-plexes and some larger units, so this isn’t just a large condo building. Most buildings have their own hot tub, which is very convenient.

Desert Breezes guests are permitted to use three of the pools on the property. The main pool is in the middle of the timeshare units, there’s a smaller adults-only pool beside the reception building, and another pool at the clubhouse. The clubhouse is a short walk from the Desert Breezes units and has a fitness room and tennis courts. The nice feature about using this pool is that there are restrooms at the pool.

Rooms
We stayed in a two bedroom unit on the second floor. We had a nice sized balcony where we ate most of our meals. The units themselves are actually very very large. We own several other timeshares, and these are the largest two bedroom units that we’ve ever stayed in. I should also mention that the units have recently been renovated, and are now quite impressive. We were especially impressed with the beds and the cotton duvets and fancier linens (much nicer than most other middle-class timeshares).

Service
We had excellent service from the front desk personnel; they were helpful and check-in was a “breeze”. The cleaning personnel were very kind, but didn’t speak much English – this gave us a good opportunity to practice our broken Spanish! Being from Canada, (we don’t speak much Spanish up here) it was probably a bit more of a challenge than it may have been for a Californian, but we managed… It’s amazing how similar Spanish is to French… It made for a few good laughs with our kind cleaning lady!

Location
Desert Breezes is quite central in Palm Desert. There are many restaurants and grocery stores nearby. There’s also a bus that goes by the resort and heads south to La Quinta. The bus is cheap and we enjoyed La Quinta – it’s a very quaint little town with some good restaurants. There is a Costco and Walmart a few minutes drive from the resort, and a Vons even closer. We enjoyed eating at “The River” in Ranco Mirage (10 minute drive), walking along “El Paseo” (10 minute drive). Once per week we went to downtown Palm Springs where they have a street fair every Thursday evening – they completely shut down about 8 blocks downtown and have live music, good food and lots of shopping.

Cons
Our only negative experience was the internet. There is free wifi, but it’s really slow and the signal that we had was weak. The week that we were there, they had blocked Facebook and You Tube and some other major sites, this was very inconvenient. I’d rather pay a small fee per week and have faster internet access without blocked sites! We ended up bringing our laptop with us when we’d go out and we’d update our Facebook at Starbucks.

Recommendation
I’d definitely recommend Desert Breezes resort. The resort is nice and well maintained, the location is good and we were happy with the service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from 15 glorious days in the Palm Desert/Palm Springs area this February 2012. We stayed at the Desert Breezes Resort due to the fact I bought into this timeshare scheme for a measly $13.04, with the previous owner paying for a year's use up front for me. So I have to preface this review with the excitement of getting something for nothing, balanced against some nervous caution of staying at this location for the first time. I stayed in a one bedroom (2nd floor) facing the pool (unit 164).

There are lots of PROS to this property, with few CONS. I will list and explain each. First of all, this is a VERY QUIET residential and timeshare property. The average person staying here is of retirement age. Don't expect singles action, wild pool parties, etc.

PROS:

-Gated community with a mix of timeshares and residential properties. If you go to one of the pools at 7 p.m., it's like everyone was beamed up to Planet Snoozeville. The older folks go to bed early, but that works for me!

-All appliances and cookware are included in your suite. There is a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, garbage disposal, toaster, blender, coffeemaker and an ice maker in the freezer part of your fridge.

-Incidental items are included in your condo such as: dishwasher crystals, dish soap, insect spray, paper towels. This saves you a few dollars on a long stay, as you will not need to purchase them.

-2 pool robes are included in each unit.

-There are many gas BBQ grills scattered all over the property and pool areas. They are magically cleaned to perfection each and every day by a nice Mexican man named, "Presto Cleano Pedro" (joking, but they are kept super, SUPER clean!). There are also BBQ implements found in your condo, for you to cook with.

-There are 3 pools, with an adult only pool near the lobby reception building.

-Use of the Club House with fitness room and 5 tennis courts (3 are lit at night). You can even sign out FREE racquets, and balls!

-Units have a free safe, but they don't look too sturdy.

-10 hot tubs scattered about the property.

-Grounds are kept EXTREMELY neat and beautiful!

-1 block walk to the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, if you like tennis.

-free WiFi (but see CONS section on this one!)

CONS:

-No on site or nearby services within walking distance. There is a vending machine on site.

-Buildings are mid-80's. Some areas of the buildings are showing some wear. They have renovated many of the units and even installed flat screen T.V's in most. Don't expect flawless luxury, but they are clean, tidy and reasonable (See my pics!).

-Club House closes at 4 p.m. Some people like to work out in the evening!

-WiFi is VERY VERY SLOW! At times, lighting the furniture on fire and sending smoke signals to Canada instead of emails, would have been a faster alternative. A TIP: there is greater bandwidth at night when the older folks are finished emailing their grand kids!

MANY WEB SITES ARE BLOCKED!! YouTube and Facebook are blocked on this network, which was frustrating. Hotmail at least works, thankfully.

All in all, a great stay. If they WiFi was better and a few touch ups made, I would give them 5 stars. I have stayed at many of the higher end places in the area such as Hyatt Grand Champion, La Quinta Resort and Spa, etc., (read these reviews by me if you wish a comparison). I would rate Desert Breezes as very family orientated. Great for a golf and tennis holiday and/or nice relaxed getaway in the desert. It's homey and it felt like home when I was there. It doesn't have the plastic and corporate feel, which is nice. And it was quiet. I could actually hear myself think for a change...lol.

4 out of 5 stars and I will see you by the pool next March! I'll be the drunk young whipper snapper at the age of 46 near the pool...

Cheers.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms have vaulted ceilings and have a "bigger" feel to them. Get a 1 bedroom facing the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Linescrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This property was comfortable, clean and well located. We had a two bedroom, two bath second floor unit. It was overlooking the beautiful pool and gardens and the mountains were in the distance. The unit was stocked with everything we needed. There were many amenitites on the property. The staff was friendly. We hope to come back here again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nummy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Location was great, film festival amazing, room .... HORRIBLE! We had a one bedroom , sleep 4 condo. The couch made into a bed. However there was only one bathroom and that bathroom had NO privacy. The vanity area was completly open to the living room. There is a door where the tub and toilet are, however that room is about 6 foot by 3 foot! When you open the door , you had to step in and then close the door. The door was about a quarter of an inch from the tub. After bathing you had no place to dress, brush your teeth or fix your hair without everyone in the apartment seeing you. If you were the one staying in the bedroom you had to walk through the living room to get in and out of the bathroom. I would certainly never stay here again. On the up side, the staff was great. We checked out a day early and continued our stay in a motel six .. which had more privacy than the Desert Breezes! Not a good experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you check your room for privacy before you accept it!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wildnsoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We traded for this one bedroom condo and were not disappointed. We stayed in an upstairs unit and it was really nice. A very large living/dining room. Nice size kitchen, large bedroom and bath. Overall we really enjoyed the location and the experience. We got an upstairs unit, so it had a vaulted ceiling and two nice balconies. One overlooking the pool. Very quiet too! The only downside is that the central heating unit fan is really loud - we over came this by just shutting the bathroom door since the fan was in there. Loved the whole unit, but the bathroom is a bit small. Bedding was really nice, living room furniture was plain but adequate. Pools and grounds are immaculate. Overall a wonderful stay and we would go again.

Room Tip: Upstairs has vaulted ceilings and are very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews